We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the centre of Toulouse”
Review of Hotel du Taur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Taur
Ranked #56 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location in the centre of Toulouse”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I have stayed twice in the last two weeks. It was right in the centre of Toulouse. The price was good, however when you add the cost of the multi-storey car park, I should have stayed at the holiday inn airport. The hotel is old and it showed, however it was clean and I got good night sleeps (rubbish TV channels). If you can see past the deco, the staff are friendly in their own way and it is good value for a central location. Would stay again. Great pubs and kebabs in the local area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    121
    46
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
86
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Pros - Good location (very near from underground and on the corner of the main square of the city). friendly staff. Cons - wifi just in lobby-area and very old lift. And the very uncomfortabely stair to lift - if you have big and\or heavy luggage, it's not very convient.

Room Tip: I recommend to ask a room not on the third floor. The second floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena_A-Doni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel is only 15 metres from Place du Capitole so very convenient to restaurants, bars and shops. There was a Christmas market on the square during my stay - fabulous.
The reception is up a flight of stairs with no lift - not uncommon in Europe with its lovely character filled hotels.
Hotel was clean, room small but adequate with a renovated bathroom.
Breakfast was extra and consisted of the usual continental choices.
Staff friendly and helpful and speak english.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimsn_petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Though very centrally located in Toulouse, this hotel is quite horrible. I stayed in a room that was not heated and even the water was hardly even warm. The bathroom was a real horrible experience and even the very friendly staff did not make things much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ares65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast (bread, cheese, Nespresso coffee, orange juice, jams, croissant, fruits, meat), very clean, not noisy but downtown. Friendly staff and they told us about a good restaurant (la regalade) which was amazing.
Tip : choose a 3rd level room, they're renovated. Some have showers and others baths, so if you have a preference you should ask for it. We could go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I picked the Hotel du Taur for the price and the location. Both were reasonable, but there are also definite drawbacks to the hotel. I realized that it was only a two star hotel, but had no idea that you had to climb up a stairway to the second floor to reach the lobby. The rooms were clean and adequate, although mine faced an airshaft that let in some light and adequate air, but certainly didn't qualify as a view. I had breakfast the first morning, and it seemed OK, but I found it easier to get something at a cafe or patisserie afterward, because the price seemed a bit high for what I was getting. Service at the desk was spotty. I kept getting different information, and the degree of helpfulness and friendliness at the desk was quite variable. They do offer a nice computer with printer for short-term guest use, and there's wifi in the seating area. It was good for a first visit, but after walking around I think I'd try other hotels in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get one that faces the large courtyard closer to the Capitole Square. I was able to see seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel du Taur for 4 nights and couldn't have wanted a better hotel. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. The hotel was conveniently located for the centre of Toulouse and there were many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. I would happily use the hotel again if I was lucky enough to have another trip to Toulouse.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
882 reviews
Le Grand Balcon
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
547 reviews
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#18 of 130 in Toulouse
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfort
Hotel Heliot
Hotel Heliot
#20 of 130 in Toulouse
316 reviews
Wilson
Royal Wilson
Royal Wilson
#42 of 130 in Toulouse
210 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Taur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Taur

Property: Hotel du Taur
Address: 2 rue du Taur, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Taur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Taur 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Taur is recovering its beauty... Be seduced by the cozy cocoon and the rooms overlooking the Place du Capitole. In the historic center of Toulouse, the elegant facade of a 19th-century mansion houses the Hôtel du Taur, a serene bubble offering rooms with a warm and comfortable atmosphere for your tourism and business stays. Ideally located at the corner of the Place du Capitole and Rue du Taur, a stone's throw from the many cafes and restaurants of the hyper center, close to the Saint-Sernin basilica and the Garonne banks, Allows to discover Toulouse on foot ... The Hotel du Taur is recovering its charm. New atmosphere, new room where reign charm and elegance for a stay in the heart of Toulouse. Enjoy new rooms overlooking Capitol Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Taur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Taur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing