We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Toulouse”
Review of Le Grand Balcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Balcon
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a "privilege" room which was decent size with 3 high windows overlooking a relatively quiet street (we noticed that rooms overlooking the small courtyard were very dark, although possibly even quieter). The room was made in soothing earthly tones, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom practical and, in our case, quite spacious. There is a nespresso machine in the room, with free capsules, and free soft drinks in the minibar. Location cannot be beaten, being just around the corner from the main Capitole Square. As noted by many previous reviewers, the hotel staff really stands out: they are efficient, always smiling and can provide you with very reliable recommendations on where to eat and go out. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and loved it! The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel itself was very lovely and in a great location. Plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. If we find ourselves back in Toulouse which I hope we do we will be staying there.

Room Tip: Spacious room & bathroom. Comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anh1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our room in le Grand Balcon was the most spacious we had in a three-week-plus trip to southern France. Its classic exterior belies its very contemporary interior; those looking for old-world charm may be disappointed; otherwise, I found it a luxurious respite from more typical European lodging. I must note that along with the comfort and style that this hotel affords comes a higher price than the average that I paid elsewhere, but not by all that much; and I consider it a great value. I should also add that when I describe the interior as "contemporary," I don't mean that in the sense of sterile or mundane; le Grand Balcon proves that modern does not have to mean charmless.

The staff was professional, friendly, and accommodating, though lacking in the special attention one can get at a smaller hotel.

The breakfast was spectacular, no skimpy Continental breakfast here! In addition to real nutrition, there were special extras such as vitamin supplements, including even "Happy Pills," presumably some sort of anti-depressant, but hardly needed in such a pleasant environment.

The room provided Internet access for those traveling with computers or smartphones, and an excellent TV, including a couple of English-language channels. There was a writing desk as well as other tables, and there were easily accessible outlets for recharging one's electronic devices, shavers, etc. There were no actual computers available for guests; however, reception was happy to print out our airline boarding passes for the next day.

The location was outstanding, but that had the one drawback of making street parking almost impossible. There is, however, a parking garage underneath the very close-by Place Capitole, not inexpensive, but OK. Note that for the non-European driver such as myself the approach to the garage is somewhat intimidating in that one has to navigate rather narrow streets and then drive on a plaza where one would at first think one should not.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, which probably helped to keep it very quiet in spite of its proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarylandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is located in a perfect area of the city, walking distance to everything!! It is across the square from the The Grand Ballroom Hotel but tucked just inside the street to avoid some of the noise from the square. The rooms are very modern looking and clean. Don't let the dark hallways fool you, the rooms are elegantly decorated with interesting lightening options. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pillows and bed are quite firm, but still fairly comfortable. The TV offers a large range of channels in many languages but only 2 English news channels. They do not offer in room movies, but have an iPod docking station to play your music. One limitation of the rooms is the counter space he: the sinks in the bathroom and main room are very small pedestal sinks without any substantial counter space around them. It's hard particularly in the bathroom to find a place to even put your soap down, let alone avoid slashing water on the floor. The main room sink has a counter next to it which is more convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Great location, very nice modern upgraded hotel,
Do not eat breakfast in hotel, not worth the 18 euros /person, there are lots of cafes across the street from the hotel.
Park in front of the hotel and they will give you a paper saying you belong to the hotel, no need to go searching for parking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We booked a privilege room with breakfast through a last-minute website so paid 50% of the rack rate. We were thrilled with the room - loved the nespresso - and it's ideally located just off the main square in the heart of the old town. The breakfast was also paticularly good. Come Satuday night though, we were woken up continually until dawn by shouting, whistling and singing revellers. Ear plugs are a must unless you have a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

After reading good review about the Grand Balcon and also in relation to the great location I booked two nights in a Deluxe room. We arrived at the 12 o’clock and a very friendly receptionist informed us that the rooms was not ready but that we could leave the luggage at the reception and return late. A few words about the hotel staff, from the receptionists to the housekeepers they were extremely friendly and helpful to provide information about the city (restaurants, what to do, etc.). We got room 414, as soon as I entered in the room I realized that the hotel has upgraded us form the Deluxe room to a Suite! The rooms was simply amazing: very wide and with a superb with over the Capitole Place (the main Place of Toulouse). I have nothing to complain about the room, everything was fine (a sofa, a Nespresso machine, a desk, a king bed, a very good bathroom with “L’Occitane” products, etc). The only negative thing about quality sleep was the noise: as you are in the center in the City in the night we heard young people drunk singing, the garbage truck that come early morning, the bars on the Capitole Place, etc. This is not a fault of the hotel, but it is sad to have such an amazing suite with this noise at night!
We had breakfast in the lobby bar, the choice is ok but in my opinion EUR 18 each person is too much, even if the quality was very good. Overall the hotel is really amazing especially for those who love the aviation (led lights on the aisles like an aircraft floor, pictures of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, etc.). A great stay and a very spectacular city!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
696 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,253 reviews
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#15 of 130 in Toulouse
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
936 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Balcon

Address: 8 rue Romiguieres | on Capitole place, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
#12 Business Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £99 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Balcon 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legendary Hotel from the 30's, LE GRAND BALCON re opened in its historical location in the center of Toulouse, Place du Capitole. Real embodiment of the french airmail history and its famous pilots, such as Saint Exupery, Mermoz, and Guillaumet. The design associates luxury and charm in a poetic yet modern signature evocating the dreams and the freedom of these pioneer pilots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Balcon Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing