We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purely a great Country side of France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Lille Centre Gares
Ranked #23 of 107 Hotels in Lille
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Lille is a must go for in France. Especially its a great place for fresh beers and party rockers. Its a small city and the places are really need by. It is also cheaper compare to paris. Train station is in centre of city. Night clubs are full of life and alot youngsters in the city.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank Shivang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

Arrived with my husband to the Europe Lille train station early in the day after a direct flight in to the CDG airport in Paris. Hotel was off to the left after about a five minute walk we arrived at the hotel. Staff was polite and spoke good English. Hotel was very Euro and minimalist with clean straight lines decor which my husband classifies as IKEAesque.

Room had great rain showerhead and we had a 5th floor room facing the office building towards the train station. As the other reviews indicate the French are not too concerned about air conditioning. Our room didn't stay cool but the weather was so mild that we could open the windows and stay cool. Funny thing was there were no screens on the windows but fortunately we didn't have any birds or insect visitors while we were there so it was fine to leave the windows open or at least cracked when we were sleeping.

Breakfast was typical continental fare with croissants, several breads to choose and an array of cheeses and fruits. Since we are not big coffee drinkers we totally enjoyed the choice of dark chocolate or milk chocolate for our hot drink. There was also a choice of juice and several cerals and yogerts to choose from.

Location was great and I could easily walk to restaurants and cafes while my husband was occupied with business during the day. There was a wonderful mall on the other side of the train station with several levels of shopping and a grocery store. Loved the selections of perfumes and shoes and the French are certainly into fashion! Walking to the city center did encounter a few people asking for money but a quick "Sorry, I don't speak French" usually did the trick. The people were generally friendly and if you tried to speak a little French they were usually helpful and gracious. Could tell that this was a University town as we noticed how many young people were around. Evidentally there was a big Soccer game going on when we were there since there was much cheering from some of the pubs as we walked down the street.

Enjoyed the Novotel and would highly recommend this hotel as it gave me a great sense of true city life in Lille particularly watching the people walking from the train station to work each morning. We were there for 5 nights and this place was a great location for either business or leisure. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The hotel is located about 8-10 mins walk from the train station Lille Europe, and less than 5 mins walk from the Lille Grand Palais exhibition centre. Then it is as well a short walk away from the city centre, restaurants and a big shopping centre. The only down side is, because of that central location, there are many beggers nearby (I got asked 3 times for money or cigarettes on my way from the station to the hotel, that's a lot in less than 10 mins!). The street is very quiet at night but gets really busy during the day and particularly rush hour, making it hard to have the window opened from 7am to 7pm, however the double glazing of the room was really efficient.
I had a double room, even if I had mentioned I was on my own, and I have to say it was the biggest room I ever had in a hotel. It had a big double bed, a sofa, a desk, big flat screen TV, a bathroom with separate WC, which I guess could become handy if you share the room. The shower looked a bit tired, but nothing off putting, and overall everything was clean. The only downside of the whole stay (3 nights), was the air conditioning: the room seemed to be constantly really hot. I tried to put the airconditioning as low as 10oc, but nothing would change. The only option was to open the window, but being on the first floor on the street side, I was waking up very early because of the noise of the traffic. I think the air conditioning wasn't faulty as I could hear it work, but the room was I think simply too big to feel any difference and I like to sleep with temperatures below 20oc.
The breakfast was really nice with both sweet and savoury food. There was the usual croissants, breads, cereals, ham, cheese, etc. but they had also freshly made crepes, which I never had in other hotels.
The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They recommended and booked for us twice a very nice restaurant nearby. Everybody at the desk was very nice and smiley, as well as the staff in the breakfast room.
There is free WiFi in the hotel, but for those not having their laptop, there is a computer in the reception with free internet access, which is very convenient.
The lounge of the hotel is very big, it has many sofas and a book case filled with books and magazines. There was also a small play area for children.

Overall, I think this was a very nice hotel and I had a pleasant stay in Lille. Even if the room was on the warm side, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jujuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
london
1
Reviewed 15 April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had a one night stay for a city break, hotel have a good location, just near shopping area. Staff was OK, our room was clean and we enjoyed our stay.
Breakfast was OK. Public parking just near the hotel but a bit expensive. First time we discover this city and we were really surprised, this is a beautiful city and lots of things to see in walking distance from hotel, we loved old Lille.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohnny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Large room wit huge sofa bed (for my 10 year old daughter)Tea and coffee nice touch.Nice recepition area and bar.Hotel bout 10 minute walk from centre and area not as bad as some people have commented.Over all very good value central hotel ....Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I will never stay here again if I can help it. I disliked everything about the hotel. The breakfast was skimpy. My room card didn't work in the elevator and got demagnetized the ff day. The service was mediocre and the had no us to France adapters at the front desk. Only plus was free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
#20 of 107 in Lille
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
Mercure Lille Metropole Hotel
#1 of 5 in Marcq-en-Baroeul
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lille Centre Gares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lille Centre Gares

Address: 49 rue de Tournai, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Lille
#9 Business Hotel in Lille
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lille Centre Gares 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lille Centre Gares is a modern 3 star hotel 2 min walk from Lille Flandres station, the Zenith and the Grand Palais, and 5 min from Lille Europe station and the city centre. Ideal for professional or private trips discovering all the region has to offer. 96 airconditioned rooms including 34 refurbished rooms and 5 suites. Enjoy our free fitness centre and patio. With our Family Offer available on request on Sunday you can keep your room until 5 p.m. Public parking at Lille Flandres station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lille Centre Gares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lille Centre Gares Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Gares
Lille Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing