We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Boutique Hotel Garonne
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay but could be better”
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Garonne for three nights in early October. Our room (room 15) was comfortable with lots of storage space but we were constantly hot as the environmental system in this room does not include a/c (!) We could open the window however although as the hotel is directly on a fairly quiet but often used cut-through between two main roads we were subjected to some pretty full-on fumes. Also whilst the bathroom was nice, the shower was not fixed to the wall (hand shower only) which is not ideal. Would suggest requesting Rooms 11 or 12 which are on the ground floor but on the other side of the building away from the street. Also if a shower is important, make sure you request it! We did get a good rate booking directly with the hotel (€145 a night including breakfast (which is served in the restaurant or to your room, except on Mondays when the restaurant is closed)) so is worth checking with them.

We ate at some very nice restaurants in Toulouse although beware that most places are closed on Sundays and Mondays. We had a superb meal at 7 place Saint Sernin - the scallops are divine and the fruit tart superb. We also at Restaurant le 19 (opposite the hotel) and the meal was outstanding. Foie gras and lamb were amazing and the hazelnut dessert exceptional. Last, a little cafe on Rue des Tourneurs just down from Le Paradis Gourmand, was a perfect pit stop on a rainy day and served the most amazing tarte du jour and desserts!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ResearchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
41
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

It's not easy finding a hotel in Toulouse. There were only a few 4 star available so we chose Hotel Garonne based on reviews here plus the fact that it was recommended in conde naste traveller.
The hotels itself is fine - clean and staffed by very friendly people. That's the good part. The location while central is down a small side street which looks a bit dubious but was okay. The main problem we had was that because the hotel is bordered on both sides by streets, there was noise all night long. People leaving local bars / nightclubs until 3am did not make for a sound night sleep. When we complained to the front desk, they said that this was to be expected on a Saturday night - maybe but it would have been nice to know beforehand!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kismetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We were initially thinking about changing our booking after reading the reviews on this website, however, I am glad that we didn't. Excellent hotel right next to the River Garonne. The location was perfect. Staff were friendly and the room was well furnished and clean. The decor was original in keeping with a boutique hotel but the rooms were a good size (unlike other hotels calling themselves boutique just because the rooms are small). The air conditioning worked tremendously well. Bed was comfortable and the shower was extremely powerful. The breakfast served in the room was delicious. I would have no problems recommending this wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

I travel mainly on business and pass through Toulouse regularly. I usually spend a night there at the start of my trip and another on the way back to get an early flight from Blagnac Airport. I always like to try new hotels and have stayed at the Holiday Inn, Sofitel and Crowne Plaza, usually for what I paid at G Hotel. In short then, per $ comparison, I thought G was awful. There is no parking so if you have a car you drop your luggage and then find a public space - fine for drop of when checking in, but you really, on checking out have to carry your luggage to the parking space. Room was tiny, air con insufficient and a reviewer mentioned some lovely view over an inner courtyard - really???. It isn't that I will stop looking for interesting small hotels but on so many occassions, hotels like the G, advertise what in my experience they are not. Even though it had a restaurant, I would still call it ameneties wise, a bed and breakfast.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Sydneystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Pleasant hotel with dark wooden floors, comfortable beds and bathrooms. Contemporary design which is a welcome change from the dark oppressive floral wallpapers, ceilings and walls that are so common in France. The hotel does not have its own car park so the nearest paying car park is a good ten minutes drive away round the one way system so not easy if you are on your own in a hire car. Have breakfast in your room as the 'terrace' is literally on the pavement outside. Staff very friendly and helpful, changing dinner reservations for us when we were delayed en route.

Excellent restaurant directly opposite (although there were several people smoking at nearby tables when we went). We only stayed one night but would stay there again. Ideal for a one night stay if you are flying in late on the way to somewhere or want a city centre base. Toulouse is a great city so worth an explore.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LappersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2006

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our holiday and found this hotel to be very average for the price.
The reception staff were very friendly, but the room itself was small, the air conditioning couldnt cope with the 38 degrees we were having...adjusting the controls appeared to make no difference.
The room window looked out onto a brick wall a couple of metres away,
Car parking was in a carpark towards the centre of the town.
Breakfast was served either in your room on on the "terrace"(which is actually 3 tables on the pavement outside) and wasnt it my luck to be harrassed by the local nutter one morning whilst eating and the receptionist had to come out and move him on
Toulouse must have better to offer and i wont stay here again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin, germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and our expectations of French hotels were surpassed! For some unknown reason we were upgraded to a junior suite which was definitely bigger then the usual "shoebox" rooms I have seen and slept in. The rooms have nice, dark wooden floorboards which is a definite advantage over hotel carpets. The look and feel was kind of Asian fusion, very subtle with some slight style discrepancies.
Rooms were clean, it seemed the cleaning staff really did their job.
Above all we were overwhelmed by the reception staff's friendly attitude and eagerness to help with guests' little problems. I don't think this was because we could communicate in French!

The breakfast buffet was nothing to write home about, but then France is not known for lush breakfast.

Location pretty good, not exactly right in the centre, but all within walking distance and very close to the Garonne.

Definitely our first choice for another stay in Toulouse.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ehberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Jacobins
Hotel des Beaux Arts
Hotel des Beaux Arts
#38 of 130 in Toulouse
219 reviews
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
357 reviews
Croix-Baragnon
#79 of 130 in Toulouse
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Grand Balcon
#11 of 130 in Toulouse
522 reviews
Wilson
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#22 of 130 in Toulouse
208 reviews
Hotel de Brienne
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Boutique Hotel Garonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Boutique Hotel Garonne

Property: Le Boutique Hotel Garonne
Address: 22 Descente de la Hall aux Poissons, 31000, Toulouse, France (Formerly Hotel Garonne)
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Filatiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Boutique Hotel Garonne 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Boutique Hotel Garonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonne Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing