We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally renovated” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Heliot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Heliot
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Totally renovated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here 9/24-26/13. It was like staying in a brand new hotel. All of the furniture, carpeting, bathroom fixtures are all new and beautiful. The a/c was also new and I needed it because the temps were in the high 80's.
The location can't be beat. It is walking distance from everything you need to see and the stop for the airport shuttle is a block away. So convenient!
Frederic, the owner, is wonderful and very helpful with recommendations for things to see and places to eat.

Room Tip: I stayed in a very large junior suite on the interior. It was very quiet with a view of the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klp330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    98
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
52
117
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel Heliot is very small, 12 rooms I think. Family owned. A few meters from Jean-Jaures metro station.
My room was a twin (single occupancy), very spacious. Rooms have been renovated, although some of the furniture shows signs of wear. Is a non-smoking hotel (most are now) but you can tell it was not, you see burn marks on bathtub and even the WC. French only TV Frederic speaks perfect Spanish (and English), a good thing since my French is very limited. Very, very, friendly welcoming. Check-in and out a breeze.
The hotel has character. If location is prime, this hotel is a good option. I found the bed to be a little short for me (I am 1.82 m, 6') but comfortable. I got a room to the street and it prove quite noisy even late at night (people shouting).
Good quality for the money and perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acisclo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful old building in a quiet street close to the city centre. The welcoming owner helped with advise on the local area and places to eat. We stayed in a family room which accommodated our teenage children well on the top floor. The room was at the back of the hotel and afforded us a few very quiet nights sleep. We did not have breakfast here as it was easy just to go out to us the many cafés in the area. Close to the Jean Jaures Metro station and bus routes meant that we used public transport for the whole weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building will be quieter, although the road that runs past the front is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is a great find in Toulouse. It is a one man show, owned and operated by Frederic....and his enormous cat Heliot, who only speaks French by the way!...the cat not Fred. The hotel has only 12 rooms, so it is a good idea to book early if you intend to go to Toulouse.
The building itself is old, but absolutely full of charm and character. The rooms are a good size...a novelity with economy hotels in France. The bathroom is spacious, clean, and surprisingly modern. The bed also is a large double bed, even in a single room.
Breakfast is the traditional `petit dejeuner,` croissants, freshly baked bagettes, yogurt and coffee, in very large cups. The small breakfast room is set next to large windows, looking out onto a lovely little garden, where you can chill out for a moment practising your French on Heliot the fat cat, & listening to Fred singing to himself in the kitchen while preparing breakfast.
The hotel is very central, within walking distance to practically everywhere, and great little bars & restaurants, including food of different nationalities....there is a good little Indian restaurant, just 2 minutes away.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, and I will certainly stay there again when next in Toulouse.

Room Tip: If you do not like exercise, ask for a room on the first floor, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozStanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I enjoyed Toulouse a lot, and my stay at Hotel Heliot was one of the main reasons. I stayed at Heliot for 4 nights, last week (Sept. 2012), and I felt like at home. Fred, the manager, was really kind and helpful, ready to help and advice about the city, he speaks French, English and Spanish fluently, so I can comunicate in my own lenguage and share many more things. Heliot, the cat, is big -well, really huge :)-, calm and friendly. The room was big, with high ceilings, has two big windows, and it was well insulated, so you can rest quite well. There are plenty of room around the bed, and the bed was big (double), and confortable. The house is an old one, but everything was clean and ready, and far from annoy me, the years give to the whole hotel a home like atmosphere, and charm. I particularly like the stairs, a nice wood spiral one, with a light forged rail, that maches perfectly with the mood of the house. There are not lift, but there are just 3 floors. I also enjoy a lot the garden, espetially at morning when I was enjoying my breackfast, since the opposite wall is all a big window, so you can see through the nice tiny yellow and pink roses and the ivy and other plants, and if you are lucky you can follow to Heliot the cat in his morning walking. The garden is casual and share the mood of cottage gardens, with empty pots and pieces of these pink bricks that gives the nickname to Toulouse (The pink city). It was unespected, but it is a gem, ... just like a secret garden.
The breackfast was simple and tasteful, croissans and bagette almost hot, served early in the morning by the backer, so it is nice. The coffee was made by Fred, and everything served by him, the breackfast was like the zem moment, for my in a work trip, but it would be the same if you are there for holydays.
So if you are looking for a design, impersonal, sterilised hotel, well the Heliot, is not for you, but if you love the hotels with character, charm and a friendly and familiar attention, Heliot is for you.
I recomend this hotel, and of course, I would stay in it when I come back to Toulouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Great location just minutes from the centre.

Personal welcome, very friendly.

Room was quiet, well equipped, but yes may be seen by many as quite run-down, could do with modernising but given i wasn't there for long i didn't mind too much. Shower could've definitely done with an upgrade.

Good value for money all things considered.

Stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_BAR_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I thought it is only fair to write this review after reading some unfavorable reviews on this hotel. I just would like to say that we did thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in December 2010. We had a very enjoyable in Toulouse and absolutely love the food on offer in Toulouse. The owner was most welcoming and helpful. The room we stayed in is basic and the bathroom was clean and spacious without any extras one would expect from 3/4 stars hotels. We did mind climb the stairs and we see it as our daily exercise before and after breakfast. I agreed with one of the reviewers that he or she found the settee cover dirty but this is to be expected in most hotels and it didn't help with a calico fabric. It would be good to have some space for storing things instead of the hanging trays in the wardrobe. Granted our room is on the dark side but we only sleep that and besides it was winter. But these are minor things and they did not spoil our stay. We certainly didn't find the place dirty or smelly. The breakfast we had was always good with fresh bread and hot coffee, and the price is reasonable.

We find the location is extremely central, everything is within walking distant. We would not hesitate to stay at Heliot again. We are cat lovers and were delighted to have the company of Heliot.

Y Milford

Room Tip: Adequate space to move around; space to store ones luggage; clean with reasonably comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Gabriel Péri
St Claire Hotel
St Claire Hotel
#12 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#5 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Pullman Toulouse Centre
#2 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#6 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heliot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heliot

Property: Hotel Heliot
Address: 3 rue Heliot, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Belfort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#4 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Heliot 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming non smoking 2 stars hotel is an old family building of the beginning of the last century with large rooms.Located in a very quiet street, in the heart of Toulouse.You will be able to move quickly and conveniently to the economic and business centers of the region, as we are situated nearby the subway, the station, airport shuttles, and parking lot Jean-Jaures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Heliot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliot Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing