We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Ranked #23 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here for the second time Braderie weekend. Room rates are sky high that weekend and I don't feel we had value for money. Location, on the old Quay, is great. Public area (glass atrium, piano bar) is lovely. Reception is okay. The rooms really let the place down. They are dull and worn. Our room was large, with poor use of space, having a little "sejour" which we did not use. The marble bathroom had seen better days and leaked badly, resulting in a slippery floor. Our twin beds were narrow and uncomfortable, with lumpy pillows. If this hotel is to live up to its four stars, it needs to bring in an interior decorator for a sympathetic makeover. Until that happens,it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the atrium - the other area looked dark and dreary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kroothoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The hotel is a taxi ride away from the stations and centre of town in a quiet area. The approach to the hotel is very pretty, along a narrow cobbled street. The hotel itself is a converted convent (as the name suggests). From the outside the hotel looks impressive and the conversion has been done very sympathetically. The reception area is modern and the staff efficient.
The main feature of this hotel is the atrium that houses the bar and restaurant. This is the courtyard in the centre of the old convent that has been covered with a steel and glass roof. This is very nice.
Unfortunately the rooms (or at least my room) did not meet the same standard. The room was dreary and a little tired. The bed was OK and everything worked OK, but it did not match the style and quality of the public areas.
The location of the hotel is not ideal if you want to enjoy the bars and restaurants of the town centre as it is quite a walk, or taxi ride.
Overall this hotel is best viewed from the outside for its architecture, but stay somewhere more comfortable and convenient!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel was as expected from lots of previous reviews - beautiful building, gorgeous public areas but dated/tired standard rooms. The building really is lovely, very nice bar area but as everyone has said before, the most expensive bar prices in all the places we visited in Lille. The hotel is located on the Quay (look out for Mosquitos in rooms!) - nice location, but sadly opposite there are almost derelict modern office buildings. We received a very nice welcome and reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was lovely (included in our deal) but we wouldn't have paid 19 euros each extra for it. We did have one drink each one evening, but it was twice the price of anywhere we had enjoyed elsewhere in the town with a slightly frosty barman when I queried the wine (my mistake) - no accompanying nibbles/crisps provided. Cocktails at 14 euros each were again twice the price of even very smart restaurants. A shame, we would have enjoyed many evenings in the lovely setting here.

Our room was as expected - quite tired, very hot - do look at the picture of the exposed wiring, which does not match the public areas at all.

Lille unfortunately was almost two thirds closed because of annual holidays, making it dificult to find somewhere to eat that was open on Sunday and Monday nights. We were also quite saddened to see so many beggars and people sleeping on the streets. There is also quite a problem with graffiti and dog excrement on the streets.

By the way, we were really looking forward to the market, after so many excellent reviews and having enjoyed many classy French markets before - it was a huge disappointment - the area is quite rundown and lots of very basic, cheap and possibly non-authentic goods - we didn't feel unsafe but felt the need to hold on tightly to wallets.

The zoo (free) is lovely is very closeby.

We wouldn't return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel seemed under staffed the service was shocking.

Wen you called for a iron or towels they were so slow because the member of staff on reception was doing all the running around to all rooms. I asked for a manager who offered to call when I got back to the uk on Monday too late by then I would have thought. Would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Jasvindertalalafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Couvent des Minismes is really an absolutely astonishing hotel, used to be a monastery in the 15th Century. The beautiful thing is, the original design and the rustic bricks all along the walkway, the lounge area/bar and the dining. The used to be `herbs garden' or patio is now the bar and dining with a beautiful glass ceiling which allows natural light shining in. Its just an amazing hotel. Great dining menu, a bit ex but hey, its not a low grade hotel :)- Bfast is too expensive, Euro19 p/person, so we skipped that. waitresses and front desk are friendly and speaks English well. just a 5 mins stroll, you are right in the square where you find the famous french bakery PAUL amongst the rest. For honeymooners or those celebrating their annivesaries, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had my very very special rates through booking.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegBarber71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We arrived home last night after enjoying a lovely weekend trip to Lille and we can honestly say that staying at this lovely hotel was the icing on the cake.

We are discerning travellers who use this website regularly and would not travel anywhere without doing any research and on the back of previous reviews and comments, chose this hotel. Our other options were the Carlton and the Hermitage. The position of the hotel is fabulous, right next to a little quiet quay and in a spacious area but adjacent to the canal and woods with lovely shaded paths, a very good free zoo to stroll around and a little 40 mins boat ride which runs every hour. A few mins stroll in the other direction takes you into the heart of old Lille, with cobbled streets, restaurants, bars and shops.

The hotel itself is a converted convent and if possible stay in a Traditional Room. These are located around the huge public area under the glass roof. Our pretty, light room, 218 on the second floor, was beautiful with its alcoves, sitting area, exposed red brick and high ceilings and 7 windows including a round one above the door, which opened onto the walkway surrounding the public area. There are only 12 rooms in this area, but only those on the second floor have the high ceilings and seven windows. We were shown a Premium Room, which was on the fourth floor away from the public room and along a rather dark passageway and was itself rather dull, one window, more modern but totally lacking in character. We opted to stay in what we had originally booked and we loved it. The bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom large and adequate.

Breakfast was absolutely fine and caters to all tastes, taken in the dining section of the large public area, which converted to a nice restaurant for the evening.

This hotel was stunning and beautiful and was definitely the right choice for us.

Photos to follow

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the public area on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Triptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

It was the thirth time we went to this hotel. We like the location, rooms and breakfast. Last time we even got an upgrade to a room with separate bedroom for our son. This time we asked for the upgrade again but we had to pay 40euros extra, we didn't do that. We got a spacious room, enough space for a huge double bed, a sitting area, desk and extra bed for our son. Flat screen tv, coffee and tea (+biscuits!), a huge hallway with a huge closet with gigantic mirrors, very clean bathroom in marble and separate toilet.
The room was a little bit dark (small windows) and the furniture begins to get outdated. But everything is in a perfect condition. Except maybe the closet-doors. They don't slide smoothly anymore and I had trouble opening them, had to use both hands and all of my weight to get the middle door open.
One thing we don't like: you have to pay for every extra: use of the minibar: €4 (only the use of), WIFI: €10 for one hour, parking: €15,.... And the bar is also not cheap (€14 for a cocktail)
We didn't eat in the restaurant. The breakfast is very good: bio-products, soy-milk, bread in slices, fruit, eggs, saucages, a large choice of dairy-products... and the restaurants, where the breakfast takes place, is under the gigantic glass roof of the courtyard of the hotel, amazing in the morning :)
We do like this hotel in particulary for it's location. It is not in the middle of the city centre but on foot-distance. It is right next to the 'citadel park'. There's a free zoo, a little amusement park (you have to pay for it but it's not too expensive) and giant play-ground (also free). You can also do a long walk in the park. In september and around easter you have also the gigantic 'foire' going on there.

Room Tip: the top-floor rooms are cosier and lighter, but a little bit smaller. 1st floor is bigger + huge clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indra_and_Wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 107 in Lille
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#15 of 107 in Lille
698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille

Address: 17 quai du Wault, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Golden Tulip Alliance Couvent des Minimes)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lille
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £109 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Minimes - Alliance Lille Hotel Lille
Alliance Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing