We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I dont think that you can do better for €69 per night, right in the centre of Toulouse on a quiet side street.

Yes the rooms are tiny and the bed is hard - but the bathroom was immaculate and the place was spotless. That was all we needed for a rugby weekend.

The taxi from the airport was €28 and took 20 mins.

The breakfast on the Mon morning was a typical french fare - thought €10 was expensive and would find a local cafe in future.

Lunch at the Victor Hugo Marche was an experience - full of character - and very busy so get there early. Its just at the top of the street from the Albert so cannot miss it!

Also loved J'Go - contemporary wine bar/bistro on the other side of Victor Hugo.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2008

I guess the reason people like this hotel so much is that it's fairly cheap - but that's about all it has going for it. The rooms are small and ours had a depressing little view out the back side. The room was clean, but dark and sad. The location is okay, but there are many more hotels in the area as well. The pictures on the website look absolutely nothing like the room or the hotel. Did not have breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

We were told in numerous places (emails, website, signs in elevator, hotel handbook etc.) that the parking garage we parked at (Victor Hugo) would give us a discount if we got our ticket stamped at the hotel. Well, the day we check out we ask the desk to stamp the ticket for the two days we parked at the lot, and the desk person said something about "a machine" and would not stamp the ticket. We asked what he was talking about and he just said he wouldn't stamp it and then that was that as he turned his back and went back about his business. No explanation was ever given.

Frankly, this particular chap was kind of a jag as he was also the same person who agreed to hold our bags for an hour after we checked out so we could get some money and have a coffee before we left. We asked for our bags when we returned and he asked us for a claim ticket that he never gave us. When we said we didn't have a claim ticket he gave us a big sigh and was now going to give us a hard time about the bags. Sheesh - we left an hour before and he was the one who took the bags from us and didn't give us any claim ticket, so just give us the bags already.

Overall, the hotel is average, the location is okay, and yes, it is cheap. But, I know that I wouldn't stay there again as it was nothing special and I am sure that there are better hotels in this lovely town.

Stayed: September 2008
4  Thank i_luv_stj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

This is a really good city centre hotel. Next to the centre of Toulouse, lovely room, friendly reception. Bargain for 69 euros per room on a weekend. Only small complaints - slow lift, average breakfast (on the weekend).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank david17London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Hotel Albert deserves its top ranking on Trip advisor 100%. We were very pleased with this hotel. Great room with everything you could want, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, safe, sound proofed, air con, TV with BBC World, great bathroom, plenty of room, mini bar, friendly, helpful staff and very central location. On top of all that - value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Great hotel slap bang in the middle of Toulouse. As a woman on my own was concerned about long walks down quiet side streets - no worries here its just yards off the main square with masses of cafe's and shops. Didnt do breakfast, went to Cafe Florida instead for cafe and croissant! Just one thing, if you need a taxi to the airport book it the night before, requested mine at 8am and it took til 8.40am to arrive, not a relaxing start to your journey home, that said the taxi driver got me to the airport in 20 mins although I paid for using the word "quickly" - 27Euros, friend of mine had paid 18Euros for the reverse trip just 5 days earlier!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmsmumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

This place has a great location and we found the staff helpful.

We didnt have breakfast - no point in hotels in french cities.

Room was clean and all the amenities you need , it was small , but in France you get used to that. The only downside is the noise - if you sleep with window open , forget it , make sure you get a room which does not face rue kennedy - from 4am you will be kept awake.

Overall - good value , just watch out on the noise front.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukiwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This is a great little hotel in a good location. The rooms are stylish. The breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
594 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,253 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#5 of 130 in Toulouse
400 reviews
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#15 of 130 in Toulouse
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 8 rue Rivals | 7 Rue JF Kennedy, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Taur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#1 Green Hotel in Toulouse
#2 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £65 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1er is a three-star, family-owned hotel ideally located a hundred metres off Capitole Square right in the historical centre of Toulouse. Hotel Albert 1er is the perfect starting point to discover or rediscover the charms of the "Ville Rose" (pink city) and the Midi-Pyrenees region.For several years now, Hotel Albert 1er has decidedly opted for an eco-friendly approach. It is the sole Hotel in Toulouse that can boast the award of a European Ecolabel: for instance our breakfast products are produced locally or/and come from organic farming."The independent hotel industry at its best..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Hotel
Albert 1er Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing