We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in the heart of Toulouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful staff…. incredibly helpful and knowledgable. Couldn't have wished for a more perfect location within walking distance of shops, tourist sites and Place du Capitole is the place to sit and people watch in one of the outside cafes. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are so happy and proud to hear comment like yours. We are always doing our best to satisfy every customer.

We thank you for your comment and we hope that we will se you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Some of the most friendly and helpful reception staff you could wish for will start your stay in a good frame of mind. The hotel is beautifully furnished, is very central for Toulouse activities, breakfast is excellent value and it's restaurants of high standard. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: View over the Capitole square is interesting but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murdoch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear customer,

We thank you to taking the time to make a comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very happy too see that you enjoyed it.

We hope we will see you soon for another stay in the hotel,

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good value for a 4 star, spacious rooms, lots of red velvet and tassles, elaborate opera costume on the landing...housekeeping good and bed/linen great, Nespresso machine in the room. The creaking floorboards are a bit loud as you can hear every footstep above you but in a way this adds to the authenticity of the building. Perfect location on the Pl du Capitole. Only drawbacks are the overpriced breakfast, which you can skip for a coffee and croissant on the square, and the hotel spa which is also too expensive. But these are extras, and the rest is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Customer,

We are happy to read that you stay in our hotel was great and that you liked our decoration and authenticity.

We thank you for this comment and we hope that we will see you soon.

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Situated in the atmospheric heart of culture, this delightful Hotel is perfect for exploring Toulouse. I spent two nights here and found the bed very comfortable with a beautifully decorated, clean, well equipped room. I enjoyed the theatrical pieces placed around the hotel and all the staff were friendly, efficient and most helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and well presented with enough options for a Hotel of this size. My only negative point is that soundproofing in the top of the building isn't great and I could hear my neighbours, but having said that I am a very light sleeper. I didn't hear any outside noise even though the area was very busy with people until late in to the night. I would certainly recommend this Hotel and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mrs,

We would like to thank you for your very good comment about your stay in our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again in our hotel so do not hesitate to reserve directly with us for a personnal service from our welcom team.

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a stately, opulent place, just off the main square in front of the Opera. Everything about the building, the furnishings, the rooms, and the amenities are first rate. There is also a complementary sauna and steam bath in the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west enjoy the afternoon light but also come with some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnwpatrick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComOpera, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mrs,

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel and we hope that we will see you again in Toulouse in the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra.

Best regards,

Agnès DELAVALLADE
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I spent one night in a deluxe bedroom 4th floor, staff pleasant, fast check in, nice room with all needed but disappointing for the price. I would have expected more for such standard.

Bathroom a little bit too old in my opinion, Old toilets, bath/shower very low standard. Just ok.

Breakfast not good value at all. 19euros but limited choice for this price. Most hotels have twice more choice for this price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I booked a Deluxe Privilege room for three nights through Booking.com. The check in went smoothly. Our luggage was taken upstairs in a tiny elevator by the valet..

The lobby was large and decorated in colourful fabric designs. In fact the whole ground floor rooms and salons were covered in printed fabric. There was also fabric on the walls all the way down from our 3rd floor room. It is well worth exploring and having a drink in the bar. The hotel looks like a museum and has been in existence for quite a few years. It was built in 1770 as a convent and when walking down the stairs this was noticeable by the old creaky floorboards. The hotel was converted into a hotel in 1980 with updates in 1998.

Our valet led us into the scarlet hallway which gave way onto a large bedroom also decorated in scarlet with a large picture over the bed. The colours made for a warm looking room. The furniture was dark though. We had a coffee table and two comfortable chairs in the room. There was a balcony with small table and chairs although the view was of the back of buildings. We were able to open the French windows at night for air and because it was at the back of the hotel thus quiet. The air con worked well when required. We were given complimentary chocolates and water.

There was a safe in the large wardrobes which also contained plenty of coathangers as well as drawers and shelves to store clothes and shoes. The safe was large enough for a 13” laptop and possibly larger. The toilet with bidet were separate from the shower and bath area. The bath had a shower over. The shower was not very good as it was difficult to regulate between hot and cold. Bathrobes and slippers were provided for our use. There were the usual toiletries which were replaced when required. The towels were large and fluffy. They appeared to be replaced daily. A plus point was the heated towel rails in the bathroom on which to place the towels.

The hairdryer was hand held but attached to the wall and worked efficiently.

The room had a N espresso machine. We requested a kettle and tea cups which were quickly sent up to our room. On the third morning housekeeping removed these so we tried to request another kettle and cups. Unfortunately, the staff appeared to be quite busy as it was over two hours before we received them and then only one mug. The coffee and sugar for the N espresso were replaced daily.

There was a mini bar in room but we did not use it but only used it as a fridge. The room was cleaned each day to a good standard. The Wifi worked fine but not quickly. It was annoying when the password changed without warning but then settled down after the third morning.

The location was excellent as it was situated in the Place du Capitole, the main square beside the Town Hall. Shops and the Monoprix which also housed a supermarket were in the vicinity as were many restaurants. Most shops were closed on Sundays. The bus to the airport was a short walk away on the Jean Jaures and ran every 20 minutes.

Staff were on the most part friendly but we did not have much contact with them as we did not partake in the breakfast. Our room key had to be handed in when leaving the hotel each time.

The only person notable was the valet who took our suitcases to our room and brought a kettle and one mug the second day.

We would probably not return but would recommend the hotel for the experience.

Check out went well and we left our bags for a few hours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
589 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#19 of 130 in Toulouse
989 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
922 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Opera

Address: 1 Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Toulouse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#8 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £99 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de l'Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de l'Opera is located on the Capitole square in the heart of the "Pink city", 100 meters far from the Capitole subway station. This historical has a flowered court and also a spa, sauna, a hammam and massages. All our rooms are air conditioned and have a classic decoration. There is a free wifi connexion, satellite television, a minibar, a safe and a private bathroom with slippers and bathrobe. Suites offer a lounge area. The hotel accommodates 2 restaurants (a starred restaurant and a brasserie) which served a refined cooking. Furthermore, the hotel purposes a buffet breakfast. You can also have a drink in the bar. A reception 24h/24 opened with a valet parking service are available. You will be able to visit easily the main monuments of Toulouse. The hotel is located in front of the famous 'Theatre du Capitole" and 5 minutes far from the St Sernin basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing