We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Lille
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated building”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The public areas are beautiful and the service was good. The room we had opened onto the central atrium and consequently was a little dark and the furnishings were a little tired, but we got a good price <£100 on a hotel booking website so it certainly was value for money. You should also note that it is a little walk (10 mins) from the touristy areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with external window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    339
    201
    63
    25
See reviews for
101
421
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here for the second time Braderie weekend. Room rates are sky high that weekend and I don't feel we had value for money. Location, on the old Quay, is great. Public area (glass atrium, piano bar) is lovely. Reception is okay. The rooms really let the place down. They are dull and worn. Our room was large, with poor use of space, having a little "sejour" which we did not use. The marble bathroom had seen better days and leaked badly, resulting in a slippery floor. Our twin beds were narrow and uncomfortable, with lumpy pillows. If this hotel is to live up to its four stars, it needs to bring in an interior decorator for a sympathetic makeover. Until that happens,it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the atrium - the other area looked dark and dreary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroothoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The hotel is a taxi ride away from the stations and centre of town in a quiet area. The approach to the hotel is very pretty, along a narrow cobbled street. The hotel itself is a converted convent (as the name suggests). From the outside the hotel looks impressive and the conversion has been done very sympathetically. The reception area is modern and the staff efficient.
The main feature of this hotel is the atrium that houses the bar and restaurant. This is the courtyard in the centre of the old convent that has been covered with a steel and glass roof. This is very nice.
Unfortunately the rooms (or at least my room) did not meet the same standard. The room was dreary and a little tired. The bed was OK and everything worked OK, but it did not match the style and quality of the public areas.
The location of the hotel is not ideal if you want to enjoy the bars and restaurants of the town centre as it is quite a walk, or taxi ride.
Overall this hotel is best viewed from the outside for its architecture, but stay somewhere more comfortable and convenient!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel was as expected from lots of previous reviews - beautiful building, gorgeous public areas but dated/tired standard rooms. The building really is lovely, very nice bar area but as everyone has said before, the most expensive bar prices in all the places we visited in Lille. The hotel is located on the Quay (look out for Mosquitos in rooms!) - nice location, but sadly opposite there are almost derelict modern office buildings. We received a very nice welcome and reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was lovely (included in our deal) but we wouldn't have paid 19 euros each extra for it. We did have one drink each one evening, but it was twice the price of anywhere we had enjoyed elsewhere in the town with a slightly frosty barman when I queried the wine (my mistake) - no accompanying nibbles/crisps provided. Cocktails at 14 euros each were again twice the price of even very smart restaurants. A shame, we would have enjoyed many evenings in the lovely setting here.

Our room was as expected - quite tired, very hot - do look at the picture of the exposed wiring, which does not match the public areas at all.

Lille unfortunately was almost two thirds closed because of annual holidays, making it dificult to find somewhere to eat that was open on Sunday and Monday nights. We were also quite saddened to see so many beggars and people sleeping on the streets. There is also quite a problem with graffiti and dog excrement on the streets.

By the way, we were really looking forward to the market, after so many excellent reviews and having enjoyed many classy French markets before - it was a huge disappointment - the area is quite rundown and lots of very basic, cheap and possibly non-authentic goods - we didn't feel unsafe but felt the need to hold on tightly to wallets.

The zoo (free) is lovely is very closeby.

We wouldn't return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel seemed under staffed the service was shocking.

Wen you called for a iron or towels they were so slow because the member of staff on reception was doing all the running around to all rooms. I asked for a manager who offered to call when I got back to the uk on Monday too late by then I would have thought. Would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Jasvindertalalafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Couvent des Minismes is really an absolutely astonishing hotel, used to be a monastery in the 15th Century. The beautiful thing is, the original design and the rustic bricks all along the walkway, the lounge area/bar and the dining. The used to be `herbs garden' or patio is now the bar and dining with a beautiful glass ceiling which allows natural light shining in. Its just an amazing hotel. Great dining menu, a bit ex but hey, its not a low grade hotel :)- Bfast is too expensive, Euro19 p/person, so we skipped that. waitresses and front desk are friendly and speaks English well. just a 5 mins stroll, you are right in the square where you find the famous french bakery PAUL amongst the rest. For honeymooners or those celebrating their annivesaries, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had my very very special rates through booking.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegBarber71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We arrived home last night after enjoying a lovely weekend trip to Lille and we can honestly say that staying at this lovely hotel was the icing on the cake.

We are discerning travellers who use this website regularly and would not travel anywhere without doing any research and on the back of previous reviews and comments, chose this hotel. Our other options were the Carlton and the Hermitage. The position of the hotel is fabulous, right next to a little quiet quay and in a spacious area but adjacent to the canal and woods with lovely shaded paths, a very good free zoo to stroll around and a little 40 mins boat ride which runs every hour. A few mins stroll in the other direction takes you into the heart of old Lille, with cobbled streets, restaurants, bars and shops.

The hotel itself is a converted convent and if possible stay in a Traditional Room. These are located around the huge public area under the glass roof. Our pretty, light room, 218 on the second floor, was beautiful with its alcoves, sitting area, exposed red brick and high ceilings and 7 windows including a round one above the door, which opened onto the walkway surrounding the public area. There are only 12 rooms in this area, but only those on the second floor have the high ceilings and seven windows. We were shown a Premium Room, which was on the fourth floor away from the public room and along a rather dark passageway and was itself rather dull, one window, more modern but totally lacking in character. We opted to stay in what we had originally booked and we loved it. The bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom large and adequate.

Breakfast was absolutely fine and caters to all tastes, taken in the dining section of the large public area, which converted to a nice restaurant for the evening.

This hotel was stunning and beautiful and was definitely the right choice for us.

Photos to follow

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the public area on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#2 of 107 in Lille
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 107 in Lille
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille

Property: Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Address: 17 quai du Wault, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Golden Tulip Alliance Couvent des Minimes)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lille
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Minimes - Alliance Lille Hotel Lille
Alliance Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing