We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep walking!”
Review of Le Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Napoleon
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Northants
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Keep walking!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We only had a meal in the Napoleon - glad we weren't staying there, even if it is convenient for the station. The staff were very friendly but the meal was truly poor - I'm sure mine had been re heated several times, and my husband's was just a large quantity of melted cheese poured over a slice of ham. It's not often that that I seek out something to take the taste away - this was one of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    26
    19
    18
See reviews for
10
49
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Positive: Location to the train stations. Everything was clean even though very worn and dated.

Negative: It started off poorly. We were doubled billed for the hotel before we even left for our vacation - hadn't even slept there yet. Booking.com is trying to resolve it and the hotel said they would. We booked a room with an extra bed (a cot with an extra fee) and were told we were upgraded. That was good though I don't know what we were supposed to get?! There was someone smoking in one of the rooms close to ours which filled our room with the smell as well the smoking from the patrons downstairs (this hotel is over a bar/restaurant) so it was hard to leave the windows open. Most of the hotel staff didn't want much to do with us. While I feel enormously guilty that my French is limited, we did try. Their website advertises that they speak English but only one person would. The money we saved staying here would have been better spent somewhere else. Pay more and stay farther away from the station - close also means we were close to the metro station, which was the hang out for night crawlers - which isn't really much past midnight in France.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soissons, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. It is a really good location, across from the station. There was a slight mix up with our room but they gave us a free coffee while they sorted it out and upgraded our room. The room was nice, really good shower. The people were very friendly and the cafe downstairs was always busy. For the price, it was really convenient and we had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed overnight en route to Avignon, and it proved to be a good choice in a very convenient location. Typical old French hotel, slightly quirky, with the lights going out on occasion. Booked through booking.com - can't seem to book direct with the hotel.

Reception in the busy bar, and convenient for train stations and no problem leaving luggage; we didn't leave until 1830 the following day.

Comfortable bed facing the side street, and could see our friends' reflection in their window directly above ours in the mirrored building opposite! Good sleep, and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaWales_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Le Napoleon for the weekend of the Braderie de Lille- an extremely busy and noisy weekend. The hotel was comfortable and clean, room was small but adequate. The staff were friendly in the bar below the hotel but were 'rushed off their feet' despite the additional staff employed for the Braderie. We ate in the hotel on one evening, food was lovely but choice was very limited, again due to the Braderie (most restaurants have a limited choice of MAINLY MOULES during this particular weekend).
The hotel is in an ideal location, right opposite Lille Flandres station, and minutes from Lille Europe, and close to the city centre. It would be perfect for visiting Lille any other weekend but during the Braderie there is music, dancing, singing and drinking in and all around the hotel all night! We would definitely stay here again, just not the first weekend in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The first impression is not of a hotel but a sort of B&B as the hotel is located above a bar and the reception is set up in a corner of this. After the check in and taking a tiny lift (the building is an old one) we were glad to see that the room had a decent size, our bathroom was very big and everything looked really clean. We saw a second room of another couple travelling with us and their bathroom was much smaller, though. Rooms look newly renovated and even though it´s been done in a budget way, the stay was very comfortable.
This hotel is right above a busy street. In our case noise was not a problem but we were on the 4th floor. Perhaps lower rooms will not be as quiet because the isolation of the windows didn´t look that good.
Overall, I think that this is a good hotel, especially if you are just looking for a place to spend one or two nights just with the basics and for a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floors to avoid noise from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great location, clean and comfortable, big room, spacious bathroom (I'm 5'10 and had heaps of room to stand up in the shower), friendly staff, fab bar and restaurant downstairs, good price.... really ticks all of the boxes!

If you need to find something to complain about (in an effort for full disclosure) then it's on a very busy section of road so there is noise (you'd be daft to think there wouldn't be). The mattress was also quite hard which I loved but some people mightn't like it. The elevator sounded a bit wheezy so I used the stairs but I don't particularly like elevators anyway. The stairs are slightly awkward as they're an old spiral set but it's an old building so it's what you'd expect.

It is located directly opposite Gare de Lille Flandre and less than a 10 minute walk to Gare de Lille Europe. Heaps of little bars and restaurants line the streets as well as great boutiques and shops. Food was great in the bar downstairs which is an old school pub, not a ritzy wine bar.

I really loved it and was only disappointed that I only had the one night as was on the early train back to the UK. I could've happily stayed for a few nights as it would make an excellent base for exploring Lille.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threemules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#68 of 106 in Lille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel balladins Lille
Hotel balladins Lille
#56 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Maurice Hotel
Saint Maurice Hotel
#49 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Lille Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Faidherbe
Hotel Faidherbe
#88 of 106 in Lille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Napoleon

Property: Le Napoleon
Address: Place de la Gare | 17 Place de la Gare, 59000, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Napoleon 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to bar, hostel, restaurant the NAPOLEON. We are open 7days per week, all year long. We have 19 renovating rooms, with shower, tv and free wifi access. We are located next town center, and in front of stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Napoleon Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing