We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for short stay”
Review of Hotel Castellane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Castellane
Ranked #104 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Hotel Castellane is an easy 10 minute walk from the train station. At check in, the receptionist was curt, but efficient. The reception area is quite small and basic. My room was on the first floor, overlooking the street.
The room itself was small, but clean. There were twin beds, and there wouldn't have been much room to move around for two people. The pillows were of the small square kind. The bed was comfortable though.
Many reviews have mentioned noise from the street, and when I got to the room it was noisy, but when I closed the outer windows that lowered the noise levels considerably and I heard very little after that and gad a good night's sleep.
The bathroom was clean, but the shower was the over-bath type and there was neither a shower curtain/screen nor anywhere to fix the shower head, so you gad to hold it over your head to shower. Not a very comfortable way of showering and it could easily have been solved. I didn't have breakfast, which cost around €8, I think.
The night I stayed there was a group of about 30 schoolchildren staying in the hotel, so I guess that means it's safe.
There are plenty bars and restaurants in the area,
I paid €60 for the room, which I think was very good value, considering its location in a quite touristy city. I wouldn't recommend it for long stays or for anyone who spends much time in the room. But, for a short stay, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luchtsiuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you're looking for accommodation that doesn't fry your credit card and is close to the City Centre then you need to take a look at this Hotel. As you'd expect at the budget end of the market, the rooms are basic and on the petite size. However, the hotel is very clean and the reception staff very helpful. This is more somewhere that you just use for sleeping after exploring the city than expecting to relax in your room. I would use it as a base to explore again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were driving across France with our family and needed a place to stay for one night. The receptionist at the hotel was fantastic, she spoke english and helped us find a secure parking spot for our vehicle with a tall car top carrier. There is no elevator, but we were able to get our things up to the family room just fine. The room had a bunk bed, and two more beds and a couch on the first floor, the upstairs of the family room had a larger bed and the bathroom.
We were able to walk into town and find a place for dinner very easily.
We were worried that noise was going to be an issue when we saw a bar across the street, but thankfully we all slept well and noticed no noise.
We would stay at this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked the hotel for last minute overnight stay in Toulouse from the internet via Booking.com. The location is good, walking distance of sights and plenty of nearby restuarants, the Reception staff were lovely, spoke good English and let us have our room at 11am hours before the official check in time, and parking is available for a price across the road. The room was adequate although the bathroom is tiny, with only a hand held shower over a small bath. It wouldnt be suitable if you had mobility problems or were very tall.
But across the road are two bars which even on Thursday seemed to go all night with people spilling out onto the road. The mess in the morning was evidence of the party that occurred.
We mentioned this on checkout and the Receptionist did offer coffee to make up and suggested next time we ask for a room overlooking the courtyard! Our room had double double glazing, which shows how noisy it was!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I just come back from a trip to Toulouse and with my husband, we discovered this very nice place that I recommend greatly. It is furnished with good taste, not expensive at all and the hosts are great people!

If you feel like discovering the south west part of France, this is a great place to start your trip: you will have a good starting point and the breakfast is excellent! Thank you Ido and Jean Christophe! We will come back and loved our Gite (Gite des Vaches)

Room Tip: We had the Gite de la Vache which is excellent value for money and we saw all the rooms. I loved la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.
Mon équipe et moi-même sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations, elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin que la prestation que nous vous apportons réponde aux mieux à vos attentes.
Savoir que nous avons pu contribuer à vous faire vivre un agréable séjour est une belle récompense pour nous.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir une prochaine fois, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed two nights in Catellane hotel, and that was our first time there.
Although we liked it, the room was too small for four people in two double beds.
I've booked it by booking.com, and according to the room description, it wasn't supposed to be so small.
Before going, I've read some reviews with complains about the noise. Now I can say that it wasn't a problem at all. The location pays it. It's in a walking distance from almost all turistic sites in Toulouse and there is a Carrefour very close.

Room Tip: Ask the room size before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klettenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions vivement d’avoir pris le temps de nous laisser vos impressions lors de votre séjour. Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez apprécié notre hôtel. Cependant, nous prenons note des bémols sur la disposition de votre chambre, et faisons notre possible pour améliorer notre prestation. Au plaisir de vous voir lors d’un prochain séjour.

Je vous prie d’agréer, chère Madame, cher Monsieur, l’expression de mes salutations distinguées.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Second time we stYed in this hotel. Its centrally located in a quiet street with indoor parking quite close by. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in the old post office building of Toulouse. Good restaurant just down the road and around the corner called Le Bouchon Lyonnais.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame, cher Monsieur,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire sur le Forum Trip Advisor à propos de notre établissement.

Nous sommes très sensibles à vos compliments. Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir reçu, si vous souhaitez revenir dans notre établissement, merci de nous contacter directement a la réception.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir une prochaine fois, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Cousture Hotel
#71 of 130 in Toulouse
110 reviews
Wilson
Wilson Square
Wilson Square
#86 of 130 in Toulouse
107 reviews
Wilson
Royal Wilson
Royal Wilson
#45 of 130 in Toulouse
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ambassadeurs
#83 of 130 in Toulouse
193 reviews
Belfort
Best Western Hotels Les Capitouls
Wilson
Hotel Ours Blanc Wilson
Hotel Ours Blanc Wilson
#48 of 130 in Toulouse
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castellane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castellane

Address: 17 rue Castellane, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castellane 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castellane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing