We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Lille
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in a twin room. Great room with a lovely balcony. Nice big walk in shower and very clean. Very friendly people working in the hotel. Good breakfast and if I needed anything they were happy to help. Perfect location in the middle of everything. Close to the old town and grand square. I really can't fault this hotel. Very modern hotel and nice to sit downstairs with a glass of wine. If I ever visit Lille again I would stay at this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Marley R R,

Thank you very much for your very good comment, further to your stay in the Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place.
Such returns encourage us to continue still and still to satisfy you!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon,

Kind regards,

Delphine baudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    512
    222
    58
    13
See reviews for
108
447
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My mum and I stayed here for three nights last week in the one 'suite' the hotel offers. (In other hotels it would be a junior suite, one bedroom a lounge area with sofa bed and bathroom.) We did enjoy our stay but there were a few things that did not go so well/could have been better.

Our check in time was 12:00, but when we arrived at 13:30 the room was not ready which was a disappointment as we had planned to get settled and get on with the trip. When we did get into the room we did like it, it is modern and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was enormous. We couldn't for the lives of is figure out the sofa bed, despite both having one, but maybe that's just us. A member of staff arrived to pull the bed out and unfortunately it remained out for the duration of the stay, so we didn't have the lounge area we had planned. The second day the room was not made up and we had to request for it to be done.

There was never enough/any coffee for th machine. We went to reception to request some and were told it would be brought up, we waited and it wasn't. I called and after an hour to chase the coffee and then finally after over an hour, coffee. So we ended up buying capsules for the machine from Hema! We also had to hide coffee cups in our cases as they were taken away each day too and we used the paper takeaway cups supplied for tea in the morning. The carpets throughout the hotel were constantly filthy and didn't look to have been cleaned recently never mind in the time we were there. Also a tray of cheese we ordered on the first day was still there the evening of the second day. Personally I think these things are perfectly avoidable and they were disappointing.

The hotel is decorated nicely, the location is great just off the main square, quiet and it has a lovely modern feel in a beautiful building.

I would consider staying here again but perhaps not if I was looking for a romantic break as I think the standards are sadly lacking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Pandapups,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us..

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our Mercure hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Delphine BAUDRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As has been pointed out by other reviewers, the rooms are small but very comfortable. Surprisingly my bathroom was nearly as big as the room itself, so in a way it made up for the smallish room.
The room decoration, with huge prints of the tulip sculptures near the train station, may come over as a bit overpowering to some, though I did not mind.
The airconditioning was good, as was the wifi. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The location is excellent, very central yet quiet.
I had a summer package deal with breakfast included. While not extensive, there was enough choice, it was well presented, and the Nespresso machine provided great coffee.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Directeur général at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JDSV,

Thank you very much for your comment about the hotel Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place and for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers .

What a pleasure to learn you did enjoy your stay in our hotel.It is a real motivation for our team to read your satisfaction.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Delphine Baudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very central location, helpful and pleasant staff, clean room with adequate facilities, free wifi and PC access, easy access to parking. Will certainly recommend this hotel.
Minuses: small room, expensive breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJBuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Responsable réception at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear EJBuen,

I thank you for your message and I shall share it with all the team!

For information, besides the buffet breakfast, we have a breakfast set menu express&co, served at the bar, at 8€, with warm drinks, croissants / bread and jams.

Hoping to receive you during your next stay in Lille

Kind regards,
Claire Deprick Ahache
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This 17th century has thankfully dragged its way from the 70s decor to a modern, luxurious comfortable interior. The rooms are Light and bright with fabulous bathrooms. A tip is that all rooms ending in 3 have small balconies with fab views and showers. Rooms ending in 1 have baths. Perfect central location and helpful staff. We were missing a bath towel which arrived within minutes. Only 10 min walk from Eurostar bang in the old centre with its squares and many excellent eateries. Let me know if you want info on good restaurants locally to this hotel where locals eat.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 3 ie 103, 203, 303 have showers and small balconies. Rooms ending in 1 are on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilequeen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Responsable réception at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear nilequeen_10,

It is very considerable to read your comment, thank you very much!
Hoping to welcome you during your next stay in Lille,

Best regards,
Claire Deprick Ahache
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good central location. Small but modern room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to rail and restaurants. Only negative was the tea and coffee facilities which were cheap and nasty with plastic and paper cups.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyMonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Responsable réception at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear GypsyMonet ,

Thank you for your comment and aprreciations.
Hope to welcome you for your next trip in Lille.

Kind regards,
Claire Deprick Ahache
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated behind the Opera, everywhere is a walk-able distance from here. My room 103 looked exactly as it did in the brochure, clean and modern with an ornate balcony and fabulous view. Breakfast was plentiful, the staff friendly and attentive. Beds were comfortable. I cant fault it.

Room Tip: My room 103 had a double-glazed french window with a small balcony and was reasonably close to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TractorGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine B, Responsable réception at Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear TractorGirls,

We are delighted to have answered your expectations during your stay in our hotel.
In very soon in Lille :)

Best regards,
Claire Deprick Ahache
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place

Property: Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Address: 2 boulevard Carnot, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hundred-year old hotel in the heart of Lille. Near railway stations, the Opera, the Grand Square, the Beaux-Arts museum and the Convention/Exhibition Centre. Bar and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lille Centre Opera Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing