We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Le Meunier

Le Meunier
Reserve with
Le Meunier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #496 of 1,511 Restaurants in Lille
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This restaurant is right next door to the Lille train station and offers a wide range of dishes for a good price. My partner and I had mussels, snails, steak, pork chops and a dessert and we found every dish to be served quickly and was very tasty and well cooked. The staff, although not very good with English were very helpful. Really nice restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    70
    34
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gwaun cae gurwen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Competitive Prices”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Situated a short way from Lille Flandres station and only a 5 minute walk from Lille Europe Station, and with Rue Faidherbe and its shops leading to city centre just up the road, it has the advantages of a most convenient location.

This advantage is supported by a menu that provides a range of reasonably priced choices; carbonnade flammande and other regional dishes being well presented,
very well cooked and ample in size.

The service is friendly, and given the understandable number of diners, attracted by the quality of the food and the prices, up to speed. The clientele is predominantly locals or business folk on way to or from station - in itself a good recommendation. Folk who
know a place are less likely to fall for over priced tourist traps, and like all cities, Lille has these.

Have been coming to Lille for a number of years and never miss having at least one meal here, and have never had a bad one. In modern days, that is something.

















well

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK but nothing specail, not bad not 5* either”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Picked this restaurant out as being reasonably priced (for France 2011) and getting lots of good reviews. The food was average and that is the most important thing. The tarte tatin flambe had burnt pastry for example. Maybe it is 5* for Lille (which really is not a great place and NOT worth a visit), but not overall even price considered. Eating in France nowadays with the poor £ exchange rate is not the experience that is was. It was a quiet day and fairly early when I visited so no comment on atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebringmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An OK'ish experience. Nothing special.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It wasn't as good as I had hoped from all the reviews. Average fare albeit in the tradition of the area. Reaonable menu and options.

I had the Flemish Vleisch Potje ("meat pot") which turned out to be cold pickled meat with hot chips. Awful really! My wife just packed up laughing when it arrived, knowing my gastronomic conservatism. Her food was good however.

Will look elsewhere tomorrow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This was a good choice in Lille for a very good dinner experience. Only the adults in our group went (the young and older kids went to a nearby restaurant for pizza), although there were 4 kids at a table next to us who were enjoying their meals as well. We enjoyed the sole, mussels, steak tartare - the menu is very extensive. The service was very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToTheBeachInSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Meunier also viewed

 

Been to Le Meunier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing