We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”
Review of Le Grand Balcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Balcon
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I just wanted to tell you that I had a very enjoyable stay at the Le Grand Balcon! We have been travelling in Europe for about 3 weeks up until we arrived in Toulouse. I have to say, I was blown away by my first impressions of your hotel. The lobby was just like the website displayed - modern and contemporary in decor. When we got to our room, we were equally as impressed ! L'occitane amentines with Loewe TV and Nespresso Coffee maker. And the bed, it was the most comfortable bed my wife and I have slept in for all of our trips before arriving into Toulouse! The feature wall behind the bed with the clouds and also the quote from Antonie St Exupery on the exterior wall of the toilet.

Thank you for your warm hospitality. It was nice being back in Toulouse after nearly 30 years. Le Grand Balcon and Toulouse will always be special to me and remains the BEST hotel I've stayed in so far! We were very well looked after by you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kewpielovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

The style is modern. Clean lines, good lighting and ambience.

The service is poor. The reception staff multi-task! They park cars, provide room service, serve the breakfast etc. etc. On both nights that we stayed there was only one member of staff on duty to look after the entire hotel. The result is of course that service is very poor as one person cannot possibly cater for the demands of the entire hotel. In terms of specifics, 30 mins to park car, 35 mins for a bottle of water to be delivered to room, no room service available as he was parking someone else's car!

This is a great shame as it really is a splendid hotel. But at the price charged (we stayed in a delightful deluxe room on the fourth floor) the staffing situation is frankly ridicuous.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardDaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I stayed here with my parents in their 70's and 80's and we all loved it!
The theme of early aviation, clouds and design comes through all aspects of this hotel. We had fantastic service at reception - with fantastic english.
The rooms are exactly like in the photos you see on their website, very beautiful designed with comfortable beds, bedding and bathrooms (nice quality shampoo and soaps). I found the black painted corridors interesting, and since you never stay in them long absolutely ok, even liked the blue LED lights on the floor.
Just be aware if you like it absolutely quiet ask for a room which looks into the little courtyard ( a bit dark) but very quiet. It's a university town and if you like the windows open at night ( the aircon works well and they got dobble glaizing) it can get a bit noisy in the weekends.
Breakfast, which was included in our deal was a very good buffet.
We found it great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

This place is great. Recently reopened after a lenghly make over. Nice rooms, latest furnishings, perfect location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I just spent one night at the Hotel du grand Balcon, which recently reopened (Oct. 2008) after a total overhaul. I can't recommend it enough, especially given the other options in its category/price range. Here are my impressions:
Location: Pretty much perfect, right off the Place du Capitole, within easy walking distance to all city center and Saint Cyprien (Abbatoirs museum) attractions.
Check-in/check-out/general service: Everyone was extremely friendly and very efficient, eager to accommodate requests, etc.
Public areas: There is a bar and a breakfast room, both with a sleek, subdued design; both were pretty empty, though. Can't report on the breakfast, since I never understood the concept of paying 20 euros to get a croissant and a café you could get for 4 euros anywhere else.
Room: I stayed in a 'Cosy' room, which, true to its name, was on the smallish side. However, I thought it was very well designed, and it had all I needed without feeling cramped (note to business travelers: there is free wifi, but no desk, just a small coffee table and low armchair; for your consideration). The look is similar to the public areas - sleek, cool, but without annoying distractions or over-quirky design. The bed was wonderful (pillow top, good mattress and pillows), and the bathroom superb - spacious, sparklingly new, a full bath with a wide shower-head (great water pressure, too). Other features - flat screen tv with too many channels; a nespresso machine with complimentary refills (a nice touch), a minibar with ample space to store your own beverages. Very good light fixtures allow for great control (including those bluish reading lamps that don't disturb the person sleeping next to you, in case there is one.)
Value - I got a good deal online, and thought the price-quality ratio was great. The published rates for this room, though (155-180 euros) seem a bit much considering the size of the room. It's still the least pricy of the 4* hotels in the center of town, though that might change once the word gets out.
Conclusion: if you get a good price, go for it; if you feel like splurging, go for it. I plan to stay there again on future trips to Toulouse (which is a great, fun city).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kranzenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

the team charming, welcoming and helpful. they did a great job restauring in a design and modern style. the bar is cosy, perfectly placed in the heart of the city.
I loved the Nespresso cofee machine and free wifi.
if you like hotels with special charm, it is the place to be

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hamlet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Augusto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
696 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,253 reviews
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#16 of 130 in Toulouse
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
936 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Balcon

Address: 8 rue Romiguieres | on Capitole place, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
#12 Business Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Balcon 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legendary Hotel from the 30's, LE GRAND BALCON re opened in its historical location in the center of Toulouse, Place du Capitole. Real embodiment of the french airmail history and its famous pilots, such as Saint Exupery, Mermoz, and Guillaumet. The design associates luxury and charm in a poetic yet modern signature evocating the dreams and the freedom of these pioneer pilots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Balcon Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing