We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, so-so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Boutique Hotel Garonne
Ranked #73 of 129 Hotels in Toulouse
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice location, so-so hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Garonne's location is really good, it's clean, and it's pretty friendly. But our room was tiny, and overall I don't think this place is a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
39
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

It can be difficult to get accommodation in Toulouse and there was not much choice when I booked this hotel. I chose it because it was centrally located within walking distance of the Capitoliumand the old city. I knew that there would be no parking so had to use one of the Vinci car parks - in my case about 10 mins walk from the hotel. There is one closer but it was full when I arrived mid afternoon. Toulouse has anumber of one-way streets so getting to the car parks can be a challenge. The hotel is a boutique hotel, close to the Pont Neuf. The room is basic and looked out on the narrow street. Although close to the main street, rue de Metz, there was very liitle noise at night and the black out curtains were very effective. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The tv only offered French channels. The room was small, which is normal for older properties in Toulouse. There was a separate toilet and WC. The worst bit was the shower. It is over the bath but you have to hold it and as there is no shower screen or curtain the bathroom was awash by the time I'd finished. Brealfast (which I did not have at 19€) can be in the room or in the lounge area downstairs, which is also very small. The staff were friendly and there was no fuss when I decided, for personal reasons, not to stay the second night I had booked. The hotel is linked to No 19 restaurant over the road where I ate dinner.

The hotel says it is 4* but I wouldn't agree with that rating and although comfortable I don't think i was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

This hotel was a wonderful find. It was recommended by a tourist board in Bordeaux. The people at the front desk were more than hospitable, attending to even small personal details. No request was too much. Part of the quaint hotel is a renowned restaurant. One must book ahead as it is popular throughout the city. The room was most comfortable with luxury amenities. In the circular stairway there is a gorgeous chandelier which I was compelled to photograph. Weekends offer a special rate including a robust continental breakfast served in your room. Very filling and delicious. I highly recommend this special hotel and its employees.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PassportReady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Garonne for three nights in early October. Our room (room 15) was comfortable with lots of storage space but we were constantly hot as the environmental system in this room does not include a/c (!) We could open the window however although as the hotel is directly on a fairly quiet but often used cut-through between two main roads we were subjected to some pretty full-on fumes. Also whilst the bathroom was nice, the shower was not fixed to the wall (hand shower only) which is not ideal. Would suggest requesting Rooms 11 or 12 which are on the ground floor but on the other side of the building away from the street. Also if a shower is important, make sure you request it! We did get a good rate booking directly with the hotel (€145 a night including breakfast (which is served in the restaurant or to your room, except on Mondays when the restaurant is closed)) so is worth checking with them.

We ate at some very nice restaurants in Toulouse although beware that most places are closed on Sundays and Mondays. We had a superb meal at 7 place Saint Sernin - the scallops are divine and the fruit tart superb. We also at Restaurant le 19 (opposite the hotel) and the meal was outstanding. Foie gras and lamb were amazing and the hazelnut dessert exceptional. Last, a little cafe on Rue des Tourneurs just down from Le Paradis Gourmand, was a perfect pit stop on a rainy day and served the most amazing tarte du jour and desserts!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ResearchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

It's not easy finding a hotel in Toulouse. There were only a few 4 star available so we chose Hotel Garonne based on reviews here plus the fact that it was recommended in conde naste traveller.
The hotels itself is fine - clean and staffed by very friendly people. That's the good part. The location while central is down a small side street which looks a bit dubious but was okay. The main problem we had was that because the hotel is bordered on both sides by streets, there was noise all night long. People leaving local bars / nightclubs until 3am did not make for a sound night sleep. When we complained to the front desk, they said that this was to be expected on a Saturday night - maybe but it would have been nice to know beforehand!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kismetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

We were initially thinking about changing our booking after reading the reviews on this website, however, I am glad that we didn't. Excellent hotel right next to the River Garonne. The location was perfect. Staff were friendly and the room was well furnished and clean. The decor was original in keeping with a boutique hotel but the rooms were a good size (unlike other hotels calling themselves boutique just because the rooms are small). The air conditioning worked tremendously well. Bed was comfortable and the shower was extremely powerful. The breakfast served in the room was delicious. I would have no problems recommending this wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2006

I travel mainly on business and pass through Toulouse regularly. I usually spend a night there at the start of my trip and another on the way back to get an early flight from Blagnac Airport. I always like to try new hotels and have stayed at the Holiday Inn, Sofitel and Crowne Plaza, usually for what I paid at G Hotel. In short then, per $ comparison, I thought G was awful. There is no parking so if you have a car you drop your luggage and then find a public space - fine for drop of when checking in, but you really, on checking out have to carry your luggage to the parking space. Room was tiny, air con insufficient and a reviewer mentioned some lovely view over an inner courtyard - really???. It isn't that I will stop looking for interesting small hotels but on so many occassions, hotels like the G, advertise what in my experience they are not. Even though it had a restaurant, I would still call it ameneties wise, a bed and breakfast.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Sydneystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Jacobins
Hotel des Beaux Arts
Hotel des Beaux Arts
#35 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#5 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Le Grand Balcon
#11 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croix-Baragnon
#65 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Wilson
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#24 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#6 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Boutique Hotel Garonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Boutique Hotel Garonne

Property: Le Boutique Hotel Garonne
Address: 22 Descente de la Hall aux Poissons, 31000, Toulouse, France (Formerly Hotel Garonne)
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Filatiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Boutique Hotel Garonne 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Boutique Hotel Garonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonne Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing