We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
227 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Long weekend break in Lille, travelling by Eurostar.

The hotel is very easy to walk to from the railway station and easy to find.

The location could not be much better, a very short stroll to the main square and the old town which stretches away beyond.

We had breakfast on our first morning, but got up early on the second specifically to have breakfast in the Wazemmes market. The hotel breakfast was good value.

The lack of a restaurant is not an issue, with so many fine restaurants on the hotel's 'doorstep.' Trip Advisor will lead you to the better restaurants.

Nothing to say against this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 30 on the top floor. This is at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    90
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
66
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the Easter Hols and very much enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is well situated near the city centre, not far to walk to all the sights. We stayed in room 27 on the 3rd floor, bit of a climb up an interesting staircase, or a hop in the lift. The room was on the small side, but not cramped, seperate w/c and bathroom. Best of all on a very cold weekend, the room was nice and warm!! Breakfast was served in the bar on ground floor, think we may have been the only guests to use it as a bar in the evenings, which was a shame because it served a couple of nice local beers and good red wine.
Breakfast was ok, we never had the set 9 euro menu, but had omlettes and cereals washed down with good pot of coffee on a couple of mornings.
Service was good from polite, friendly staff.
Would certainly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgrumpyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

An average, small hotel with decent size bedroom and bathroom - room 321. We were at the rear of the building and couldn't believe how quiet it was given we were so near the city centre. Also only a short walk from the Eurostar station (under 10 mins) and easy to find. We didn't like the look of the breakfast room much and had room only rate so we ate elsewhere. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful and Lille has a great Christmas atmosphere. All in all a great central place to stay for a short break. Lille generally seemed quite expensive so although we thought it was a little dear (£95 per night) it was probably the going rate for December and the location.

Room Tip: Choose rear and higher floors for a quiet room. Rooms are quite warm, even in December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The Hotel de la Paix is in a very convenient location....we had a nice quiet room....room 12 was the best and biggest room out of the 3 rooms we used as a family group.....counter staff very friendly....lovely stay for Lucy's 30th. birthday bash - we went to La Cave au Fioles for a celebratory dinner - it's pricey but an excellent experience....you will need to book in advance!!......together with the Lille Christmas market , this was a really enjoyable long weekend.

Room Tip: Room 12 was the best and biggest room of the 3 rooms we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel was booked for us by an agent because it was the only one to offer a room for 3 adults. As other reviewers have stated it is ideally placed to explore Lille - close to Eurostar, shops, restaurants, bars, markets, etc. And easy to find too!

Our double room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. Our only complaint was that it was very warm. The triple room was actually two rooms with a dividing door - perfect for families too. Towels were changed daily, reception staff were friendly, helpful and English speaking. The small bar (which the night porter kindly opened up for us) doubles as a breakfast room and we found you really don't need to order extra eggs etc, the bread was delicious and a smaller breakfast left room for over indulgent treats from the market and good dinners - try the Cafe Leffe, Trois Brasseurs or for a snack Pauls.

This was our fifth trip to Lille - it is a really easy option by train, even from the north of England - we really enjoy the atmosphere of the town, and the Belgian beer is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor so would like to recommend it back to others! Spent two days in Lille for the Christmas market and this hotel was minutes walk away from Christmas markets and barely ten from the Eurostar station. Right in the middle of the town, quiet, clean room and friendly staff. Ideal fro what we wanted

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneGMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Well located, warm, comfortable though rooms not large -typical of French town hotel, good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Shower flow a bit slow but useable. Go for back of hotel if you want total quiet rather a little bit of French town typical noise as town comes to life. Beware of mosquito's even in November as warm hotel. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank revdnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brueghel
Hotel Brueghel
#29 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#38 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lille Centre Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 46 B rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lille
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing