We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, original, tasty”
Review of Les Sales Gosses

Les Sales Gosses
Ranked #9 of 1,825 Restaurants in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$21
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trendy, original, tasty”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this restaurant with the original childhood theme. There were a lot of references I did not understand on the menu as these are items that are from a French childhood, still I thought the quality and of the dishes were very high standard.

Some of the dishes are quite heavy, I think I should have asked for advice from the fairly friendly waiters, and I was a bit disappointed with the scallops as they were really quite overdone. But overall, a cosy restaurant, great with friends, reserve early, and enjoy the very tasty unlimited homemade bread!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    185
    36
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceedingly quirky and delicious!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This cheerful, quirky restaurant takes you back to the happy and careless days of childhood. And It's well worth the trip: you'll find traditional or more modern dishes, with unusual combinations of flavours or ingredients (I recommend the goat cheese and basil ravioles, yum); the menu is avried and changes regularly. Taking that trip is, however, no easy task: it took us 4 tries before we could get a slot! The restaurant is as small as it is popular (a dozen tables at most) so you will need to book ahead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Almariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I have been wanting to go for a few weeks now and finally got there. Reservations are necessary even for lunch, as several parties were turned away. There is a lunch menu with a wide variety of dishes on it. I enjoyed a soup with chestnut purée and a poached egg. My plate was a pintade with fresh vegetables in a ginger cream sauce. Quite tasty, and the bread was a homemade vegetable quick bread that had great flavor and pieces of onion and chives. Wine list was good with several selections by the glass for reds, whites and rose. Service was quick, and overall great. Room is a little small, so it felt a little stuffy when I first arrived, but it was also a rainy day, so the door was shut.
I will go back again for dinner and try a few other things

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MPA033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Back to school anytime”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Firstly thanks to the other reviewers, because otherwise I don't think we would have ever come across this little restaurant. We were also very lucky to get a table. We arrived just before opening time and the staff were having a meal on the footpath. They told us if we came back right on opening time they could fit us in. The little restaurant was packed. Obviously the locals love it.
Our waiter's english was not great, but he took the time to explain. When there was one word he was stuck on, he went to the kitchen and brought back a piece of licorice to show me. So I ended up eating duck with a delicious licorice sauce. We had the menu and every course was a delight. Beautifully presented. Any Sydney restaurant owners reading this - take note. No need for flashy surrounds and snobby waiters. Just concentrate on creating beautiful food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rennyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A great find.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We tried this place on the strength of the reviews and because it was close to our hotel (Pullman). We didn't book and were lucky to get a space on the pavement on a warm evening. I would seriously suggest booking as lots of people were turned away as they were full. The menu was what I would call "modern French", i.e. classics with a twist. Great food. So good we came back again during our stay. Probably the best food we had in our week in Toulouse and we did eat well. The neighbourhood around the restaurant is quite residential but full of great little eateries and bars so a good atmosphere in the summer and not touristy. Definitely one to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Sales Gosses also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Les Sales Gosses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing