We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest 2-star hotel”
Review of Hotel Ambassadeurs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeurs
Ranked #83 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise. It is not in the best area of Toulouse but it is conveniently close to the train station as well as within easy walking distance to the city centre. The reception staff were excellent, much friendlier than most receptionists in 3 or 4-star hotels. There are no decorations and the room is rather simple, but has everything you need, and so does the bathroom. Very clean. There is a café bar downstairs as well as kebab takeaway, but we spelt well thanks to double-glazing. The quiet air-con is a big advantage as it was close to 40 Celsius one day. If we ever return to Toulouse, we will probably book this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel was the perfect budget accommodation. Close to the railway station and with nice, clean rooms. The location is in a rather run down part of town, but the city center is only a 10-15 min walk away. Our children (4 and 6) had no trouble walking there. Breakfast was also very good and the young couple who own the hotel were super friendly and helpful. We had one of the family rooms. It was a tight squeeze with two big beds and a crib but we managed and went into the breakfast room when we felt too crammed. If you want to eat in the area I would very much recommend the asian "canteen" style restaurant a little further along rue Bayard towards the city centre. Had an excellent and incredibly cheap meal there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here one night as our train got into Toulouse late and we were leaving early the next morning for a cycling tour. Convenient location right opposite the train station, and the staff were really friendly about finding a place for us to keep our bikes indoors as the streets are a bit dodgy (we kept them in their cleaning cupboard!). Room was quiet and air-conditioned, but they're very old rooms and smell quite fusty, quite small, no toileteries in the bathrooms, just a bed and a side table etc. Great for a quick stop-over, but I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Service- very good. It is family run. The receptionist is the son of the owner. He gave me very help advice on where to shop and to eat. He answered all my questions patiently without rushing me. He also allowed me to keep my luggage there until evening.
Room- Ah- decent but consider the price it is what I expected. There is no facility. No air dryer, no good place to hang the wet towels ( other than in front of the sink which sits pretty low and the towel is touching the floor ). There is also a hole on the bath room door which wasn't filled in or fixed. The bed wasn't made but they did replace the towels and took out the garbage.
Location- Very good and close to airport shuttle , train station , metro
What I like most : location with air conditioner, good shower, double pane window to keep the noise out.
What I like least : the room is aged , worn and a bit tired looking. There is only a small stool in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Trip_T0_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The main sites of Toulouse are in a walking distance from this hotel. Its not very cheap but its nit expensive at all for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My first impressions weren't particularly good, not helped by the fact it was raining, not the hotel's fault, obviously. The entrance is up a very steep stairway, which was slightly tatty and therefore not very welcoming, there was odd bits of furniture on the landings, the plaster was missing where some repair work had been done and we had a couple of problems in our room, the lamp fell off the wall and the toilet sit also came off the toilet. We were tired, it was late, so we went to bed.
Next day things improved. The problems in our room were fixed, breakfast, (extra) was nice, quite basic, but very fresh. The couple that run the hotel are very friendly and willing to help with anything you need.
The location is very good for the station, or the airport shuttle, and the main sights are only about a 15 minute walk away. Slightly seedy area, women leaning against lamp-posts, etc, but no one bothered us.
The hotel was very good value, quite a lot cheaper than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, check if it would worry you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Amongst the strong points of this hotel, conveniently located near the main railway station, the bus station and the Metro, is the helpfulness/friendliness of the manager and the other staff. The bedrooms are good, comfortable beds and very clean however the bathroom that we had was a little tired and needs to be refurbished. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good and plentiful choice. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Raymond IV
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#78 of 130 in Toulouse
90 reviews
Raymond IV
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#99 of 130 in Toulouse
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Quietat
#70 of 130 in Toulouse
126 reviews
Belfort
Hotel d'Orsay
Hotel d'Orsay
#41 of 130 in Toulouse
190 reviews
Ibis Toulouse Centre
#25 of 130 in Toulouse
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeurs

Address: 68 rue de Bayard, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £45 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ambassadeurs 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeurs Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing