We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Minimalist Hotel”
Review of Citiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citiz Hotel
Ranked #73 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There's much to be said about a great location and Citiz definitely has that. Seconds from everything. Adjacent restaurants. Parking garage directly in front. What it's missing is space. Rooms are incredibly small and although they have the necessities, it's not enough to make this hotel qualify as great. Breakfast is decent...not incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyraO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The good points: a superb location; incredibly helpful staff; good breakfast; tastefully decorated bedrooms; nice to have a small balcony; very comfy beds; great shower; great neighbourhood.

The not so good points: bedroom was very small (although other friends had a marginally larger bedroom) and it is very noisy.

Overall, for what we paid, the comfy beds and for the great staff who could not have been more helpful, it was q great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The qualities of this hotel are his central location and the charming and helpful staff. The breakfast is OK.
Otherwise it's a disaster, particularly because of the noise as there's no phonic insulation. On one side the hotel faces a large avenue with a lot of traffic. The other side faces a small street but the hotel overlooks a nightclub making a lot of noise (music + people outside).
Also the design looks pretty cheap (a question of taste I confess), but you cannot store a large suitcase in the room, nor lighten or turn off only one lamp : it's all or nothing.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monolakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wish I had had the happy experience that others seem to have enjoyed here, but I think I would have had a happier stay in a gaol! We stayed here 2 nights and I couldn't wait to leave. Our room was on the top floor (6 flights of stairs) and the ONLY lift in the building was broken on BOTH days! As I suffer from arthritis, this wasn't just annoying, it was painful! Furthermore, I discovered AFTER my shower that there was only 1 set of towels for my husband and I to share. When we rang down to ask for more, the Receptionist insisted that we would have to collect them from Reception - they could not be brought up to us. The bathroom toiletries were of inferior quality and the stupid design of the bathroom meant that whilst in the shower, there was nowhere to put your shower gel/shampoo. Plus point was that there were tea making facilities in the room, but they don't want you to use them because only enough tea and coffee was provided for 1 cup! There was a bin in the bathroom, but not in the bedroom, and the room was noisy and small with space only for 1 suitcase - mine had to go on the floor so could be tripped over on the way to the loo! The staff were not knowledgeable about the locale either - we asked them about a very nearby restaurant we had found on the internet, and they had never heard of it! Benjamin on the front desk was charming and tried to be helpful, and the hotel is in a great location, with good restaurants nearby, but I think they should have paid US to stay there. Awful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good taste in everything... Rooms are tidy, clean, and truly luxurious if it is compared to expectations. The location is great if you want access to Capitol and be in the center of it all. Simply, loved it :).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeedajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent 2 nights here . The weekend special rates are excellent.The hotel is centrally positioned, the rooms are small but well organised , modern and clean. We had excellent pre arrival service booking our opera tickets. The breakfast that was included for France was excellent. Not a hot breakfast but lots of variety. On arrival we noted that BBC and CNN were available and could not get it. We called reception and were advised we would be called back. This did not happen. A follow up indicated the information was old and this was no longer available. We asked for a booking in a 2 star Michelin restaurant for the following day. No confirmation on the day but the following day when we asked we were advised it was confirmed. We walked an hour in the rain to find the restaurant never opens on a Saturday. Some staff training needed for this potential perfect gem.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Citiz Hotel in Toulouse for two separate nights at the start and at the end of our Canal boat holiday in the Canal du Midi. We researched the hotels in Toulouse for some time and found it very difficult to find one that fulfilled our criteria - (1) in a safe neighbourhood (2) on the airport bus route (3) reasonably priced (4) comfortable and quiet hotel and (5) near restaurants. The Citiz Hotel in Toulouse met all these criteria. It was perhaps rather higher priced than we normally pay but at 100 euros for a double room for the night, but it was worth it. Our room had beautiful decor, a nice view over the town, good value restaurants all around, the airport bus stop ten metres away and the railway station nearby. The staff were polite and friendly. If you do need to go to the railway station from the hotel, book a taxi, as the station is in a rather seedy part of town with lots of dodgy people near it!

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can. Better views and less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Belfort
Best Western Hotels Les Capitouls
Best Western Hotel Athenee
#23 of 130 in Toulouse
800 reviews
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Royal Wilson
Royal Wilson
#48 of 130 in Toulouse
217 reviews
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiz Hotel

Address: 18 Allees Jean Jaures, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citiz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing