We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little hotel”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #22 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We came to Toulouse for one night to take part in a concert and could not have found a better place to stay! The hotel is absolutely lovely, our room (twin beds) very comfortable and spacious. What we really appreciated, was the personnel - they made it perfect! I have seldom run into such nice young employees with a very welcoming attitude. Our arrival was a little complicated, even with a navigation system difficult to find since street directions had been changed due construction, no problem, the receptionist helped us via phone to find the hotel, the next morning a delicious breakfast was served by another charming young man in our room - who discretely knocked on the door a half an hour later to ask if we would to have some more coffee! And then the lovely young receptionist, a woman this time, to check us out and give us some information on Toulouse.....perfect!! And another big plus is the hotel parking space, just a few seconds away from the hotel...very practical if you are traveling by car. All the monuments are very easy to get to on foot and perfect to discover the beauty of Toulouse.....we will definitely go back if ever again in Toulouse.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel really does have it all - very central location, great welcome and service throughout, individual rooms, recently renovated and well maintained, our room (room 4 I think), was out front and had one of the best showers ever. Good quality sheets and pillows make such a difference. For a city centre hotel, there was very little noise.
Compared to other hotels we looked at, this represented great value for money. Will almost certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTFTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel des Arts appears to be an old hotel that has been nicely remodeled. The wonky circular stair way is the tip off to the age.

The Good - Rooms and bathrooms are good size for Europe. They are clean and our room was fairly quiet. The staff were really nice and helpful. Location was terrific, with cafes, farmers market right there. We had breakfast at the bakery around the corner. You are in the heart of the city and can walk everywhere. My wife loved the proximity to great shopping... oh wait, maybe that's a negative.

The Negatives - No big deal but it might be important to some. There is no lift and the stairs are a less than perfect. We were helped by the manager, This is a small hotel with one person on duty until 10:00 and no restaurant, so no room service or food.

Tip - We rented bikes and road all over the city, next to the river and through the park. What a great way to see the city! Terrific!

I would not hesitate to go back to Hotel des Arts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cali4niaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a great stay... the hotel is discretely situated in the heart of the upscale shopping zone of Toulouse. There's everything you need for a shopping trip, a romantic getaway and/or just a respite from your day-to-day. You could spend your whole trip here, and never need a cab, bike or taxi. This is the text book definition of boutique hotel. Seems each room is designed with contemporary and chic objectives. Place St. George is close, and the well known Wallace just a few steps for drinks, lunch and the never-old people-watching. There's a Monoprix less than 5-minutes walk as well if you want to stock up on staple products. The hotel's direct street access itself is closed off to car traffic, which can be a blessing or curse depending on how and when you're moving your bags into and out of the hotel - by the way, if you're arriving or departing by any other way than Taxi, prepare to walk. Note also that there is no lobby per se, just a common floor where the office manager hold court in a lovely office adjacent to a little in-between buildings courtyard. Our room was small, but charming and appointed with modern pieces and decorated what appeared to be Tintin and other comic book memorabilia. The staff was always helpful and friendly, allowing us to opt for breakfast on a daily basis, and keeping our key for us. Breakfast (served in bed!) is a must, and is served in the room, consisting of fresh pastries, jams, butters, yogurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed OJ, and a thermos of coffee with milk. Bathroom was big, but equipped only with a bathtub, that was in fact, american sized big! I was easily able to take a bath comfortably. The pictures you see of the hotel on T.A. are 100% accurate, and the light feature at the head of the bed which you may have seen in other reviews is a fun touch adding a nice ambiance to those looking for that sort of thing. The internet was good, and never failed us, and overall all our expectations were met if not exceeded on all counts. The only thing I'd preventing a 5-star review is the lack of an elevator, an in-room fridge/mini-bar, and the absence any ventilation in the common areas/stair wells. The staff is definitely 5-star, tremendous even. Our room was cleaned thoroughly and thoughtfully each day - never rushing us out or seemingly ever in our way. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure the premium rooms are on the lower floors, and they are there for good reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

firstly the location is right in the centre of the old town. amazing little roads and character.

the hotel is small and confined, but the room was excellent in size, newly decorated, with a high quality bathroom and shower.

we are a middle class couple, in our late 20's and couldnt recommend the hotel and toulouse more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allenjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F J, Gérant at Hotel des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

What a pleasure to read your comment!
All the team and I thank you for such nice words.
We do hope seeing you soon at hotel des Arts Toulouse!
Very best wishes,
Franck Jaulneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here in April of this year with two other female friends. We decided that a city break in Toulouse would be nice and this hotel seemed reasonable for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have done more for us. The room was tastefully decorated but a bit on the small side. The noise from the street outside was very loud all through the night, seemed to be single-pane windows. However the room was very clean and fresh towels were delivered every day. The hotel is ideally situated with regard to all of the major tourist attractions in the city. Overall it was nice for what it was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edelmaria2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F J, Gérant at Hotel des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
We are very happy you had good time with us.
For your information all the windows have been changed and are now sound proof.
We do hope seeing you again at hotel des Arts Toulouse.
Best wishes,
Franck Jaulneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Totally renewed hotel downtown Toulouse, France. Nice colors, nice rooms, every thing is new and have been redecorated with good stuff. This hotel has not been yet updated to his future status and still has only one start. A very good opportunity at the moment.
Perfectly located in pedestrian downtown district.
5 mn walk to metro and busses.
Wonderfull Breakfast served only in the room with "real" fresh orange jus and very good coffee.
Owners are also very kind with is a real plus !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F J, Gérant at Hotel des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you enjoyed the recent refurbishment.
We have done a lot to modernise and renovate this wonderful located Property. We will be glad to see you very soon at the Hotel des Arts Toulouse.
Very best wishes from all the team!
Franck Jaulneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
599 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
706 reviews
Jacobins
Hotel des Beaux Arts
Hotel des Beaux Arts
#40 of 130 in Toulouse
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
943 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,267 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 1 B rue Cantegril, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Wilson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the musee des Augustins, 3 minutes walking from de Capitole, the Hotel des Arts is surrounded by the most elegant boutiques in the historical part of Toulouse. The renovation of the Hotel des Arts has been given to Arlen Munro. The refine contemporary furniture and the subtlety of the colours highlight the warmth of the brick toulousaine. Each of the 12 rooms and junior suites has its special theme in relation with Art : Music, Sculpture, Cinema, Fashion, Photography, Comic Book... Do not hesitate to contact by phone or email to book your stay! We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing