We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and kind restaurant”

Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour
Ranked #59 of 1,547 Restaurants in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vieux Lille 4
1 review
“Nice and kind restaurant”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I've visited here with my friends
We are student, so we went to lunch there which is only 17€. Although my French was bad and we ordered the cheapest set , the waiter was so kind to us. Also the meal was superb! I'd like to visit here again.

Helpful?
Thank sunw00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    95
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise dinner!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Worth the travel. Not only very good kitchen, but a nice, warm atmosphere.
It's all about the taste.
I will definetelly visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Ioana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“to be surprised at a fair price”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we were 3 persons to go for a nice dinner. and what a surprise ! it started with the menu card , where only 3 types of menu's were being presented . trying to obtain some more information about the contence of each menu, the lady of the house, I presume , remained very mysterious about it, in fact told us nothing, only asked if there was something which we disliked . as we did not know what we were to expect, we really had difficulties to choose from the winecard.as solution , we trusted the lady of the house and choose for letting us discover the wine by the glass , being served by each plate(and each time a different wine). time went by before we know, but we can only say that we left the table , really satisfied surprised (bit a big S) and all this for a fair reasonable acceptable price. for those who really want to let them surprise or discover various tastes for a fair price, a place to recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Came here because of Tripadvisor reviews and rating. It was the worst meal I have had in many years - anywhere in the world. Not just awful food but wine and service too. Maybe there has been a change ownership or something, but I would steer well clear if I were you. A total waste of money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MmmmGrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise Menu and Surprise Service make for poor value”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We booked this restaurant after reading the other positive reviews and from a local recommendation. First issue was the wine menu where half the wine selections were "crossed out" by hand. Unfortunately for us, the crossed out selections were the better wines. Next, the menu was presented as a "Menu Eyes Closed" meaning Chef's surprise menu where one person chooses the menu option (3 or 4 courses) and their likes/dislikes and all diners get the same thing. There was a vegetarian among us so the server asked if fish would be alright. And only fish is what we got - for each course. The portions were small, flavourless and void of even a garnish, such as the occasional vegetable. Overall, we were disappointed by the whole experience beginning with the unapologetic waiters about the poor wine selections, to the totally unimaginative menu. Perhaps the Chef was having a bit of a surprise off-night himself?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DivineVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing