We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel at a not so basic price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Toulouse Centre
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 728 helpful votes
“Basic hotel at a not so basic price”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel, checkin was busy, but the wait was quiet short.

Staff spoke broken english and did assist us with directions and maps.
We somehow booked two single beds, instead one queen bed, and they would not change the booking to accommodate us. They did indicate that house keeping will join the beds together on our second night.
The man on another checking computer spoke in french to our check in assistant, which we thought was rude, considering we do not speak french and could nit understand the conversation.

We were supplied room keys and went up to the allocated room. We entered the room, it was hot and very stuffy and were also quiet hot from arriving and walking the distance to the hotel. We decided to turn the air conditioner on. To our surprise it did not work.
I phoned reception to ask for instructions on how to get it to operate. They advised that, as the weather forecast was for rain, it has been turned off, and it will be on again on Wednesday. This was little comfort to us to get cool, despite the windows being open and no breeze flowing, to ventilate the hot room.
The hotel would not supply a fan.

It seems that despite each room having its own controller and thermostat, the air conditioning is centrally controlled, and the hotel staff dictated if your hot, or not, and they controlled the aircon to suit the outside weather.
It would appear more like a way to save the hotel money, and have the paying guests feeling uncomfortable during their stay.

Towles in the bathroom are bare minimum, floor matt and two bath towles. No hand towel or face washer.
All these towels on offer are paper thin, and whilst dry water from ones body, become drenched very quickly. These could be replaced.

During the evening, i could smell the strong smell of cigar smoke and cigarette smoke wafting through the open window. I looked out and say people on the below level, smoking out the window. I phoned reception to find out their smoking policy, to which the lady who answered my call, did not understand english and put me on hold. Still being annoyed from our air conditioning experience, I did not wait for a response and hung up the phone.

Wifi is free and acceptance of terms and conditions is required for 24 hours access. Re-acceptance is required for a further 24 hour period. Problem being that it is sometimes painfully slow.

After being told the air conditioning takes two days to start up, we turned on the air conditioner the morning after our checkin, and it amazingly worked, blowing air around the room. It seems more likely that it is a cost and electricity saver for the hotel to turn off the main hotel air conditioner switch.

The hotel is centrally located near "Place Jeanne D'arc" metro and bus terminal.
Within a 5 minute walk is a Supermarket, metro station, bus stop that airport buses service and the historic Basilique St Sernin.
10 minute walk is a larger Monop supermarket, Capital Square, Capital metro and the up market shops on rue du Taur and rue st-Rome.

If arriving into Toulouse (TLS) airport, catch the airport shuttle bus, "Navette Aeroport". This costs €5.00 per person each way. Exit the bus at the second stop of Jeanne D'Arc. Once off the bus, cross the road, in the direction of where you see a big covered bus terminal. Walk along Place Jeanne D'arc and turn left at the second street, rue Claire Pauilhae. There you will find the Ibis Toulouse Centre.

***Be aware that the return airport bus may not depart from Jeanne D'Arc, but will leave from the bus stop at metro station "Compans Caffarelli" about 5 minutes walk further on from Jeanne D'Arc bus stop.

The Metro stations are underground and serviced by fast efficient driverless trains. There are 2 lines for the metro, Red and Yellow, with the Blue line Tram system connecting to the metro at two locations.

Whilst at the time of writing (May 2014) there is not train or tram connection to the airport, this is being built and will be operational in the future.

Room Tip: No room preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    522
    194
    52
    8
See reviews for
92
387
118
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
314 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location
Less than 5 minute walk from Jeanne d'arc Metro station and the airport bus also stops here. It takes about 20-40 minutes by bus from the airport dependant on traffic. In the immediate area is general city centre with bars, restaurants, cafes, bakeries, shops etc...even a large fruit market. It is a very good location if you need to be in the central city area.
Room
The room is much like all IBIS hotel but this one seemed better- it was more cosy and less generic. For instance the bed was a lot more comfortable as they use special bedding compared to IBIS that I have stayed in when in Italy and UK. The TV is fixed to a open cabinet which sticks out into the room between the bed and main door - it is somewhat annoying when bringing bags into the room. This unit had some space for some clothes but not much- only 5 coat hangers but not an issue if your stay is short. TV offers satellite with at least two channels for people that can't speak French such as BBC and another entertainment channel. The room had a desk suitable for working with a stool- the whole room had only 2 plugs which is under the desk (took a while to find) as well as one in the bathroom. There was a large window which opens and this proved to be usual considering the AC was not working (staff said it was off today) and I felt rather hot but with the windows open it was ok to sleep at night but hot during the day -also some noise intrusion from the road is heard, not so much at night as its on a side street but in the morning as offices are nearby. The bathroom is standard like at all IBIS hotels with generic shampoo shower gel fixed dispenser and thin towels. However the shower worked well and it had good hot water.
Facilities
The hotel offers a restuarant on the ground floor and a bar- it is all quite nicely decorated and not typical of IBIS that tend to lack any clear character. The lobby was nicely decorated and a nice touch was sweets & chocolates on the counters while you check-in. WIFI is available free of charge and is with everywhere in France you just need to register an email to use- but just any old email works so potentially you could use multiple devices.
Staff
Staff during check-in were really nice, they were able to check me in early as room became available which was around 11. The girls were also very helpful in assisting me with public transport directions to the Airbus visitor centre, even so much as printing out some maps. It was most helpful as directions from the tram stop are not that clear. Check-out was not as smooth, the male staff member asked me to pay despite making payment previously through external operator. However once he noticed, he was apologetic. Overall this is a reasonable hotel to stay at to be in central Toulouse which is a nice city and I would stay here again. If your are visiting "let visit Airbus" allow at least 1 hour to get there via metro and tram from hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caunes-minervois, France
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

dis advanteges
very few parking places
the bar was closed at midnigt one of the elevators was'nt working
rooms for disabeled people was on the cecond floor.How do the get uot in case of fire?(the elevaters do not running)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is well located near the shopping area, Jean D'Arc metro, local bus station and train station. The hotel itself is very basic and like its sister hotel opposite the train station, rather 'stark' and bare. Not quite 'minimalist', just - absolute minimum decor. There is no restaurant or bar, but happily, you're just around the corner from the main restaurant drag. The room is claustrophobic. The bathroom was one of the smallest I'd ever seen so it's lucky I'm thin. I wasn't so lucky getting my bag out the door when I left. The door was in a corner and so narrow that I fell over the wretched thing to get it out. Not a problem I've ever encountered.
If you want somewhere cheap for just one night, this is where I would stay, but for a one week stay as in my case, it's cheap at 65 euros per night, but totally lacking in character, atmosphere or any creature comfort.
Another thing. Be careful what the hotel recommends regarding restaurants. I was recommended a Michelin rated restaurant which is rather unusual because this is a two star hotel!

Room Tip: Only for an overnight stay, not longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubaijournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsun, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The room was small but clean. It's near train station, bus stop for airport and old town So, you can see lots of places by walking. The staff was smiling, kind and helpful. If I go to Toulouse again, I'll prefer the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeren57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel has many good points, including a comfortable bed, a reasonable size room and free wi-fi. However, if what you want from a hotel is a good night's sleep you won't find it here unless you are an extremely heavy sleeper as there seems to be no sound proofing. Every footstep, toilet flush and grunt could be heard with HD clarity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gates_Apart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Ibis Toulouse Gare Matabiau
#32 of 130 in Toulouse
508 reviews
Ibis Toulouse Ponts Jumeaux
#12 of 130 in Toulouse
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
839 reviews
Best Western Hotel Athenee
#16 of 130 in Toulouse
756 reviews
Belfort
Hotel Heliot
Hotel Heliot
#15 of 130 in Toulouse
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Toulouse Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Toulouse Centre

Property: Ibis Toulouse Centre
Address: 2 rue Claire Pauilhac, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Toulouse
#29 Business Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Toulouse Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Toulouse Centre hotel is located in the Jeanne d'Arc district, 10 minutes' walk from the city's historic center and Matabiau train station and 20 minutes' drive by car or shuttle bus from the airport. The Jeanne d'Arc metro station is 219 yds (200 m) away. The hotel offers 178 rooms with free WIFI, a café-restaurant open evenings from Sunday to Thursday, a 24-hour bar and 2 meeting rooms. A free Web corner is also available in the hotel. Restaurant and bar closed from 07/15/13 until 08/15/13 inclusive for renovations works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Toulouse Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Toulouse Centre Hotel Toulouse
Accor Toulouse Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing