We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Royale

La Royale
Ranked #117 of 1,500 Restaurants in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Have you ever come across Bistronomie cuisine, the perfect balance between the informal bistrot dishes found in French brasseries and the more sophisticated gastronomy cuisine? If not, it might be time to head to La Royale and try for yourself Chefl and Jean-Sébastien's culinary creations. Only fresh products from local markets make it to the menu. Dishes are inventive, simple and creative. The wine list is equally enticing: la Royale favours smaller high-quality producers to big names... Come to La Royale to enjoy high quality cuisine in an intimate atmosphere full of delightful quaint memories. You'll find yourself transported in an old Paris bistrot and will no doubt feel at home...
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had a terrible steak which they did re-do and then was ok, but meant I could not eat my dinner at the same time as my girlfriend.

Refused to supply tap water - only bottled mineral water - which is a pet hate.

Not sure why it is rated so high.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    97
    27
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had diner and being warned about the speed of serving, we asked to have some time between courses. This did not happen between the entree and the main. But there was a huge gap between the main and desert.
Next to that, the wine we ordered for our main course had still to be served after our plates had arrived. The young male waiter was rude in his manners and reached over our dished for the glasses and menu's without an excuse.
The food was well prepared. The meat was superb. But with the main course with a mix of fresh seasonal vegetables and those out of a jar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul_V_Alkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Situated in the elegant Rue Royale is this gem of a restaurant. Wonderful ambiance with attentive and knowledgeable staff. Can recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

By chance, on a visit to Lille, my husband and I found this gem of a restaurant. The service was superb, helpful but not intrusive. The food ranked with some of the best meals we have ever eaten. I had the special of the day which was carre de porc noir. Superbe and for the information of our lovely waiter 'crone' are known as Chinese artichokes in English. My husband had 'St Pierre' which we know as John Dory. Again, delicious! As for our stater of 'asperge avec oeuf en croque', how do they do those eggs!!! We intend to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstraveler1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A very good choice for dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

make sure you make reservations as this place fills up quickly. The atmoshere is nice and the service is excellent. Really enjoyed our starter of Razor Clams. There was a translation mix up so I really didn't get what I thought I was getting for my main but it was good. Desserts are awesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Royale also viewed

 

Been to La Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing