We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best located hotel in Lille?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just back from a weekend trip to Lille with my mum. It's the 4th time I've been to Lille but this was the best hotel so far. Only ten minutes' walk from Euralille it's on the main square. We upgraded at a very modest cost for a room overlooking the Grand' Place. Worth every penny especially to see the city's explosion of joy at the election of France's new president! Yes, it was noisy but calmed down around midnight. Room lovely and reception staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pequeno_Planeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is situated on the main square, 5 mins from the Eurostar terminal and within 50 metres of all the main restaurants and 100 metres from the churches and galleries. Have never stayed somewhere so better located.

Room was a decent size and comfy bed. Only slight niggle was the heat of the room. It was very warm but windows opened so not too problematic.

We eat at the Clement Marot and Le Compostelle and whilst not cheap, we had very good meals and was worth the cost.

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel within minutes of all the action then this is it. A very good hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyGuest1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just back from 2 days in Lille and we stayed for the night at the hotel bellevue. Old building and loads of charm! We took a room with the view on the grand place and it's worth it, gorgeous view and a lovely room, quite a spacious bathroom and everything needed included tea and coffee facilities. Staff was very efficient and welcoming. Good breakfast too : cereals, yoghurt, different kinds of bread, croissants,fruit salad, cheeses and ham, scrambled eggs, sausages ... Very much worth the price and we will surely be back when we return to Lille.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel boasts that it is the only hotel looking out over the central square, we had a room that allowed us this view and enjoyed it. Be aware that most rooms do not look over the square and some have only a view of back walls. The entrance is on a street that runs parallel to the square and to reach our room, 103, we walked across the block of shops etc at ground level. Rooms 101 - 103, 201 - 204 and equivalents on third and fourth floor have a view of the Square. rooms are comfortable but the over bath shower was a problem because there was no anti-slip mat or coating on the bottom of the bath. The room was quiet at night but the walls overlooking the square are floodlit with sodium lights and the light coming in at the sides of the curtains made the room disturbingly light.
Reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is served on the first floor, on Saturday to Monday this costs just 8 euros (March 2012), which compares favourably with surrounding cafes; at other times breakfast is 14 euros. The buffet breakfast room can be very congested because the rooms are small.
There is no restaurant for dinner but there are many restaurants within a small radius.
Lille is a small city and we found it easy to walk from the Eurostar station, similarly attractions such as the museum of beaux arts are an easy stroll away. A metro station is within a 100 metres but in a 3 day stay we found that we did not need to use it.

Room Tip: Remember the advice in the text about rooms that overlook the square. It snowed hard on one of our d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haemtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We have stayed here 4 times in total now and each time have loved it.
It is perfectly situated, just a short walk from the station. Rooms over 4 floors, worth paying extra for a room overlooking the square as the view is amazing.
Rooms very clean and the marble bathrooms are spacious. NIce to have a proper hairdryer in the bathroom too!
Didn't have breakfast as it was a bit pricey at 12 euros. Plenty of bakeries nearby to sample and the brilliant Carrefour that we like to wander around.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would love to go back again one day to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over New Year. The room was very spacious with plenty of storage space, as previous reviewers have mentioned some of the furniture is a bit ecletic and doesn't fit in with the style of the hotel. The only bad thing that I would say is that on arrival our non smoking room smelt quite strongly of smoke, however after leaving the windows open for a while that soon disappeared.

The hotel is really well located, a couple of minutes to lots of shops and restaurants one way, if you go the other way you're in Vieux Lille in the same amount of time. We didn't use public transport at all, the walk from Lille Europe took about 15 mins so no need for taxis either.

The staff are friendly and helpful, they allowed us to store our bags as our room wasn't ready when we arrived. I can't comment on breakfast as we didn't have it but got croissants from Carrefour in Euralille instead!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank cmgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a perfectly fine hotel. Rooms are clean, and the reception staff polite. The hotel is near the Old Town, and everything we wanted was in walking distance. We booked a superior room through booking.com, and got a good deal, though we feel that the hotel's advertised price for these rooms does not represent good value for money. The room was very spacious, with a balcony (although no views to speak of), with a good shower, dressing gowns and toiletries. However it didn't have the luxury edge that you might expect from the hotel's own descriptions of these rooms.

Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, which we don't usually value. However, as the hotel's breakfast was expensive (E13), we found the coffee a useful stop gap until we could get to one of the many local cafes for a croissant.

The room has a separate toilet, which is a bit strange, as you have to go round to the bathroom to wash your hands.

We found the hotel quiet, but if you went to bed early you might not agree, as the walls were quite thin. The area surrounding the hotel is perfectly fine, but can get a bit a noisy with passing party crowds in the early hours, making sleeping with the the window open difficult for some. (We suspect this would be worse in the summer.) The hotel bar was noisy at street level, but as we were on a higher floor, we didn't hear it from the room.

We might well stay here when we come back to Lille (as we will - it's a lovely town). However, we wouldn't plan our trip around being able to stay here, and suspect there are probably several hotels at the same price offering an equally good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsTrellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bellevue

Address: 5 rue Jean Roisin, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Bellevue)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £71 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bellevue, Grand-Place Lille The only hotel with a view on the main square of Lille… Lille’s Downtown Hotel overlooking the Grand Place, the Grand Hotel Bellevue is distinguished by its exclusive location. Come and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Grand Place of Capital of Flander and historic exchange of life of the capital of Flanders. Enjoy delightful architectural, gastronomic and cultural offers in downtown Lille surrounded by Flemish architecture of the early twentieth century. Situated close to Vieux Lille, the metro stop Rihour, stations Lille Europe / Lille Flandres and parking facilities. Ideal to access your interests whether professional or tourism. A friendly staff, smiling and attentive to your needs, we wish you a warm and enjoyable stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bellevue Hotel Lille
Best Western Hotel Lille
Best Western Lille
Lille Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing