We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect welcome to France!”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 July 2011

After indifferent and rude responses from personnel at Toulouse Airport, Hotel Albert 1er was a welcoming oasis after our arrival into Toulouse city. Thanks to a very special front desk evening receptionist--a charming, friendly, young lady. This hotel is truly lucky to have her. There's a small entry lobby with information about Toulouse, and a nice dining area for moning breakfast.

Our room was on the first floor (second USA) above the lobby. It had , as requested,two beds, and the room was charming--fireplace, traditional look, high ceilings,big bathroom. It faced the street, but the thick windows kept it soundproof. The room had free wifi (which the French pronounce weefee)--an unexpected treat.
Next morning, we had the ten euro breakfast- well worth the price.You can relax at a table by the window in a nice room over breakfast, press fresh oj, make cappucino, etc, enjoy fresh fruit and yogurts and croissants, and rolls,which they kept replenishing. There's even a pitcher of warm milk.

Two of the of young men that morning couldn't have been nicer, earth,although one other man at the front desk, while pleasant enough, had a bit of a formal "nose in the air" kind of politeness. Get used to that if you travel outside Paris while in France (-;

The location of the hotel is fantastic: a very short walk from where the airport shuttle (navette) stops at Jeanne d'Arcd a quick walk to Capitole and Place Wilson, and about 5 minutes to St Sernin.

I peeked into one of the rooms at the back of the hotel (away from the main street) while it was being cleaned. It had a double bed and didn't look as bright as our room. So perhaps request a room with two beds--or one on the front side?? I think the hotel has a more modern wing (we were in the older part) but again, i am not sure, so it is worth asking.

Thank you , Hotel Albert 1er, for a great hotel for our first night and day on a return to France!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed one night at the hotel and found it to be very nice. It is right in the center of Toulouse and parking, while not provided, was easy to utilize at one of the city parking garages. The hotel subsidized the parking by the way, ask at the desk.

The hotel was very convenient to everything in the city and was very clean. As we left early the next morning, we did not have breakfast, so I can't comment on that aspect of the hotel. Our room was spacious, much larger than normal in France and was also very quiet. The bathroom was fairly large as well.

The hotel is fairly convenient to the airport. We had a car and it was approximately a 20 to 25 minute drive. Public transport is available, we did not utilize it however.

The staff was helpful and friendly, we would stay here again in the future. The hotel was excellent value for money as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

located close to most city attractions; very close to capitole; area was safe; we drove in and parked at a nearby garage at a discounted rate; breakfast at the hotel was very good (metas, cereal, fruit, hard-boiled eggs); rooms were clean and air-conditioned; friendly staff; would recommend to friends

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NycNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Second stay at the Albert 1er. A little staid (no bar for example) but friendly, helpful, clean and perfectly centrally located. A safe bet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I too felt like the room we ended up in looked nothing like the photo- the bathroom was nice, but there was one of those slat metal window things that blocked out all light and we could not figure out how to open, making it extremely dark. Big bed, but somewhat stuffy, nothing fancy. They tried to charge us for breakfast we didnt eat, so carefully check your bill. well located.

Room Tip: If you book the king, make sure you pay attention!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lora d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The first night of my stay I could not understand the great reviews of this hotel. I reserved a room for two nights, King Superior Room two months earlier. However when I arrived the room was NOT at all what their pictures show nor their discriptions of their king rooms. It was very small, had a window but the room itself was dark. The bed was not a king size nor was the room! I showed the staff the pictures, the descripitions, my letter of confirmation....too bad they said...we call anything we want a king room and this is the only room left! SO the king rooms might be as shown and described but then again they may not be! They offered to move us to a twin room that was even smaller!
The boss was the only option they said if I wanted to talk to him.....however he did arrive later but did not contact us in our room because " we were not downstairs!"
The next morning I went to speak to the owner, spoke with Katrina and she moved us to the room advertised and pictured on the website. BUT it was only because we had threatened to cancel our credit card prepayment and move. It was a "bait and switch from the get go...SOOOO be careful and do not allow this to happen to you! Do not pay 96 eros for room 510...go to 301 and you too will be saying this hotel is a good place to stay.. But beware of the bait and switch...Sherrry

Room Tip: Do not accept 510 as a superior king room..it is t
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beach212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This hotel is so well placed and such good value that it's not worth looking any further. Great staff, excellent breakfasts (freshly squeezed orange juice even). We had 5 very comfortable nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordCorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
589 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,236 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
392 reviews
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#19 of 130 in Toulouse
989 reviews
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 8 rue Rivals | 7 Rue JF Kennedy, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Taur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#1 Green Hotel in Toulouse
#2 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1er is a three-star, family-owned hotel ideally located a hundred metres off Capitole Square right in the historical centre of Toulouse. Hotel Albert 1er is the perfect starting point to discover or rediscover the charms of the "Ville Rose" (pink city) and the Midi-Pyrenees region.For several years now, Hotel Albert 1er has decidedly opted for an eco-friendly approach. It is the sole Hotel in Toulouse that can boast the award of a European Ecolabel: for instance our breakfast products are produced locally or/and come from organic farming."The independent hotel industry at its best..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Hotel
Albert 1er Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing