We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Lille
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice very nice”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive down from Amsterdam and were pleasantly suprised at the newness of this place. Ample parking on site a very friendly reception staff welcomed us. The rooms are spacious very modern and the huge beds were a very welcoming site after such a long day. We went for dinner in the restaurant but after discovering there were no english menus we decieded to opt for the buffet which was a little disappointing to be honest. But hey overall the place is well worth a stay especially if you are a business traveller and the added addition of a casino attched would appeal to many.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Manager Hotel at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Markhusted,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback following your recent journey at the Hotel Barriere Lille. I am delighted, you enjoyed your stay and we met all your expectations of a great hotel (spacious and modern room).

I had shared with my whole team your great and rewarding feedback, which encouraging us to keep on providing such high standards of service to all of our guests.

I thank you for recommending the Hotel Barriere Lille, and I am looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    304
    79
    20
    6
See reviews for
103
621
33
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Isa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed over the Christmas period 2011 and the Hotel was very busy. However the reception we recieved from check in to our departure could not be faulted. The Staff should be commended. I was particularly thankful when I required a French/English Translator. We booked the Hotel via Booking.com and recieved a very good accommodation rate. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. We had our own vehicle, so parking availability was a priority. This could not be faulted. Parking was easy and this is unusual for European parking Stations. The Hotel is centrally located, being across the road from the Eurostar/Lille train station as well as being a 10 minute walk into central Lille. I would hiighly recommend this hotel and it will be in my "To Stay" list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Claudia

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its services ! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on the acces, parking and quality of accomodation.

We take your remarks with a great consideration and that we continually work with our team to improve day by day the quality of service for our guests

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lille !

We wish your a very happy New Year 2012 !

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was a business trip after travelling by Eurostar so this hotel is very conveniently placed only a minute's walk from the Lille Europe train station. Also only a couple of minutes' walk away is a good-sized shopping centre. Central Lille is about a 10 minute easy walk.

From the outside, very modern and contemporary looking. From the inside, exactly the same!

Staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Rooms very modern, immaculately clean and fairly spacious - even the standard rooms - but the deluxe rooms are a little larger. The double glazing is very effective at blocking traffic noise from the busy roads and railway lines outside of the hotel. The bathrooms are a very modern design and the showers are lovely. Enormous bath tub, so allow plenty of time to fill it! Nice selection of quality complimentary toiletries.

Beds are wide and extremely comfortable. I stay in hotels all over the world for work regularly and this has to be one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

Air conditioning was easy to control and responded quite quickly when I reduced the temperature of the room.

WiFi connectivity was problematic on this particular stay, but upon enquiring at reception about this, the issue was quickly and easily resolved by the excellent reception staff.

Two-course buffet lunch was very reasonably priced and with an excellent selection of food to choose from. Similarly, the buffet breakfast the following morning was also extremely good, although perhaps a little pricey at more or less the same price as the lunch buffet!

The bar was very pleasant, although the sofas were not terribly comfortable. Staff very professional and friendly and attentive. Nice selection of nibbles (nuts, olives etc) as well!

All in all a very good hotel - I like staying in such a nice place! It makes the time away from home and the long hours travelling much more bearable!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Angela,

First of all, the entire team of the Hotel Barriere Lille would like to wish you and your beloved ones a very Happy New Year !

Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments on our hotel and its services! It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us
Your enthusiasm is highly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We are delighted to notice that our hotel stays for you among the best hotels in which you stayed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed after christmas- Lille was buzzing on the day before christmas eve but quiter on new years eve itself. This was our first visit to the barriere hotel as it was not here when we visited our previous 2 stays, a few years ago. It is similar to many other quality chain hotels but very comfortable rooms and bathrooms with an enormous bath (you need to ask for a beth or you may just get a shower instead, as we originally did).This also had a massive drench shower above. The bed was the most comfortable I have eve slept on , ours included. Same for pillows- I have been checking all the pillows in john lewis but none are as comfy as the ones they use here. We paid a brief visit to the casino but found it disappointing- the slots are run using a ticket system and I has no idea what I was doing- that said I managed to quadruple our stake so I suppose that was a positive outcome!The atmosphere was very flat.We didnt even bother with roulette as the cheper tables were inundated with students and we couldnt get near them.The rest were 5 euros a chip- too much for it to be fun for us.We did nt est any meals there so csnt comment. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, refreshed at evening turn down, as was the mineral water. Very impressed at the price we paid on an internet site. Parking just nder the hotel, very reasonable and secure.

Room Tip: You need to specify if a bath is a requisite- you may end up with a shower only.Most rooms should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to learn that the comfort of the room and our bedding pleased you.

We deeply thank you for all comments and recommendations.

We notice that you won in our casino and we are delighted.

Looking forward to the pleasure to welcome you again, and we wish you a very happy New Year 2012 !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We managed to get a fantastic deal at this hotel with breakfast included by phoning late in the day on our day of arrival.
We were extremely pleased and surprised at the luxurious room which were allocated on the 9th floor with floor to ceiling windows giving us great views over the city of Lille. With state of the art TV uber contemporary furnishings, fabulous bathroom with king sized bath we were wonderfully comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant, despite being a little expensive at entry level menu 30 euros each, but enjoyed the food enormously. Breakfast was taking in our room and we were very pleased with both the quality and variety of items brought on beautiful and stylish trays with gorgeous crockery and linens.
We went into the Casino for our complimentary glass of champagne but left without drinking it because we were not over comfortable there. Despite this and the fact we found the wifi slow, we would go back there in a heartbeat and would recommend it to all who visit Lille.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

A great location only a few minutes walk from the centre of Lille and the Eurostar station this modern hotel was welcoming and friendly with all of the facilities you could want.

Spotlessly clean, the rooms were a good size, well equipped and quiet. The young staff were polite, helpful and very friendly - always a bonus. The restaurant served food of the highest standard, beautifully cooked and presented.

My only disappointment was the attached Casino which I found to be a bit "tacky" and full of generally scruffy young men. The staff here also lacked the professionalism and finesse we experienced in the hotel and at times seemed quite brusque. It just didn't come up to the same exceptional standards set by the hotel.

I would not hesitate to visit the hotel or restaurant again but I won't be hurrying back to the casino.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley50150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear guest,

It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied by our service and enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Barriere Lille

Concerning the professionalism of our staff casino, we inform our teams of your comments to set up the necessary measures to improve our quality of service.

We are looking foward to your next visit in Lille

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is a lovely modern,clean and friendly hotel,situated close to both the town centre and the train station for Eurostar.The rooms were immaculately clean and very spacious, no road noise and very little from neighbouring rooms.It had the friendly feel of a much smaller hotel.Breakfast although pricey at 18 euros was very good and did offer hot items.
In all i would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorinaocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Guest,

The team of the Hotel Casino Barriere Lille is delighted to have contributed to the success of your stay.
We thank you for your compliments on the arrangement of the hotel and our services.

We are very flattering that you recommend our hotel and let us hope to see you soon

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.6 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#2 of 107 in Lille
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 107 in Lille
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Property: Hotel Barriere Lille
Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten-minute walk from the city centre and close to the TGV train stations, Hôtel Barrière Lille, in imposing glass, is situated in the business district of the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region's capital, a central point between Paris, London and Brussels. With chic materials and modern textures, Pierre-Yves Rochon's décor is enhanced by the glass walls of the new Hôtel Barrière Lille. Quilted leather, lacquered furnishings and luxury fabrics create an ideal setting for a peaceful night's sleep. Hôtel Barrière Lille has 300 Slot Machines, 20 Games Tables offering traditional and electronic games, a renowned Theatre, a Wellness Centre, a gourmet restaurant, a contemporary brasserie and several themed bars. The Tourisme & Handicap label meets the needs of people with disabilities so that they can benefit from an efficient and adapted service. With this label, the Resort Barrière de Lille is committed to making every effort to promote the accessibility and the reception of the specific clienteles and distinguishes itself thus by its role of ambassador of the reception of the handicapped public ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing