We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Brueghel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brueghel
Ranked #32 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Salerno
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old fashion, excellent location”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you like modern, chain built hotels, this is not for you. But if you look for some hotels with a story of hospitality, then you can appreciate the atmosphere of this hotel, located in the heart of Lille, one step from the Grand Place, one step from the two stations. The elevator is a masterpiece of the beginning of last century. Size of the room (and associated service) is quite small, but the quality price ratio is overall excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    97
    55
    21
    4
See reviews for
21
84
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Very convenient location for the train stations.Room was small but appeared to be clean although the first morning my husband noticed a cigarette butt on top of the duvet. We were puzzled by this and can only assume that it was on the duvet which was folded over at the top and it must have fallen out when we got into bed. We didn't breakfast there so cannot comment on the food. Staff seemed friendly and had a tiny quirky old fashioned lift. There was a lovely wine shop over the road, I think it was called Cave St Maurice, the lady in there was very kind, helping us to choose wines and even opening them for us to take away as we did not have a corkscrew.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrisment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Tiny rooms, no shower curtain, old and scary elevator, rooms not ready on time when arrived. The location is very good, but apart from that I can see no single reason why one would want to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuffle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My sister and I stayed here one night. Our room was on the 6th floor and had a bit of a view of the Cathedral. We loved our room. It was small but very pretty. The bathroom was clean. We loved the location beside the cathedral and close to both train stations. Everything was within walking distance. Would stay here again and would love to return to Lille as one night was not enough time to get to know this lovely city.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My Partner and I stayed there two nights in mid-July. We had a very cosy room, well decorated, very clean, with good towels and shower gel, very quiet, it felt like a small flat .
24/24 door policy, very good continental breakfast, a lift salvaged from the Adams family and centre to everywhere in town, 10-15mn walk from the old quarter, same from the museums and the Wazemmes market...we loved it! And last but not least the interior is full of character for that early 20th century establishment.

Room Tip: We had a double bed in room 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatajojo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were staying in Lille for 2 nights and this hotel Brueghel was the ideal location for us to hire a private tour guide to take us on a tour of WW1 battlefields and cemeteries. Honestly, if it were not for that arrangement, we would not have stayed a 2nd night in this hotel or in Lille.

The hotel is located right beside the St. Maurice Church and is only 2 blocks from the rail station which would explain the people hanging around. When we walked around the church, the smell of urine was very noticeable for the 2 days we were there. Not a pleasant order when you are out for a morning stroll.

We arrived Early and were able to store our bags, the luggage room is not very secure as there is a door that leads outside. That is OK, we had our bags locked up with no valuables in them but just as a heads up.

When we finally checked into the room, we had a view of the back buildings. The bathroom was quite outdated. An old version of a handheld shower head that was wrapped around the faucets. The shower curtain had black mold around the edges. The towels looked cleaned until you got them wet then you saw the stains very clearly. The mattress is HORRIBLE! It was obviously old as we were falling into the middle and there was no padding so you felt the springs in your back. After 2 nights on this bed, our backs were so sore! The walls really are PAPER THIN! We could hear the couple next to us all night. Also I ended up with bug bites on my shoulders and arms and it was not by mosquitos.

Breakfast was very simple and very plain and is served at 7:30am. The morning of our departure, we were checking out at 7:15am. The clerk said that breakfast was not served for another 15 mins but he could bring us coffee, he wasn't friendly about it nor was he rude, but it felt like we were almost putting him out. He instead brought us the breakfast but no coffee.

The decor of the hotel is getting worn down. There is a difference of having old decor that is carefully maintained and looking nice versus decor that is just let go. There is a very old elevator that only holds 2 passengers. It is a steel one that works quite well.

Honestly, if you are on a very tight budget, then may be this hotel is for you. But I would recommend looking for something nicer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FtMacTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lille hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Every year I visit this hotel twice.
The hotelrooms are small, but lovely.
Don's expect 5* quality, but a very cute, romantic small hotel that could be the stage of on fifties movie. Every board creaks and the staff is very friendly and will tell you nice places to go for dinner etc.
This is just you're authentic nice place and so much more special than all those chainhotels! Did I mention the locatoion? It's perfect!

If you're a light sleeper bring earpluges to be on the safe side (you should always bring them when you travel anyway...)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CERAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#39 of 107 in Lille
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 107 in Lille
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#42 of 107 in Lille
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 107 in Lille
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
#30 of 107 in Lille
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brueghel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brueghel

Property: Hotel Brueghel
Address: 3 Parvis Saint Maurice, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brueghel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brueghel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brueghel Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing