We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin d' Alix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Jardin d' Alix
Ranked #6 of 39 Lille B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely big house in a quiet and beautiful garden setting; kind and charming hostess; delicious breakfast; luxurious and peaceful room. In a perfect spot too: the tram goes straight to Lille and, in the other direction, to Tourcoing, where you can take a train to Belgium for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    59
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
110
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyons, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay that feels like a country home just minutes from urban life near Lille; this is the place for you.
When you arrive in the beautiful garden, you already feel in a place meant for peace and quiet.
The welcome from the hostess is warm, however non intrusive. A delight for those who enjoy home life however do not want to be reminded of their teenage years, when parents were watching your every move.
I would have enjoyed reading books and sipping tea both in my room or in the garden, however I was there for business, so there was little time for leisure. I managed a couple of morning runs near the canal which was another perk of the location.
Breakfast was delicious with home baked cakes and jams.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margny-les-Compiegne, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

It was our second stay at Alexandra’s, and as for the first time we went there, we really much appreciated the lovely house, the garden and the quietness at night. We had a relaxing stay, favoured by Alexandra’s warm welcome and discrete presence. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast with the home made brioche and jams. For our next trip to Lille, we definitely will stop by The Jardin d’Alix.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

“Never judge a book by its cover” is the quote that springs to mind when I think about my experience at this hotel. Equally ambiguous and equivocal was the accommodation. The Internet pictures are very misleading. You park your car at the end of a shared drive and have to walk past un kept gardens carrying all your luggage to reach the house. The pictures show beautiful ponds and terrace areas to enjoy the gardens, unfortunately this very far from what you actually get. There is no such terrace area to sit around and the pond is covered up.

The rooms are basic and minimal, the toilet smells, the bed is uncomfortable and NOT a double. On further investigation we found that the mattress was being supported by bricks, rather than a bed frame as you would expect. The bedding and towels were not fresh and looked filthy. The room is advertised as offering tea and coffee making facilities however we struggled to make tea and coffee as no milk or spoons were provided. At night the room was full of mosquitoes, if I had known this would be the case I would have packed repellent. There was no designated breakfast as shown in the picture, the breakfast was below standard and consisted of just jam, which even this was below par.

The place lacked any form of hospitality and we found it farcical that the owner begged us for a good review upon our departure. We were due to stay here for 2 nights but due to the state of the hotel we decided we would rather lose money than have to stay there another night. Despite our complaints we were disappointed not to be offered any refund or compensation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NainaReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Three of us stayed at Le Jardin d'Alix in July 2103. We had the 'suite' which was 2 rooms connected by a shared bathroom. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was modern and the shower excellent. Our hostess provided home-made cakes and breads for breakfast with home-made jams, all of which were lovely, washed down with fresh, strong coffee. The B&B is on the tram route into Lille and is extremely convenient for visiting WW1/WW2 sites whicih is what we were doing. The B&B is a short distance from the main roads up to Ypres and across to the coast. The B&B is set in the most beautiful gardens and there are 2 outside dining areas. There are restaurants a short drive away, but we preferred to 'picnic' each evening in the garden. Our hostess had thoughtfully provided a fridge for the use of guests. Plates, glasses and cutlery etc were all available for use too. This is a lovely place to stay, particularly if you want ot be away from the bustle of Lille. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: There are 2 double rooms in addition to the suite. They appeared to be more recently 'updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxthecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a first choice for bed and breakfast if you're looking for somewhere just out of the hustle and bustle of Lille. Just by the tram which makes everything very easy and cheap to reach, Le Jardin d'Alix is set, as the name suggests, in a lovely old house in beautiful grounds away from the traffic. The accommodation (we had the very smart Picasso suite) is everything you could want and if you like home-made breads, jams and cakes (and who doesn't) you'll love the breakfast which is set in a very pretty kitchen. This gave us the chance to meet and chat with other international guests who all had interesting stories to tell. Alexandra is a charming hostess who gives you all the welcome and advice you could possibly want. We stayed three nights and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Ms Hudson's home is a beautiful house in the smart suburbs of Lille. My husband and I loved our stay and our six-month old loved the carpet in the room to crawl about on.
Breakfast was a feast of homemade breads, brioches and jams - delicious! The house is about 20 mins from the centre of town. A really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maison d'Hotes Lille aux Oiseaux
0.0 mi away
La Maison du Champlain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A la Maison du Heron
A la Maison du Heron
#1 of 4 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Esplanade Lille
L'Esplanade Lille
#3 of 39 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et spa
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et...
#1 of 1 in Sainghin-en-Melantois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin d' Alix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin d' Alix

Property: Le Jardin d' Alix
Address: 45 B rue de la Marne | Tourcoing, 59000, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive garden district of Lille, this house of luxury stands in the midst of a huge garden filled with mature trees and rose bushes. The historic center of Lille is very close thanks to the nearby tram. There are off the street parking facilities and a Wifi. Gourmet breakfasts with homemade jams and pastries are served in antique china ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin d' Alix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing