We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toon en Riet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Only the bed was bad, but all the rest makes it worth staying there: good service, nice staff, good breakfast, right in the middle of the city of Lille with parking place in front of the hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We thank you for having taken time to announce us your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel.
My team and myself sums very sensitive to your appreciations, they encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the service which we bring you answers at best your expectations.

We are sorry that the bed altered your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel Mercure.

Sincerly Yours,

Delphine baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a good short break hotel situated just two hundred metres from the two main squares and 10 minutes walk from the Eurostar station. Our room was comfortable if basic. It could have done with a better range of drinks on the free tray, esp. English tea and more milk given the popularity of the city with Brits.
We did not use bar, just breakfast buffet which was very good and very full. We thought it expensive ( 17,90 euros each) until we saw the prices in the city - French inflation has been consistently higher than GB.
Friendly & efficient staff.

Room Tip: No obvious location - all rooms look out over main streets but upper floors have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzerJC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear BazzerJC47,

Thank you for taking your time to post your kind comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel .

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place.

Best Regards,

Delphine Baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a very compact room. Comfortable bed, quiet position (Room 306),fridge with drinks and safe. Clean. Reception staff were very helpful. Superb position in the centre. Good buffet breakfast.

Downsides leading to only 3* -
1. no dinner. There is a self service system where you can take items from the fridge and microwave - filling in your own bill. No good if you arrive tired from travel at 9pm and don't want to try and find a restaurant. Surely a hotel of this level should be able to provide a proper dinner.
2. Paper cups on tea tray in room. No milk provided, only evaporated milk which tastes bad in tea. Milk and tea weren't replenished after first night so had to bring them up from breakfast buffet.
3. No fish at breakfast (normally there is fish for French/Belgian border hotels) but you could find a tin of sardines in the fridge in the buffet room!!.

Note. Our shower room had an area of the ceiling that had holes in it and rained on you - operated by a button pull out by the tap. Not obvious, so look out for it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear aberdeenjohn ,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place. We are appreciated for having taken your time to share your experience on Trip advisor. .

Your feedback is very important to help our hotel’s reputation building among the hotels in Lille.

In the pleasure to receive you there again.

Faithfully yours,

Delphine Baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beaut spot, right in the centre of Lille. Lots of cafe's, shops, the Opera House, all very close.
The room was tastefully decorated. All very retro style, and modern too.
Spotlessly clean. Our room had all the amenities. was nice and quiet.
Staff were helpful and well mannered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear LindaChapman,

Thank you for taking your time to post your serious comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s Lille location.

We still hope to give you a warm reception once again for your next stay in Lille.

Best Regards

Delphine Baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very central hotel ,clean rooms and staff that couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of food - some hot. if you don't want to eat out they have a buffet style honesty room where you help yourself and fill in a form of what you have had. Situated in a quiet location near the Opera house and the old town this hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Von7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Von 7_11,

Many thanks for this nice and complete description of your recent experience in our hotel !

I shared your nice comments to my team, who was very happy. Our Guests' satisfaction is our priority.

It is true also that our location is generally appreciated for tourism or business.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again in Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place for your next trip in Lille !

Yours sincerely,

Delphine BAUDRY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location with some great views of the clock tower and next door to the opera. Rooms were very clean and had a great boutique style look to them. Staff were all very friendly and the downstairs lounge area was very comfortable and well furnished. However, be warned as there is no 'proper' bar! You can ask for drinks and a member of staff will magically appear and produce them for you! This confused us at first and clearly some other guests too! In my opinion a bar would give the lounge area a focal point that it is currently missing. However, as long as you are aware of this I would fully recommend this excellent hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hats112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Hats112 ,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comment about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s location and services.

All our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients ; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Lille and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Delphine Baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Having stayed here previously, when it was The Opera, I was very happy with the 'new look'. Hotel was spotless, lovely bed linen, excellent breakfast, helpful and friendly staff (especially our chambermaid, who was so friendly and nice (we were in rooms 306 and 321 21 to 24 March)- both very nice rooms - my single room was very comfortable indeed. I would gladly choose this hotel for a stay in Lille - very central, too.

Room Tip: Think they are all pretty good - all have little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Rozdav,

I thank you for choosing the Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place for your recent stay in Lille.

I am delighted to see that your experience reached your expectations in terms of comfort as well as service quality.

I have been very happy to share your positive feedback with the entire team.

Awaiting for the pleasure to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Delphine Baudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
#1 of 5 in Marcq-en-Baroeul
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 107 in Lille
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place

Address: 2 boulevard Carnot, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £71 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hundred-year old hotel in the heart of Lille. Near railway stations, the Opera, the Grand Square, the Beaux-Arts museum and the Convention/Exhibition Centre. Bar and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lille Centre Opera Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing