We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic nights sleep but no facilities within hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Privilege Hotel Mermoz
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic nights sleep but no facilities within hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

When we arrived at the hotel for our midweek in toulouse we were not very impressed with the location due to it being in a more run down street but we didnt feel unsafe. The service from the staff at reception is good but they were not very quick off the mark with breakfast time, each day we had to request cutlery, mugs and glasses.
The receptionist is also the bar steward so you need to get their attention whenever you'd like a drink if they're not too busy, we used the bar a couple of times and there was never anybody else there but they still managed to run out of wine... we couldnt believe it as we thought 'this is france!"
The rooms are very clean, sumptuously decorated and the bed is large and blissfully soft and comfortable i could have just spent my week in bed instead of worked, i'd have been happy with that. There is only one english television channel so on the quieter evenings there was no option to watch anything other than CNN. There are no facilities for leisure or evening meals so you need to venture out for entertainment but a 5 minute walk up to the centre and you're right in the hub of a lively, busy area full of restaurants, bars, brasseries and cinemas etc. The best things about this hotel is the comfort of the rooms and the helpful ladies at reception so for simple trips i would reccomend it if you are not expecting to stay in the hotel other than to sleep. Value for the money it costs..?? no.... i'm glad i wasnt paying!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    127
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
109
14
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We unexpectedly decided to visit Toulous for one night. We consulted both the Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor. We chose this hotel because it was close to the railway station. Wow!! What a find. The reception staff were marvellous and extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very well appointed and the hotel was within easy walking distance to the major sights. We felt safe at all times walking to and from the hotel. If I went back to Toulous I would definately stay at the Mermoz Hotel. We did not use the dining room and therefore I cannot comment with regards to the breakfasts. Toulous was a wonderful city and in hindsight I would have spent more time here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the Mermoz for 2 nights in July and were really impressed. The location was within walking distance of the train station and I can see why some have commented that the area was kind of seedy. I never felt unsafe though. The hotel is set back off the street through a lovely tiled courtyard that makes you feel you are away from it all. We didn't hire a car as it was just a city break but managed to walk everywhere - I did notice there was underground parking available however.
The hotel room was nice, a bit of an odd shape but nicely decorated and spotless. Air Con worked brilliantly and there was an in-room safe. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in in a hotel and the room was lovely and quiet. The bathroom was all marble with a shower over the bath, but it was a great shower with fantastic water pressure. My only gripes were probably that we had expected a view of some sort - we ended up being at the back of the hotel looking out over a wierd plastic roof thing covering who knows what! It also advertised satellite TV with international channels which were not available. These were only little niggles though and did not have a significant impact on the stay.
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the quality of the food but the staff were excellent. All were professional, friendly and multi-lingual so jumped in when my pigeon French faltered! Would definately stay there again and have already recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swordfish017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We found the Mermoz to be in a somewhat seedier area of Toulouse that what we hoped for. We still felt safe walking to and from the center of town, but I would not have picked it, or recommend picking it, unless it was important to be within the walking and luggage dragging distance to the train station.

The decor of our very small "execute room" was less than basic and disappointing for the 135 Euro spent. I note that there was some remodeling going on and so maybe there will be an improvement to the overall motelish environment.

We spent one night to essentially recuperate from a long, transatlantic flight before hiring a car and moving on to the Dordogne. I would not recommend this hotel for anything more complex than an overnight.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mermoz for one night in October. We chose it because the Guide Routard said that it was nice and that we could get a discount there if we showed them the guide book. However when we arrived we got the last room available and so the hotel refused to give us a discount. We paid 125 Euro (plus parking), which seemed expensive for what we got.

Our room was average size, a little tired but perfectly okay. The decor is vaguely art deco (more obviously so in the public areas). The bed was very firm and the pillows weren't very nice. The hotel had run out of towels so we only got one bath towel and four hand towels. Incidentally after we left the next day, we realised that we had forgotten something and went back (around 4.30pm) - our room was still as we left it. So I don't think they clean the rooms daily, which seems kind of strange. Our room had a safe but it needed a separate key which we weren't given. There is a secure carpark underneath, which you access from the hotel.

The location is so-so - about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre. If I were to visit Toulouse again, I wouldn't stay in that area again if I could help it. It felt quite seedy, with prostitutes on the streets etc. It's probably perfectly safe, but I wouldn't have wanted to walk around the area on my own at night. In the daytime, it was fine. There is a small general store across the road and a very nice boulangerie down the street.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

A very charming 3-star with a theme based around the famous aviator of the hotel name (news to me!) and the city's rich heritage of aeronautics. The decor is a bit seventies but the gives the place a cosy retro feel. The rooms are comfortable, clean with pleasant enough bar/restaurant and non-corporate staff. A short walk to the centre.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We booked this hotel for a busy weekend, when the rugby world cup was on. We had specifically requested 2 twin rooms (for 4 friends) and were disappointed when arriving late in the evening to find we had been given two doubles (and the beds aren't that big!). All the rooms were full so there was nothing to be done that night. The next morning when we packed up our belongings (having been promised twin rooms for our second night) the day manager seemed to think that he had a bigger problem than we did, and was pretty rude to us. We stood around reception while he rang various rooms asking if people were leaving that day - not a great way to run a hotel. Luckily, by the time we came back later that day, we had our 2 twin rooms and a better night's sleep. The rooms are ok (actually the showers are great), the location is ok, but the attitude of the manager (or perhaps he wasn't - he said the manager was overseas and could not be contacted!) left much to be desired. We asked for, and received, a discount on our first night's stay, but at no time did this man apologise to us. We heard others at the hotel had the same problem ( a group of 4 guys). Perhaps a better reservation policy would help this place.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank clikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Best Western Hotel Athenee
#16 of 130 in Toulouse
756 reviews
Hotel de Brienne
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Hotel Mermoz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Hotel Mermoz

Property: Privilege Hotel Mermoz
Address: 50 rue Matabiau, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Hotel Mermoz 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toulouse, only a few steps away from the hustle and bustle of the Capitol square, the restaurants and luxury boutiques, the Privilege Hotel Mermoz welcomes you in the haven of its peaceful patio and private gardens.With its ideal location, this 4 star hotel is the perfect base for a business trip or to explore the city and discover its rich architectural and historic heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Privilege Hotel Mermoz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jean Mermoz
Jean Mermoz Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing