We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Special Occasion”

Restaurant de L'Hermitage Gantois
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurant de L'Hermitage Gantois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 1,554 Restaurants in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$51
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“For a Special Occasion”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We dined there on 1 Jan, as there were no other restaurants open. We had the set menu at 52 euros. The meals was excellent and the selection and choice of wine, suggested by the sommelier, first class, if expensive.

The experience is quite formal, but lovely

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surrey 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    62
    33
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not as great as the hotel”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The menu reads well and is classical french food with a few twists. The room is very interesting and one can imagine the old hospital beds that would have been there. However; it was more of a miss than a hit with us. There was a mix up with one of our main course orders so the meal was very slow and the flavours of both my starters and main course were OK but nothing special. This is a very pricey restaurant and it didn't live up to our expectations. The puddings were lovely and that nearly made up for it. Lille is full of sensational restaurants and we found we could get better food at a better price elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had the tasting menu for lunch and found it to be very good indeed. The service was prompt and the waiter informative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pantonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

short walk to centre of town, very helpfull staff, great food.will be staying here again. the hotel dates back to the 15th century when it was a hospice. standard rooms are good.the bistro is good too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rina-menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent. A chance to look nice for a meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The food and service were special and we have a wonderful meal. We were hosted by a French colleague's boss so I'm glad my mother taught me good table manners. Wow

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank northstarvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant de L'Hermitage Gantois also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant de L'Hermitage Gantois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing