We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very well located since it is on the main place of Toulouse where you can find the best restaurants. Rooms are very nice, we had an espresso machine. Breakfast is good, parking is located 30m away. The only problem is the lack of light in the rooms since it is an old building. They should add lighting fixtures. Lift is small if you have a stroller!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emile A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel de l'Opera our last night in France based stay last year. this is a lovely hotel with a perfect location. Our room was spacious and overlooked the walk up to the front entrance. It got a little noisy, but only for a short period. All the staff are friendly. Everything we want to see in a short period was within easy walking distance. Internet service was reliable without interruptions. A plethora of restaurants abound. I tried to get reservations for next January, but they were already booked so we have to stay at the Crown Plaza. We would definitely stay here again. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Located centrally in Toulouse on place du Capitole, the Hotel de l’Opera overlooks the square, facing the bustling market during the day and busy cafes, restaurants and entertaining buskers at night.

The hotel is elegantly decorated throughout and has a stylish, majestic feel which completes its grand French charm. There’s a restaurant, brasserie and bar and plenty of lounge areas.

My room, decorated with the same grand opulence combined with modern conveniences, was spacious, clean and well maintained.

Service was at a leisurely pace, friendly and delivered with a smile. The restaurant experience was most enjoyable, tasty food tasty, with great atmosphere. There are also plenty of other fine dining experiences to be had within easy walking distance.

The hotel’s spa Terre de Jade has a range of services and provided a relaxing facial and massage. My recommendation would be to book this in advance, there’s a separate website which details services and prices www.terredejade-bienetre.fr

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I can't say anything about the rooms or prices for them. We didn't stay in this hotel (we had a private home for our visit), but made a special trip to see the beautiful lobby and to eat at one of the two restaurants inside. Beautiful! The staircase and lobby were indeed grand. Our meals in the restaurant were superb!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letterladyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

we spent one night in the superior room as part of our honeymoon.

the room itself was very nice. the red velvet walls were very opulent. i was worried before i went that the decor would be too much but it was actually very nice.

We had a view out onto the main square. unfortunately it is in the middle of being re-venerated so there was a lot of work going on outside. the double doors did keep out most of the building noise, though not all of it.

the coffee machine in the room was easy to use and made really good coffee which was nice. the minibar was well stocked but expensive.

one criticism about the room is that there was no wardrobe only shelves.

another criticism is that one of the red velvet walls had a strange white mark on it that was a bit off putting to say the lest. also beside the suspicious white mark was a hand print in the velvet. i know its a bit silly to say but it was a bit off putting to be able to tell where the other guests had been before us.

the room had all the usual paraphernalia of a good hotel - soap, shampoo, conditioner, comb, needles and thread, bathrobes, slippers, etc.

we did go down to the bar in the evening and had a few drinks - we found it very expensive; €8 for a 33cl bottle of Heineken.

the reception area of the hotel is very beautiful.

although the hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly we just didn't feel comfortable. As a young couple we felt out of place and almost as if we were being looked down upon. although we could put our finger on exactly why that is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeriCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I needed a place to stay in Toulouse the night before leaving on a very early morning flight. Instead of staying at an airport hotel and being confined to my room all evening, I stayed at this property and was able to spend my last afternoon and evening in town exploring.

My room was on the small side, as is typical in Europe, but was clean and had all the amenities needed... including a sewing kit, which saved the day! The free internet was fast and easy to use. The bell desk and front desk staff were professional and courteous, and delivered exactly what they promised - wakeup call, 5:30am taxi to airport, and non-touristy restaurant recommendations.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to add blackout curtains to the rooms, but otherwise I was very satisfied with the value proposition. It's not the Ritz and not a Novotel but somewhere inbetween with a fair price for what is delivered and an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was once a very lovely grand hotel. It now needs to be refurbished---rooms are quite outdated, furniture chipped, walls need to be repapered or painted,carpets need to be replaced. I give it four stars ,because of the nice,spacious public rooms downstairs, the two very fine restaurants associated with the hotel, and the wonderful location right on the Place du Capitole. The price for the tradition room was quite reasonable given the amenities of the hotel and the room was spotlessly clean with excellent bed linens and towels! So, all in all, the price to quality ratio was quite good . I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Toulouse.

Room Tip: For good value, the tradition room is fine though small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lily L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
598 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#16 of 130 in Toulouse
1,018 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
942 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Opera

Address: 1 Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Toulouse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#8 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de l'Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de l'Opera is located on the Capitole square in the heart of the "Pink city", 100 meters far from the Capitole subway station. The historical hotel has an interior courtyard and offers a bar, breakfast room and "Terre de Jade Spa" offering steamroom, sauna and massages. All our rooms are air conditioned and have a classic decoration. The hotel offers free wifi connexion, satellite TV with Canal+ and Bein Sport, minibar, safe and bathrooms with shower or bath. Suites offer a lounge area. The hotel accommodates 2 restaurants (a one starred restaurant and a brasserie) which serve a refined cooking. Furthermore, the hotel offers valet parking (rate of Capitole Parking is 26 €/day, max hight 1,8 mt). reception 24h/24 You will be able to visit easily the main monuments of Toulouse within walking distance. The hotel is located opposite the famous 'Theatre du Capitole" and 25 minutes by car from the Blagnac Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing