We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word, opulent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a stately, opulent place, just off the main square in front of the Opera. Everything about the building, the furnishings, the rooms, and the amenities are first rate. There is also a complementary sauna and steam bath in the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west enjoy the afternoon light but also come with some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnwpatrick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mrs,

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel and we hope that we will see you again in Toulouse in the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra.

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I spent one night in a deluxe bedroom 4th floor, staff pleasant, fast check in, nice room with all needed but disappointing for the price. I would have expected more for such standard.

Bathroom a little bit too old in my opinion, Old toilets, bath/shower very low standard. Just ok.

Breakfast not good value at all. 19euros but limited choice for this price. Most hotels have twice more choice for this price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I booked a Deluxe Privilege room for three nights through Booking.com. The check in went smoothly. Our luggage was taken upstairs in a tiny elevator by the valet..

The lobby was large and decorated in colourful fabric designs. In fact the whole ground floor rooms and salons were covered in printed fabric. There was also fabric on the walls all the way down from our 3rd floor room. It is well worth exploring and having a drink in the bar. The hotel looks like a museum and has been in existence for quite a few years. It was built in 1770 as a convent and when walking down the stairs this was noticeable by the old creaky floorboards. The hotel was converted into a hotel in 1980 with updates in 1998.

Our valet led us into the scarlet hallway which gave way onto a large bedroom also decorated in scarlet with a large picture over the bed. The colours made for a warm looking room. The furniture was dark though. We had a coffee table and two comfortable chairs in the room. There was a balcony with small table and chairs although the view was of the back of buildings. We were able to open the French windows at night for air and because it was at the back of the hotel thus quiet. The air con worked well when required. We were given complimentary chocolates and water.

There was a safe in the large wardrobes which also contained plenty of coathangers as well as drawers and shelves to store clothes and shoes. The safe was large enough for a 13” laptop and possibly larger. The toilet with bidet were separate from the shower and bath area. The bath had a shower over. The shower was not very good as it was difficult to regulate between hot and cold. Bathrobes and slippers were provided for our use. There were the usual toiletries which were replaced when required. The towels were large and fluffy. They appeared to be replaced daily. A plus point was the heated towel rails in the bathroom on which to place the towels.

The hairdryer was hand held but attached to the wall and worked efficiently.

The room had a N espresso machine. We requested a kettle and tea cups which were quickly sent up to our room. On the third morning housekeeping removed these so we tried to request another kettle and cups. Unfortunately, the staff appeared to be quite busy as it was over two hours before we received them and then only one mug. The coffee and sugar for the N espresso were replaced daily.

There was a mini bar in room but we did not use it but only used it as a fridge. The room was cleaned each day to a good standard. The Wifi worked fine but not quickly. It was annoying when the password changed without warning but then settled down after the third morning.

The location was excellent as it was situated in the Place du Capitole, the main square beside the Town Hall. Shops and the Monoprix which also housed a supermarket were in the vicinity as were many restaurants. Most shops were closed on Sundays. The bus to the airport was a short walk away on the Jean Jaures and ran every 20 minutes.

Staff were on the most part friendly but we did not have much contact with them as we did not partake in the breakfast. Our room key had to be handed in when leaving the hotel each time.

The only person notable was the valet who took our suitcases to our room and brought a kettle and one mug the second day.

We would probably not return but would recommend the hotel for the experience.

Check out went well and we left our bags for a few hours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel goes into the inner court of a big house on the main place - which is a good location in the city. The view of the rooms into the inner court is not what you expect of a four star hotel. Neither the room. The floor in which my room was situated was painted totally in blood red - shocking. And my room too, all walls blood red. A hotel should not choose such excentric colours, not evereybode likes that!

Room Tip: If you do not like blood red, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have stayed several times at the Grand Hotel and have consistently been pleased. Not only is the location unbeatable, but the rooms are lovely (our favourite: No. 103, red plush decor and an inviting veranda, adding to the sense of spaciousness). Good value for money, with a brilliant brasserie, hearty breakfast, attractive bar and spa, and peerless staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here on business at end of January 2014 and was very pleased indeed. It is in a great location - next to the Théâtre du Capitole. There a lots of restaurants and shops within a short walks distance and the area at night is not too noisy.

The hotel itself was good although a little bit of overkill on the decor for my tastes. Then again it fits with the theme. The bar was pleasant and not massively expensive considering it was a hotel bar. The rooms were comfortable, clean and relaxing. However, there was a large picture of a woman over the bed which was initially a bit odd but you soon get used to it.

A tip for getting there by car: Some of the one way streets have changed direction and there are bollards where there never used to be. To this end the SatNav completely failed to get us there. In the end you should approach from the North East and aim for Place du Capitole Parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagabundo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You can not ask for a better location. Located at Capitole Square in Toulouse next to the opera house. The hotel has a feel of days gone by, decorated in velvets and gilded furniture with costumes of the opera. The creaky steps of the stairs, hallways and your room only add to the nostalgia. The front desk and staff were very helpful with the local flavor of tourist spots and restaurants. If you make your reservations on line, complementary wine awaits you in the lounge.

Room Tip: Lovely balcony, bathroom very nice, mini-bar on hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox60Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
594 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#16 of 130 in Toulouse
1,008 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Opera

Address: 1 Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#8 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £95 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de l'Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de l'Opera is located on the Capitole square in the heart of the "Pink city", 100 meters far from the Capitole subway station. The historical hotel has an interior courtyard and offers a bar, breakfast room and "Terre de Jade Spa" offering steamroom, sauna and massages. All our rooms are air conditioned and have a classic decoration. The hotel offers free wifi connexion, satellite TV with Canal+ and Bein Sport, minibar, safe and bathrooms with shower or bath. Suites offer a lounge area. The hotel accommodates 2 restaurants (a one starred restaurant and a brasserie) which serve a refined cooking. Furthermore, the hotel offers valet parking (rate of Capitole Parking is 26 €/day, max hight 1,8 mt). reception 24h/24 You will be able to visit easily the main monuments of Toulouse within walking distance. The hotel is located opposite the famous 'Theatre du Capitole" and 25 minutes by car from the Blagnac Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing