We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for tourists, not so good for business”
Review of Hotel Riquet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riquet
Ranked #64 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This is a nice, cosy hotel located around 10 minutes walk from the central area. There is a red light district immediately to the north of the street across the dual carriageway, where you can see some sex shops and prostitutes loitering, but do not let this put you off - they do not cross the dual carriageway, and this hotel is perfectly safe and suitable for a family.

I had a single room, and it was a decent size. This is a 2 star hotel, so you have to be aware of some stuff. There is no hair dryer. The TV is very small, which was annoying as the World Cup was happening. There is no mini-bar in the room, although maybe the other more expensive rooms have one.
The plus points are that the shower was very nice, and the room was clean. They also had a fan in the room for when it gets hot, but it wasn't that great.

Breakfast is served between 7am and 10am. Beware, breakfast is not included in the cost! I thought it was, and all I was having each morning was a small bowl of cornflakes before going to work - it was a very expensive breakfast, as I ended up paying 45 euros for five bowls of cornflakes!

They have a nice seating area outside where you can take your breakfast, that is very picturesque.

The staff are very friendly indeed, I really liked them.

The Internet was appalling. And as a business traveller, that really annoyed me, as I had to use the Internet from the hotel in the evenings, but it would disconnect every few minutes - and that was on the good days, on the bad days it wouldn't even connect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

I had a nice stay in the hotel. The service is excellent and prompt. It is good for a two star category hotel. The breakfast could be better and is not worth 10 Euros. The staff is extremely helpful and speak good english which was surprsing. The room could be better for the price they charge. Overall its a decent place

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed 4 nights in total -- 2 in late May, and 2 more about a week later in early June 2010 -- with my 5-year-old. All members of staff were consistently very kind to my son and I. For example, we missed the breakfast hours due to jet-lag but were able to have a pared-down version (still a very nice continental-style) in any case. I had a ground floor room, which, with the windows open, allowed me to spend a bit of time in the courtyard after my son went to bed. And being able to breakfast outdoors in the courtyard is a nice option with young children. My son was able to walk quite easily to the centre. The nearby municipal library and pool were also appreciated. The pool is only half a block a way, while the library is directly north on the other side of the canal (with an excellent children's section complete with videos with headsets and books in English and some other languages besides French). Good value all round.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0Figure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This hotel was good value for money and very comfortable. Our only complaint was the lack of bathroom door -a curtain doesn't provide much privacy (I don't believe all the rooms are like that). That staff was excellent and extremely helpful and the breakfast was very good. All in all, i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubagirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We got lost and decided to stay in the first hotel we found. It was a huge success. Delightful management team and wonderful rooms. We did splash out for a superior room and this was real luxury. Breakfast was a serious start to the day. Free WiFi and underground parking the other side of the road.( do book as spaces are limited)
About 5 min walk from the centre. They recommended a great eating place in an underground cave. A little expensive but quite an experience
This is a great hotel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malmesburymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The Hotel Riquet is a comfortable value hotel located a half-dozen blocks away from the main center in Toulouse. The area is a bit rundown and dark and felt a bit uncomfortable. Be sure to have good directions, the signposting is small and easy to overlook. Parking is in a garage across the street and the walking entrance is around the block, so its best to drop bags and get the garage directions at the hotel first.

The folks at the desk were very helpful and checkin was smooth and the staff was able to help with recommendations for restaurants nearby. There are small sitting rooms on the ground floor and elevators up to the rooms, The room was comfortable, with a comfortable bed, working desk and local television, Rooms overlook a courtyard and were quiet with good light. The bathroom was small but clean and functional.

Breakfast is served in the lobby each morning; there was a good selection of pastries and breads, cereal and juices. The staff prepares coffee and there are hot egg dishes available. There are several restaurants within a block, but most of the better ones are in the city about a half hour walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This hotel is conveniently located next to the train station. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak perfect english. These are the good things about this hotel.
The rooms were really old and not very large. The location is awful - it's in a dodgy area and 15 mins walk into the centre of Toulouse. There is no parking. It just wasn't nice. I think it's more for business travellers.
I have spoken to other people who have also stayed in this end of town and were disappointed. If you go to Toulouse make sure you stay in the lovely area around The Capitol where there are divine restaurants (Cassoulet yum yum), good shopping and cafes/bars.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Belfort
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#67 of 130 in Toulouse
64 reviews
Taur
Hotel Saint Sernin
Hotel Saint Sernin
#42 of 130 in Toulouse
225 reviews
Grand Hotel Raymond IV
#46 of 130 in Toulouse
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Cousture Hotel
#71 of 130 in Toulouse
111 reviews
Privilege Hotel Mermoz
#18 of 130 in Toulouse
327 reviews
Croix-Baragnon
#97 of 130 in Toulouse
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riquet

Address: 92 rue Pierre Paul Riquet, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riquet 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riquet Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing