We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 18 November 2009

A charming hundred-year old hotel in the heart of Lille. Near railway stations, the Opera, the Grand Square, the Beaux-Arts museum and the Convention/Exhibition Centre. That's what the hotel website says and generally that's what you get.
My two night stay as a single guest in a smallish double room was OK and the hotel location in the very centre of Lille proved to be it's strongest point. The staff at the reception desk and at breakfast were attentive and friendly and the selection of food at breakfast was good. All staff spoke good English and were helpful.
The somewhat gloomy room overlooked other rooms and appeared fairly clean but when reaching for a power point to plug in my phone charger I noticed that the carpet, around the bedside table hadn't been cleaned properly so housekeeping could be improved.
Parts of the hotel will soon be ready for some refurbishment or at least some work to bring it up to modern standards. The fixtures & fittings in the shower room being a good example as everything seemed a bit tired. It wouldn't stop me staying there again in the near future however, and the guests in our party thought it very suitable for our short stay due to its location. Lots of restaurants and bars around in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern-traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

First the good news
The hotel is very convenently located in a nice place.
the breakfast is plentiful and reasobably varied.
it is however not included in the room rate which is somehow usual in France.
However:
the carpet in the room is downright filthy and one dares not to go barefooted!
the carpet in the stairs is also old and stained.
The room window gave to a kind of central court and could not be opened at night because of a very noisy ventilator.
rather disappointing
the back rooms are terrible anyway and should not be booked by depressed people,suicide comes naturally in these rooms,the view is so frustrating,hardly any natural light!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in the Mercure Opera at the end of August 2009 as part of a short break to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary.
The location of this hotel is excellent, not far from eurostar and right in the centre of town just off the Opera house square and the main grand square.
The hotel upgraded our room for free and was extremely welcoming (they all spoke good English!!) and it feels very relaxed and well presented.
The breakfast was good but I would definately try and get it included in your room rate because 15 euros its a bit steep! However there is a good selection of pastries, breads and cereals and as well as eggs, bacon and some sort of sausage.
The only down sides of this hotel is that there is no restaurant (although extensive room service) and the bar was not always available.
However overall a good hotel in a fantastic location to enjoy a lovely city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Very well located in the heart of town, it is perfect if you want to walk around at night after a full day of work.
But you should not expect too much from the hotel itself. Rooms are small and somewhat run down and service is not very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinaloa237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Optimal location with easy walk to Eurostar, shopping and old town. Found the staff to be really great, the rooms are simple but very nice and breakfast was worth inclusion.

Its worth making sure any trip includes Friday and Saturday as everything is alive in Lille and then Sunday while dead the market is the place to be which is a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Good room,helpful staff.would definitely return.Room was pleasant, bed comfortable.Room had small balcony looking over a quiet street.Situated at back of the opera and within easy reach of the Grand Place.Old Lille just around the corner with many designer shops and small cafes.Beakfast was plentiful each morning with an array of foodstuffs such as cereals, eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, cold meats,cheese, yoghurt, bread etc. Staff very helpful and we spoke French and maybe that helped a little.Although not a modern hotel, this had all the romance of a bygone age of luxury and refinement. It would have been good to have tea making facitlities in the room at this time of year anyway since the weather can be cold and wet.Thr Printemps department store was good for Gucci, Dior, Guess etc.We were offered a visitor card which gave us a discount of 10%!Altogether, Lille is a good place for a city break. The Palais Des Beaux Arts is wonderful and not expensive. Free on the first Sunday of the month.The city bus tour is worth it to see all the interesting sights. Good metro and bus links.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We booked 2 double rooms through the hotel website. When we arrived at the hotel we were very pleased with the location and the hotel itself was very cozy and nicely decorated.
Unfortunately we were informed that our booking did not include breakfast, I did dispute this but the hotel receptionists were very unhelpful and dis-interested. The breakfast charge for a continental breakfast per person was £15 each....£60.00 for us to have breakfast alone............needless to say we didnt eat croissants here for £60.00!!!!!
The rooms were nice although quite small and not well equipped, no drawers and no tea/coffee making facilities....although I think this was a lucrative ploy by the hotel as they charged £6 for a pot of coffee!!!
Be warned the hotel has NO parking facilities and no concessions for guest parking in the local car park......we were charged £14 a day for parking.
Overall I think the hotel was very poor and for the money I think you can find much much better value. The staff were miserable, no-one offered to help with bags, show you to your room..........it generally just appeared to be about taking money.
The hotel did have a mini-bar..........again ridiculously expensive......£6.50 for a mini gin, £4 for a tiny toblerone.............Would not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dollydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
#1 of 5 in Marcq-en-Baroeul
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#16 of 107 in Lille
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place

Address: 2 boulevard Carnot, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hundred-year old hotel in the heart of Lille. Near railway stations, the Opera, the Grand Square, the Beaux-Arts museum and the Convention/Exhibition Centre. Bar and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lille Centre Opera Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing