We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A charming little hotel'”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Lenham
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“'A charming little hotel'”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This little gem could not be more central to the main attractions of Lille (Opera, Grand Place, etc.). Everything is nice including the art posters in all the corridors. Nice breakfast room/bar, too.
Staff very helpful.

One suggestion - pay a little bit more and get one of their larger than standard rooms. I am already looking forward to my next visit and seeing Serverine at the front desk.

Also can recommend 'Le Pot Beaujolais' bistro just a couple of doors along the street (No 26), which I'm also reviewing.

Room Tip: Larger rooms at the back of the hotel, 3rd floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    93
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
68
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. I must say I was hugely disappointed and had to check if I had arrived at the correct place. Unfortunately for me I was at the right place. The hotel is in a great location but other than that it very dated in terms of decor, bathroom, carpets etc. I do not recommend this if you are in Lille for business. there are other hotels that are just as good on value but more up to date. Unfortunately I did not find any peace here...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Paix means "peace" and we found it peaceful both with our room (#36) and helpful staff who spoke good English. Our room was up several stairs (there is a lift) and at the back of the hotel. So no view as such but it was very clean and quiet (windows closed as we stayed in November). A big room with settees and separate toilet to the bathroom. Art prints all around the hotel and a bright paint job of the doors makes this a cute, central hotel. Breakfast was extra but ideal, as eggs dishes were made to order.

Room Tip: room #36 is an end room so probably bigger than most. plenty of windows but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a triple room. Everything you would need for a city break, nothing showy but really nice. Lovely breakfast area & very close to everything in Lille. Staff speak perfect English & can't do enough for you. Very good pancake place just up the road too!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here with my father and I loved it.

The hotel is a stone's throw from the main square and close to the Eurostar train station. It is small, but cozy and although the decor is old it is not unkempt. The rooms were clean and had working TV and free wi-fi.

Breakfast was excellent but most of all the staff were wonderful. They were always helpful and always friendly. I'd readily go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewDownieBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Second time we've stayed at this hotel. Cosy and clean , and very well located. The Braderie weekend was the reason for our visit, and this hotel is perfect, to enjoy everything from the marathon, stalls , restaurants and bars. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I took a day trip to Lille to see what another part of France would be like, so I stayed for only a night in this hotel. It is rather easy to find (along Rue de Paris), and is located very close to the city square. Lille is a rather small town, and I found that to be very charming. The room in this Hotel was small (bigger than the one I stayed at in Paris though) but cosy. I liked the bed, but was a bit disappointed with the shower. Nevertheless, it is a very good hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking to explore this city.

Special mention to counter staffs. I liked your service!
- Could speak English
- Very, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laikarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#42 of 107 in Lille
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brueghel
Hotel Brueghel
#32 of 107 in Lille
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 107 in Lille
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
#30 of 107 in Lille
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 107 in Lille
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 107 in Lille
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 46 B rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lille
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing