We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airbus Factory Tour

Airbus Factory Tour
Ranked #6 of 30 Tours in Toulouse
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

My family & I took the A380 tour which lasts around 90 mins.

There are 3 elements. First a video of the test flight of the A380 from the perspective of the control centre where the engineers monitored the flight. This was little more than a video show.

Second a trip to the assembly line. You look out over the huge workshop where 2 aircraft were being prepared. It was interesting but all you do is look down from a height of about 10 stories onto the workshop.

Last is a visit to an interior mock up of an A380. The aircraft seats were tatty and worn and the business class section looked like none I have witnessed. This element really was awful.

The tour guide was good and her English was excellent but overall it was expensive and uninspiring. Even for myself who is interested in aircraft.

You end at the gift shop. Around €50 for some of the models. Need I say more?

Take my advice. Spend your money on a meal out with the family and avoid this tour completely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    91
    49
    43
    34
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

No nice movie theater, no nice bus tour on the site, little view of the plant. If you are in the neighbourhood visit but dont plan a trip specially for this

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GTholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaillac, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go on it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I went with three friends (all elderly) and we all enjoyed it. The hostess was very informative and we liked the take off and landing especially as cockpit visits are not allowed anymore. The sheer scale of it you cannot appreciate when you only see it flying. I can't wait to get on board!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wriggle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sad to say NOT as good as Boeing Everett tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had visited the Boeing factory back in March 2013, and I was hoping we can match the Americans if not do better!

But unfortunately the tour was immensely disappointing as you don’t get to see as much, as one does with the Boeing tour.

The tour guide was a recent graduate, and she was essentially presenting a paper and NOT talking to the people on the tour.

The visitor centre is OK, limited but OK. Again it pains me to admit Boeing did a much better job at this as they have an actual (small) aviation museum with rooftop viewing centre, not just a few posters, a few aircraft bits and a video!!!

All in all, I believe Airbus Toulouse have a lot of room for improvements in all areas.
The Airbus story is inspiring and what they’re doing with the A380s, etc does deserve to be showcased better....at the moment, it is not worth the €15 per adult entrance fee.
- Photography is not allowed
- Allow more time than you think to get there, the traffic around the airport was a nightmare
- Ample free parking available on site

This is the website to book tickets:http://www.manatour.fr/?lang=en

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manu_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Could have been so mutch more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I did the A380 tour at lets visit Airbus today with my two sons (11 and 16), the company offers 2 more tours but we choose this. The tour starts with a 30 minutes wait in the gift shop and afterwards a short introduction to the A380 and first flight in a mockup control room. Then by bus to one of two A380 final assembly hangers where you can have a look at 3 assembly workstations from a height of 20 meters and behind a glass window and again a short movie about the transport of the various components. Finally you return to the visitor center for a look in a mockup section of an A380 cabin dating back to 2001....

I must say that as an aircraft enthusiast and private pilot i still enjoyed the part overlooking the assembly line but furthermore the visit not justified the 430km we had to drive for it.....

It could have been so much more, maybe a 'little' closer to and actual airplane, maybe the bus could have driven around the A380 complex and hangers to show some extra insides instead of just a 2 min drive to and from the elevator....

My advise skip this visit and just watch discovery channel!! Cheaper and more fun.

Hopefully something will change in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Airbus Factory Tour also viewed

Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Airbus Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing