We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These Boots Were Made for Walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The architecture of this former convent has been attractively perserved in the restaurant area, but the away from town centre location means the hotel requires taxi for arrival and departure if, as many do to Lille, you've come without a car by Eurostar. Getting to city centre shops etc requires a lengthy hike, or a taxi again, because central Lille has no bus services. Council prefers 'Boris' bikes, or motor bike/car hire - OK for locals but not for short trip visitors.

Probably because of location, hotel seems to concentrate on hosting business meetings. You can feel you're in a conference centre not a hotel. Rooms VG and food/drinks very acceptable but latter are 'pricey' - reflecting the business class dominance.. The 'young executives' too tied to Power Point presentations to get out of the hotel, so location not a problem.

Room Tip: Ground floor area adjacent to confe rence rooms and restaurant best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

We went to Lille to go shopping for the weekend. We made reservations for a 'gastronomic package', which included breakfast and a 3 course dinner.
The hotel itself is wonderful, we were really surprised by the enormous roof construction and the beautifully renovated building including atmospheric lighting and use of original materials.
Entering the room (standard), we were delighted by the space we had. The bathroom was almost the size of my bedroom at home. Everything in the bathroom is marble, which gives it a kitschy look and gives you really cold feet unless you put towels on the floor. The room itself is decorated in a modern style which i really liked. There are coffee and tea making facilities and there is a flatscreen television.
After a day of shopping we went for dinner at the restaurant. We had no choice except for the main course. The entree and dessert were fixed.
As an 'amuse gueule' we had mixed crab combined with ratatouille. That's when we realised this menu wasn't going to be as 'gastronomic' as presented. The combination was just horrible and so was the main course: mediterranean vegetables (zucchini stuffed with blended mushrooms etc) with duck (topped with fried bacon). A true summer-winter combination, but expecting a good 'game plate', we received something which seemed to be improvised (in order to get rid of the leftovers).
After dinner we went to have a drink in the (expensive) bar, we paid 24 euros for two fresh cocktails. But, being a hotel bar and looking at the amount of drink you got, the price was fair.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay, except for the restaurant food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Located in a quiet part of the old town and within easy walking distance of quality shops and retaurants, this hotel offered interesting, clean and comfortable accommodation. Hotel drinks we found expensive and would recommend packing a corkscrew since there are some good wine stores nearby. We did not use the restaurant apart from breakfast (which offered everything and set us up for most of the day). The bathroom and separate loo were spacious, clean and modern. Annoying was having no drawers or shelves for small items and no hooks for dressing gowns anywhere to be found. We did also have to request shower gel as the maid had failed to provide us with any on the second day, but this was just an over-sight as everything else was replaced.

Room Tip: On arrival we were shown a standard room and an alternative up-grade, which we took at an extra 20 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Twenty years ago I worked in Lille and this hotel had just been newly converted from a former convent. I visited the piano bar and vowed that I would stay here one day. This month, I was lucky enough to do so. My room overlooked the atrium, but it was not especially noisy and it gave me a great view of the other guests enjoying themselves rather than the car-park. The TV had a good range of channels. Cocktails were quite expensive, it's true, but the wonderful ambience more than made up for it. Breakfast was plentiful and the variety was impressive. I particularly appreciated the hotel's proximity to the old town. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Khan_Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Nice rooms in a lovely building. Excellent if you can get it at a reasonable price. Good breakfast, pricey bar. Has it's own car park, which is a considerable bonus in Lille.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiptoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently situated close to the centre of Lille and so is a good location for anyone wanting to explore the city.

On arrival we were asked if we wanted a room upgrade at a cost of 20 euros per night which we declined. The rooms we were allocated were on the the top floor in what seemed to be the attic of the original building so there was a sloping roof in the corridor to be aware of. The rooms were clean and well appointed however although cupboard space was limited. The bathroom was spacious for the size of the room.

The atmosphere in the public rooms was very pleasant and the conversion of the old monastery had been tastefully done. Breakfast was generous with fruit, cold meats and cheese, cereals, pastries and scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, coffee or tea.

The only niggle I had was a charge of 10 euros for one hour's wi fi internet access. This seems an exhorbitant charge to me and would put me off returning to the hotel. However that apart, the hotel is well situated and appointed and proved to be a comfortable base for a three night stay to explore Lille.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and negotiate on price if you want to avoid the attic floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is so tucked away that we only discovered it fairly recently after many trips to Lille and we're very glad we did! The hotel overlooks a pretty stretch of water and is very quiet as it's not in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are a good size and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is small but has something for everyone. In the evening a drink in the cocktail bar is well worth it with an extensive list of drinks and lovely relaxed atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful. We stay here everytime we go to Lille and it is by far the best hotel in town.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor for a quieter sleep and exellent views of Lille.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrooveArmada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Villa Gounod
Villa Gounod
#11 of 107 in Lille
68 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#20 of 107 in Lille
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille

Address: 17 quai du Wault, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Golden Tulip Alliance Couvent des Minimes)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lille
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £96 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Minimes - Alliance Lille Hotel Lille
Alliance Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing