We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical of any Novotel, and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Typical of any Novotel, and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

One Novotel is much like any other. In other words, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly reception staff. What's not to like? And the location of this one is ideal for exploring Lille. Just down from the Grand Place. Couldn't be better

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank giffnockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    490
    149
    41
    9
See reviews for
173
402
45
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Whilst this isn't a once-in-a-lifetime, stunning hotel I can't fault it. I stayed here for a few nights, at a very reasonable price for a superior room and was very impressed. I needed to do some work so the pull out desk was great - I also had a double bed and a sofa(bed).

As recommended by a number of the previous reviewers I asked whether I could have a room at the back but, thankfully, had already been given one. There was occasional noise of people walking on a corridor above but it didn't really cause any aggravation and the room was otherwise pleasantly quiet. The location is excellent with less than a 5 minute walk to the Grand Place - the Eurostar station is probably just over 10 minutes walk.

I ate in the restaurant once and the food was pleasant enough; nothing out of this world but again, no problems. It was very quiet for the duration of my stay but I can imagine in the summer it would get very busy (with indoor seating for about 20 people) though there was also outside seating. As there was a mini-bar fridge in the room, with nothing but a couple of complimentary bottles of water in I decided to do a DIY breakfast each morning and went and bought a baguette to my room. Breakfast wasn't included and as I was travelling alone this seemed like a far easier (and cheaper) option.

The reception, bar and restaurant area of the hotel seem surprisingly small for what seems to be a reasonably large hotel and maybe there was an area I missed but, again, as it was quiet whilst during my visit it didn't cause any problems.

The one thing which is worth noting, which again didn't cause a problem but could have is the fitness centre - to call it is this is a bit of stretch - 1 running machine, 1 step machine, 1 bike and 1 weights machine - that's it. Thankfully only once when I went down did anyone else come in but there were then 3 of us which made it quite awkward, like a game of musical chairs, when there were only 4 machines. Like everything else at the hotel though, it was clean and well looked after.

All of the staff were also friendly and I very much enjoyed my stay. They also offer the option of a very late checkout (4pm for me) for €30, if you are getting a late train of have any other reason to retain use of your room - I think this may even be free on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel was good for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostnomaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Lille as a part of a Great Rail Journeys Organised weekend touring Flanders and the Somme. As it is in between the two areas it was a good place to stay. The food was ok and the rooms were spacious and comfortable, but very noisy. Also, the bar service was not too good as the staff were doubling up in the evenings to serve food as well. We also lost draught beer one night, and of course, being a city centre hotel everything was expensive. But those niggly things didn't really detract from the purpose of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy. The street outside is very small but constantly bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We revisited Lille again after our first visit in November when we went for the Christmas market. We chose this hotel again as it's 5 min walk from Grand Palace, there is parking round the corner from the hotel which costs €11 per day. The rooms are what you would expect from a city centre hotel, my 4 year old son was happy sleeping on the sofa bed and the staff gave him a colouring kit on arrival that kept him quiet in the room but in reception they have an Xbox 360 kinect. Sadly on this visit they hadn't put us in a room with a sofa bed so had to go back and get that sorted and the room we were in was facing the street so couldn't open the window due to the noise of traffic, the room also seemed a little dated- in need of a deep clean or fresh coat of paint, I only say this as there was a cigarette odour, the carpet seemed dirty and the bathroom had a bad smell coming from the drains. As we were only staying the one night we didn't want to change rooms again. The breakfast was good and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoskinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Ange S, Responsable réception at Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Hoskinda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us the feedback about your recent stay at Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place.
All the points you raised have been carefully noted and shared with our concerned team.
Although we are glad to hear that you found the breakfast good, and our staff friendly,we can't help to be very concerned that a few things were not up to your expectations and we are very sorry for that.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, which help driving us for improvement.
Best regards,
Marie Ange SAGNIEZ
Responsable Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is nice, modern and clean. The staff are very nice and they go out of their way to make you comfortable. It's worth noting that it was hot at the time we visited in March and we needed the air condition, but like other hotels they only switch the air con on when its summer days. The room we stayed at was spacious 510, not noisy and has a sofa, two arm chairs and a double bed. You are able to use the fridge (check if the content is for free, as we found out at the end of our stay). Also you can buy milk for the little ones and use the fridge for free. There is a near by shop where you can buy food if needed. (it was on the main road). The hotel reception area also has an xbox kinect which the kids and Men seem to love :). The breakfast was also reasonable. they had two types of cheeses, fruits, cereals, pastries, different types of tea, milk, meat, eggs and sausages. You will find something to eat for sure. The place seems a little understaffed, however they were always happy to help and serve when needed.

The zoo is worth visiting if you have kids, other than the fact it's free, you can also enjoy the use of the near by playground (slides and swings) and that seems to keep the little ones busy. The area is clean and the people are very friendly. One thing worth knowing that the city does smell of sewage. So expect it in the hotel room, on the street and wherever you go. but it certainly won't ruin your stay and it tends to be on and off, so you wont have the constant experience of this.

I really enjoyed my stay at Lille, the people were super friendly and they always tried to make my son comfortable. The location allows you access to small shopping centers, as well as the one near the euro star. I found it interesting that there is no souvenir shops like you expect in any city. It's mainly boutiques and chain shops such as Zara and h&m. There is a MacDonald which the kids seems to love. PAUL seems to be everywhere and they offer amazing pastries and sandwiches.

The location is perfect because we were 15 mints away from the zoo, 10 mints from the euro star, 10 mints from the shopping center, 5 mints from the restaurants. The walking distance would be a lot less if we didnt' have a pram :)

Room Tip: room 510 is perfect.. spacious but no window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Ange S, Responsable réception at Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Seorocks,

What a nice feedback you gave us here!! So great! Thank you very much.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards.
Marie Ange SAGNIEZ
Responsable Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel last week with my son for two nights over half term.
the hotel is well located clean but very basic and noisy in the morning.
we asked for recommendations for children activities and although the staff was friendly they were not very knowledgable and have sent us out of the centre to poor and very pricy activities.
when we complained they addopted the approach of "sorry there is nothing we can do". not good enough! will not return or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.3 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
#7 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place

Property: Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Address: 116 rue de l Hopital Militaire, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lille
#7 Green Hotel in Lille
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place is a 3 star hotel in the heart of Lille, close to the Grand Place and the old city. The hotel offers 104 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a bar and four meeting rooms for your conferences and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Lille with your partner or family. Guests also enjoy the benefit of a gym and a secure public car park adjoining the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Grand Place
Lille Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing