We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, clean, and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Lille
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here due to convenience to Eurostar and conference centre. A bit imposing at entrance where you walk in a see the reception desk right in front of you with uniformed staff. However, just that little bit further from the old centre. Rooms was slightly smaller than expected, but comfortable and clean. Bathroom had modern frosted glass doors with gaps. Nice amenities and free water, tea, coffee daily. No complaints except minibar was charged for 2 items never used, although fixed at check-out. Slightly expensive. Would certainly return especially if we could get a "deal' !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Mister Alebuff,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in our property.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do apologize for the extra charge for the mini bar which hopefully has been fixed immediately at check out.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Me and the missus went to Lille for a romantic weekend. So where better to stay than the #1 rated hotel in Lille. We managed to get a room for only a little bit more than what the 3* chain hotels down the road were charging.

The city is really easy to get to from the Dover/Calais ferry. It takes just over an hour, and the road to Lille and the Hotel is well signposted. You don't really need a sat-nav to find it. You'll know the hotel when you see it, its like a giant metallic and glass cheese wedge. Once we got to the hotel car park at around 11:00am, we went off and explored the city as our check-in time was 3:00pm.

Once we had looked around the city and the missus had taken some selfies with some sheep at the nearby petting zoo, we returned to the hotel at around 2:15pm to check-in. Our room wasn't quite ready so we were offered a drink in the bar. Me and the missus ordered two hot chocolates and payed 12 euros. A lot of people on here complain about how much everything costs in the hotel. Your paying for 5* standards and 5* service, so if your not a High-roller, don't stay in a High-roller hotel. There's plenty of hostels if you want a cheap drink out of a vending machine.The hot chocolates were gorgeous by the way, and they came with complimentary chocolates. We sat and drank and i laughed at the missus trying to string a french sentence together. The bar was very clean and modern, a very nice area to be.

Once our room was ready, we were shown upstairs by the lovely lady behind the desk. She took my bag for me and showed us all of the gadgets and amenities in the room. She even gave us a detailed map of Lille and circled where all of the best restaurants were located. She was doing this out of the kindness of her heart, as after showing us round and a lengthy discussion about the city, she refused a tip.

The room was very nice, very modern, lots of gadgets, and the air conditioning system keeps the room at the perfect temperature. The double bed is smaller than the ones you get in british hotels, so if you do like l'Mcdonalds and l'Kentucky Fried Poulet too much, you may not fit on it. This was not a problem for us. We slept really well, and nothing woke us during the night. There was one small patch on the carpet where they forgot to clean, but we did not complain about this.

There is a spa in the hotel, but no swimming pool. However, the baths in the rooms are about half the size of a swimming pool, you could easily fit about 5 people in the bath (if thats your thing). The bathroom and toilet doors are just glass dividers and do not lock, so if you don't want your missus walking in on you taking a dump wearing nothing but a shower cap, make sure she is asleep first.

The hotel is about a 4 minutes walk away from the edge of the city, close to a bigass shopping centre and some decent restaurants. On the Saturday night we ate at a lovely little pizzeria, which the name escapes me (i will find it, so i can post a review, because the pizzas were out of this world) It is also close to Lille train station, so if you would prefer to take the Eurostar here, you may do so. There is a huge Carrefour supermarket about 3 minutes away, so you can stock up on any thing you don't have, or don't want to pay for out of the minibar.

You are given free bathrobes, and free slippers, that we did indeed steal. And lots of other little touches that just make your stay that much enjoyable. The television has a jukebox built into the hotels media centre, you can also plug your laptop or iPod into these too. The blinds are remote controlled, however we left them open as the views were really good from the top floor.

We can't really comment on the rest of the hotels activities. There is a Theatre, iBar, Spa in the hotel. There is also a massive casino, that i did not have time to try out (i definitely didn't sneak out while the missus was asleep)

Overall, we had a really nice stay, we were well looked after and the hotel let us use the car park while we looked round Lille, even after we had checked out! The city is beautiful and theres plenty of stuff to do. There is a huge market on Sundays in the old part of town, that easily kills 3 or 4 hours. So if you want a nice weekend break The Hotel Barriere is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David59777, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Danny S,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is an ultra modern hotel at the back of the Eurolille shopping centre and just over the road from the Eurostar station. The 5 minute walk from the hotel to the front of the station/shopping centre is a bit unnerving in the evenings but the remainder of the walk into the city if fine. It is about a 15 minute stroll to the centre of Lille. The hotel is a gigantic glass triangular structure which also houses a casino and theatre. At night it is spectacular as the entire building is bathed in blue light.
Unfortunately this hotel is more about style and glitz rather than practicality and I would not rate it as a 5 star

Public areas/restaurants/bars/food - 8/10
The hotel has 2 receptions, one for hotel guests and one for the casino and spa. There is an ultra-modern breakfast area which doubles up as a daytime brasserie and there is a formal dining room on the first floor. There is also an outside pavement terrace but with little or no view as the adjoining land is surrounded with 2 metre high painted hoardings. There is also a bar area just off the reception. The adjoining casino also has its own café bar. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and there was an excellent choice of food every morning. However the hot buffet of scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon etc was only lukewarm most mornings with food left to wallow in large heated dishes and certainly not 5 star. No sign of a chef cooking fresh eggs, omelettes or pancakes as I would have expected


Bedrooms - 7/10
We had a very large triangular room next to one of the suites on the corner of the hotel. One entire wall was glass from floor to ceiling giving a very good, uninterrupted view over the city roof tops and station. We were on floor 9 and I guess rooms at a lower level would have been looking at the adjoining buildings. The room had a large and very comfortable bed, a couple of chairs, coffee table and a desk/worktop along one wall with a TV and mirrors over it. Tea and coffee making facilities were free of charge along with free Wi- Fi.
Unfortunately this room has been designed for style and looks rather than functionality. There is only a very tiny wardrobe and no drawer space so most couples staying for more than a couple of nights would find themselves living out of a suitcase. Also although there is a large mirror along one wall on either side of a large TV it is more for show than functionality as much of it is covered in a floral pattern and the only proper parts of the mirror have very poor lighting next to them. There is no full length mirror in the room (Looking at on line photos of other rooms many of them had twin basins and also appeared to have illuminated pedestal mirrors near the hand basins)

Bathroom - 5/10
Once again this room is more about style than practicality. It only has a single hand basin, most unusual in a 5 star establishment, and the loo is also in the same room. There is a shower room with very poor drainage which flooded over into the main bathroom area if the shower ran for more than 5 minutes. There is no shaving/make up mirror and the lights for the basin mirror are overhead causing facial shadow when shaving/applying make up. The bathroom had a glass wall and a glass door with a gap of about 150mm at the bottom and it could not be locked. This means the bedroom is illuminated by the bathroom light but also when using the loo anyone in the bedroom can hear your every single bowel movement!!!


Staff 9/10 –
All the staff in this hotel that we came across were excellent - very polite, friendly and knowledgeable. Some of the best we have ever come across in our travels

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or you may be overlooked by office staff or students from the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Earwigo32,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay in our propertty. It is always a pleasure to receive our guests feedback.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

That is why such a detailled feedback as yours will be very usefull to us to improve our services.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the dysfunctions you pointed out.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

AREA:
Oddly located toward the back of the shopping centre near the Lille Eurostar station so awkward to find initially but thereafter easily accessible if a bit of a walk (which we don't mind). Generally quiet area.
HOSPITALITY:
Arrived early at 2.15 pm and politely asked if early check in was possible which we were told was not but please return at 3 [English speaking staff a plus!] We took up suggestion to sit in bar's outside area to have a few drinks while we wait. Ended up having a great conversation and got back to reception at 3.30 ...where we were told the room was still not yet ready. The reception area was quite full at this time and people were waiting to be shown their rooms. Shown to room at 3.45 but upgraded to Executive which was an acceptable apology as this came with complimentary non alcoholic drinks from the mini bar.
ROOM:
Large and lovely with lots of natural light through floor to ceiling windows. Excellent king size bed in my top 3 of best hotel beds ever. Well stocked mini bar with non alcoholic drinks like fresh juices amid sodas + tall bottle of Evian. Double person bathtub in spacious bathroom. Strange set up with toilet in hallway directly opposite entry door and bathroom 6 meters away behind the toilet - and no sink in the toilet to wash your hands; you'd have to go all the way back to the bathroom to wash anyway. Towels a bit tired. Plush bathrobes though. Better than standard slippers with proper cushioning instead of just a paper sole. Well sound proofed, soft carpeting and large TV.
DINING:
Breakfast was a strangely manic and disorganized affair - at 50% capacity. Empty serving trays for eggs and bacon left for over 25 minutes (we went back and checked). Drinks service table stocked with 2 fresh juice dispensers, glasses, still and sparkling water plus a Nespresso machine - but no cups and no milk so we took ones from our table outside (mugs, as our table had not yet been laid out with cups like some others) and came back. No water in machine so poured in some Evian then tried to catch someone to ask for milk... which took 11 minutes waiting at our table but no one arrived so I stood by till desk inside to catch someone. Staff were all manically trying to catch up: tables needing clearing and setting, buffet needed refilling, items needed bringing from other guests who had caught them for other things. Then a waitress started going around with a flask of coffee to refill cups which was not as good as the Nespresso, no thanks (why was it not just labelled for self service?!) Went back to Nespresso machine then had to stand by the kitchen door with earlier milk jug to ask for milk as no one checked up on us at our table, they still had no time to. The most shambolic hotel breakfast I have ever had. Otherwise: fantastic fresh fruit, yogurt selection, cold meats, pastries and bread.
FACILITY:
Casino on site, sauna but must have own bathing suit (missed out!) and large outdoor area for both restaurant and bar. Staff has only limited English - speak slowly and clearly, not loudly. Clean and well kept. Free wifi throughout hotel but very weak on 6th floor where we stayed. Free city maps from reception with restaurant and cafe guide column.
All in a all a good experience and best booked in advance with payment upfront for the best deals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Alexandra...

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I would like to congralute you for taking time to write such a detailled comment. Which is the longest and most detailled I have ever received.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the breakfast service that was provided to you. I assure you that we are sorry and we present our sincerest apologies for this unpleasant experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed two nights there and I liked it a lot.
The breakfast buffet is great.
The rooms are really beautiful & the beds are comfy.
The staff is absolutely nice & obliging.
I particularly enjoyed the tranquility of this hotel, the rooms are very well soundproof.
The only negative thing is that after a day out, we wanted to enjoy the sauna, but wearing a swimsuit is mandatory.
I never had before this kind of disappointment, especially as the benefits of sauna (ditto for the hammam) are far from being optimized if a swimsuit is worn.
Of course you can buy a swimsuit at the hotel, but we didn't want to buy one, so we didn't enjoy the sauna...
At last, If you like playing at the casino, you can reach it from your room, which is nice.

Room Tip: This hotel is super quite. We had a room on a main avenue, and we didn't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacadilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Peacadilly,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Barrière de Lille. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

As the sauna and steam room are freely accessible and as our staff is aimed to intevene we prefer not to give them the oportunity to see our clients undressed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely hotel, great rooms and a wonderful city.

the staff are excellent.

The casino was a let down.

15 minutes walk into the main town, through a roughish area, but it was ok.

Recommended as a great base for exploring Lille.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Located just a 5 minute walk from the Eurostar exit, this hotel provided a perfect location to explore Lille.

We stayed in a Panoramic suite on the 7th floor which was gorgeous. Very comfortable beds, fantastic rainfall shower and bathroom with views across Lille. Rooms were kept clean and room service was efficient and top quality. We had quite a few bottles of champagne as was celebrating and they arrived within 5 minutes each time.

Special mention to Zelda and Simon on reception who were very friendly and full of great recommendations for bars and restaurants.

When in Lille, we will always stay here.

Room Tip: Room 700 was great! Great views and a huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.6 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lille
Crowne Plaza Lille
#25 of 107 in Lille
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: £98 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten-minute walk from the city centre and close to the TGV train stations, Hôtel Barrière Lille, in imposing glass, is situated in the business district of the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region's capital, a central point between Paris, London and Brussels. With chic materials and modern textures, Pierre-Yves Rochon's décor is enhanced by the glass walls of the new Hôtel Barrière Lille. Quilted leather, lacquered furnishings and luxury fabrics create an ideal setting for a peaceful night's sleep. Hôtel Barrière Lille has 300 Slot Machines, 20 Games Tables offering traditional and electronic games, a renowned Theatre, a Wellness Centre, a gourmet restaurant, a contemporary brasserie and several themed bars. The Tourisme & Handicap label meets the needs of people with disabilities so that they can benefit from an efficient and adapted service. With this label, the Resort Barrière de Lille is committed to making every effort to promote the accessibility and the reception of the specific clienteles and distinguishes itself thus by its role of ambassador of the reception of the handicapped public ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing