We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a short break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brueghel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Brueghel
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

my friend and I have just returned from three days in Lille staying at this hotel. It is five minutes from the eurostar terminal next to St Maurices church, so easy to find, Also next to the pedestrian centre, there is a quaint old iron lift which we loved, Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking trees in the square, although it was small it was perfectly adequate and had wonderfully comfortable beds. The bathroom was clean and had all we needed, we didnt have breakfast there as we felt for 9 euros we could eat breakfast out. altogether a perfect place for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    93
    55
    20
    4
See reviews for
19
83
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had a fantastic time in Lille overall (long weekend on the eurostar from London). In terms of the hotel...

POSITIVES: - easy walk from the eurostar (or any of the other Lille stations)
- gorgeous reception area with interesting antiques and a lovely comfy sofa
- very pretty from the outside
- lovely big windows in the room we were in
- great location for exploring Lille

NEGATIVES: - very small rooms
- bathrooms could do with an update
- noisy street corner at night (not because of it's location I think as it's right by a church, but generally a lot of drunks shouting on a sat night, right through to 6am!)
- No air conditioning - normally this would be fine for Lille but we went in mid August when it was 33C and the heat made it difficult to sleep. It would have been nice to have been offered a fan as it was a particularly hot weekend
- the receptionists are not exactly over friendly

Overall it's absolutely fine and fairly decent value for money, but don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A delightful hotel with lots of character and helpful staff. A little noisy at night but rooms were comfortable and well cared for. Stayed 6 nights and good base for exploring Lille and WWI battlefields.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may b quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHelds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you like modern, chain built hotels, this is not for you. But if you look for some hotels with a story of hospitality, then you can appreciate the atmosphere of this hotel, located in the heart of Lille, one step from the Grand Place, one step from the two stations. The elevator is a masterpiece of the beginning of last century. Size of the room (and associated service) is quite small, but the quality price ratio is overall excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Very convenient location for the train stations.Room was small but appeared to be clean although the first morning my husband noticed a cigarette butt on top of the duvet. We were puzzled by this and can only assume that it was on the duvet which was folded over at the top and it must have fallen out when we got into bed. We didn't breakfast there so cannot comment on the food. Staff seemed friendly and had a tiny quirky old fashioned lift. There was a lovely wine shop over the road, I think it was called Cave St Maurice, the lady in there was very kind, helping us to choose wines and even opening them for us to take away as we did not have a corkscrew.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrisment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Tiny rooms, no shower curtain, old and scary elevator, rooms not ready on time when arrived. The location is very good, but apart from that I can see no single reason why one would want to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuffle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My sister and I stayed here one night. Our room was on the 6th floor and had a bit of a view of the Cathedral. We loved our room. It was small but very pretty. The bathroom was clean. We loved the location beside the cathedral and close to both train stations. Everything was within walking distance. Would stay here again and would love to return to Lille as one night was not enough time to get to know this lovely city.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#41 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#37 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#19 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
#7 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brueghel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brueghel

Property: Hotel Brueghel
Address: 3 Parvis Saint Maurice, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brueghel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brueghel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brueghel Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing