We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic staff”
Review of St Claire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Claire Hotel
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary in Sept 2013. The hotel is perfectly located in Toulouse-on a quiet street but close enough to walk to the main attractions. There's also a small carrefour grocery shop opposite the hotel for snacks etc.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable with lovely toiletries in the bathroom. We had a room several floors up which could be reached either by lift or stairs.

The staff here are incredible! They knew it was our wedding anniversary so they left a lovely gift of beautiful traditional soaps! Such a kind gesture. When we asked for cups of tea to be brought to the room they came with a slice of the most delicious cake!! Nothing was too much trouble-the staff gave us great directions to the nearby car park for our car and also arranged our restaurant bookings-they also told the restaurant it was our wedding anniversary so were we given complimentary aperitifs at dinner!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would like to say thank you to all the staff at this hotel for making our stay in Toulouse very special!

Room Tip: Fantastic staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheLittleWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I thought I had already submitted a review of this lovely hotel...but it wasn't there when I looked today. I stayed for two nights in December during the Christmas market in Toulouse. When I arrived on a rainy day, the hotel manager offered me a hot drink and breakfast while waiting for my room to be ready. I arrived around 10 am and did not expect to check in until much later, but they immediately took my bags to my room while I was having breakfast. Later in the day when I returned to my room, the manager (a different manager) offered me a hot drink, which I happily accepted since it was a very cold day! I was waiting for her to prepare my tea and she told me she would bring it to my room! I went to my room and in a short time she appeared with a lovely tray of hot tea. This hotel is very conveniently located to visit Toulouse on foot. The room was very quiet, with electric window shade that you could close out any street noise or light. It was exceptionally clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast room in the morning was very cheerful with lots of choices - each morning was a different type of homemade bread: banana bread, chocolate walnut bread, lots of jams, real boulangerie mini-croissants (not the kind from the grocery store), cheese, yogurts, honeys, more. The hotel manager was on site refilling the buffet and taking are of customers in a friendly way. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Toulouse - if I can get a room! I think once people find out about this hotel it will be necessary to book well in advance. Thank you Hotel St. Claire for a very cozy, enjoyable, friendly stay. The service was better than excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The St.Claire was perfect for us and our two nights in Toulouse, meeting our desire to be in walking distance to key attractions, comfortable sleeping arrangements and having hospitable hosts. I must say that we prefer B & B's to "normal hotels" and this one met our expectations in that regard. Olivier was a wonderful host, presenting us with a tray of 4 café au laits before the 4 of us set out to explore the surroundings. We received great directions on reaching our targets, e.g., Victor Hugo market.

The breakfast was wonderful (not included in the room charge, but worth the price) and started our days on a high note. We would definitely choose this accommodation upon returning to Toulouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seamag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The only positive I can say about this hotel is that the staff were very friendly and polite, but it is very small. I had to climb onto the very small double bed to go to my side of the bed, the loo was very small and just fitted between the bath and wall. The bed was uncomfortable and small, and the furniture and furnishings were bottom of the market. Cleanliness is doubtful with a heavy hessian floor, and the lift was tiny, just room for 2 without your cases. Avoid the breakfast as it was very sparse and the coffee was luke warm. Find another hotel at this price, and I suggest find a hotel with parking if you have a car, but city parking is expensive.

Room Tip: rooms with a '02 as our room was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simongee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were recommended to this hotel by a Toulouse friend, and we had a most enjoyable three days here. Having read reviews on Trip Advisor about the small rooms, we decided to upgrade to a "Supérieure" room - whilst this was also small, it had two windows on adjacent walls, so it gave the appearance of being light and airy.

What makes this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff - a welcome each time we walked through the front door.

There are some lovely restaurants nearby, and we particularly liked Le Bistrot which is well worth visiting. The hotel is a very short walk from Allées Jean Jaurès where there is a bus stop for the Airport Shuttle; and it is within easy walking distance of all the main sites.

Breakfast is fine, and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

We shall return when we are next in Toulouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A very nice place to stay
Location is convenient; an easy walk to public transport.
Rooms are simple and some of the rooms are very small (as advertised) but everything is clean and pleasant.
Staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent 3 day in this wonderfull hotel.The room was spotless with a very comfy bed.The staff very friendly and helpfull.Great Location with some very good resteraunts nearby.Cant imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit Toulouse

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Belfort
Hotel Heliot
Hotel Heliot
#25 of 130 in Toulouse
324 reviews
Taur
Hotel Saint Sernin
Hotel Saint Sernin
#43 of 130 in Toulouse
223 reviews
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Royal Wilson
Royal Wilson
#49 of 130 in Toulouse
220 reviews
Hotel Alize
#50 of 130 in Toulouse
85 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Claire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Claire Hotel

Address: 29 Place Nicolas Bachelier, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Claire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivier Couraud and his team look forward to welcoming you to the quiet and comfortable St Claire Hotel. They propose a personal and refined base for your stay in Toulouse. With a warm welcome, harmonious colours and soft furnishings, the hotel has everything you need ti ensure that your stay in Toulouse is a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your St Claire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing