We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Crowne Plaza standard”
Review of Crowne Plaza Lille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lille
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not Crowne Plaza standard”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Room designers should be made to stay in the rooms they design. The air conditioning was very poor (certainly not 4 star standard) and it was not possible to cool the room enough so slept very badly. When approached the front desk staff said they would look into it but never heard another word.
To use the kettle the nearest plug means that the kettle is on the floor. To use the safe, which is in the cupboard one has to get down on hands and knees!
Thursday night the bar / restaurant was so noisy we could not have eaten there if we wanted to do so. The noise was so loud we could hear it in our room on the 7th floor. If we had been told prior to our stay that Thursday nights were so noisy we would have chosen a different hotel.
Breakfast at Euro 19 is way too expensive for a very mediocre hotel. A continental breakfast can be had in a cafe in the town, only 5 minutes walk away, for Euro 5.
I am a fan of IHG group hotels but this one is certainly not up to standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John G,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
It’s always a shame to read our guests didn’t enjoy both our quality of services and the special evening we organize once a month. Please kindly accept our apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We will really do our best to improve the points you mentioned, be sure.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at our hotel soon to show you all these improvements,
Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    280
    116
    39
    22
See reviews for
65
200
25
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room was big and spacious; the best bit was how comfortable the huge bed was. However we could not get the shower to work - even after checking with reception; the open plan bathroom had been designed without a light in the toilet. We did not spend much time in the room to be honest, but when we did, we found that the TV had no picture and were too tired to get it sorted. We used BBC iplayer radio instead; however we do feel that a hotel like this should make it easier to access the wifi. The hotel staff were professional and efficient and the hotel is in an excellent position for Eurostar and visiting Lille. We were there during Brazilian Electro Jazz evening - we did hear it in our third floor room - but it seemed to be all over by 11. Such a shame about the shower and the TV.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms seem adequate - we had no issue with the cemetery view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Tricia W,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I would like to apologize for the disagreement with the shower. We are really sorry to read your frustration, it should not happen again, we have made the necessary. Note that the problem is under process with the TV, we are planning to change them shortly.
By the way I hope you enjoy your staying despite this inconvenience.
We hope to welcome you again at our hotel and will do the best to satisfy all your needs.
Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location was perfect, view from the room perfect, room perfect, bathroom huge and wonderful, Staff was amazing,

We were here for four days of a 12 day Europe trip. After Paris I wasn't expecting much, but this was a wonderful hotel. The bar downstairs was neat and loved the live piano music. The room was so clean and large for a European hotel.

Room Tip: During December a room facing downtown is neat to see the Christmas Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOKRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear IOKRU,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy you enjoyed our service, the comfort of the room and the location of the hotel. I hope your trip was pleasant and you had a good time in Lille. I will personally congratulate the staff for its good attitude with you.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed our Bar and the live pianist, it is always a great pleasure for us to see that our customers are having a good time with our special evenings.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I arrived at this hotel with four of my best friends . We had booked a triple and a double but the booking was taken down wrong .The front office manager Yaelle Letellier could not be more helpful and when I cheekily asked if the Penthouse suite was available as that would accommodate us all she arranged it for us to stay there the whole of our weekend!!! (at no extra cost) food and service was excellent and Yaelle treated us like friends more than hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the Penthouse suite its high up and no traffice noise and lovely views over Lille
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear BucksBoris,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy you enjoyed the food and services of our hotel. I hope your trip with your best friends was pleasant and you had a good time in Lille. I will personally congratulate Yaëlle for his friendly attitude with you.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For a rack rate of around 330€, company rate 210€, I stayed here for one night in May 2014 on a business trip. It turned into one of the worst stays I've ever encountered.

Let's start with the positive: great location right opposite Lille Europe station; breakfast was fine.

The neutral: The superior room was fine for a night for one person. To me, it seemed a bit too much furniture for too little space.

The poor side: it seems, as if many things came together during my stay. Details follow below, but to cut a long story short:
1. no wifi
2. too short curtains
3. hammering aircon woke me up several times
4. no working telephone
5. poor shower pressure
6. manager does not care
Result: I'd try a different hotel in Lille next time. There are a few right next door, so the choice is all yours!

The poor in detail:

First, the Wifi system didn't work. As I overheard, the problem seemed to have been around for a day already, no fix in sight though.

Second, they seemed to have saved money on the curtain length. Fixed on either end, the two pieces of curtains could not be properly closed in the centre of the window. So you better like a bit of sunshine in the early morning when staying here in summer.

Third and fourth, some hammering noise woke me up in the middle of the night. I got up, opened the room door, but no one was there. When it happened again, later that same night, I tried to call reception - but the phone didn't work. My issue: The noise started, lasted for 10 to mayber 60 seconds and disappeared. So I hoped for the best and went back to sleep. Altogether, I got woken up around 5 times that night, I was not happy. In the morning, I realised that the aircon probably made that noise. So hammering aircon and broken telephone.

Fifth, probably least important, when I took a shower in the morning, the water pressure was extremely poor.

Sixth: I told reception of all of this in the morning upon checkout. They apologised and took a note. Reception staff promised a call by the manager (who was not in) after noon that day. Well, guess what - he/she never called. Until today, almost 2 weeks later, there has been none.

Some ironic detail: my room was labeled as "quiet room"...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Peter M,
I would like to thank you for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
On the one hand, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and its breakfast. On the other hand, we are a bit disappointed that you didn’t appreciate your stay.
I would like to apologize for the disagreement with internet. We change the system at the moment and it sometimes causes unfortunately some problems of connection.
Kindly accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you have met during your stay.
We are going to solve the various problems you met so that it does not happen anymore.
I hope to welcome you again at our hotel and will do the best to satisfy all your needs the next time.

Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Unless you are using the Eurostar or are enthusiastic about being in a personality free hotel literally on top of a railway station I would counsel you to avoid this hotel. I selected it en route to a skiing holiday because it had secure parking and because I am an Intercontinental Platinum member and was expecting a room upgrade.

The "secure" parking is in a multi storey car park underneath the station where anyone could park and did not strike me as particularly secure although nothing happened to the car - it is almost impossible to find from the hotel but the barman was delegated to help me find it which he very charmingly did.

The room was OK - I am pretty sure it wasn't upgraded but it was clean. We walked around 10 minutes into town for dinner through a pretty rough area which is pretty standard for big city French train station surroundings. The bar attached to the hotel on the station level had a large outside area and looked very busy and fun. We had a workmanlike bistro dinner in town so didn't use the restaurant. The hotel is quiet and we slept well.

The breakfast was chaotic, average and very expensive.

In short would have been better off at a Novotel. I will plan better next year and will not be returning.

Room Tip: I stayed on a high floor which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear JonnyBbad,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
On the one hand we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and his location. On the other hand we are a bit disappointed that you didn’t appreciate your stay.
For your information, the parking does not belong to our hotel, it is managed by an outside company. It offers however two advantages : it is secured and it has a direct access to the hotel, close to the reception. Do not hesitate to contact us before in order to inform you about the access and others services.
I am also sorry to read that the breakfast did not convinced you, we will do our best to improve it.
By the way I hope you enjoy your staying despite this inconvenience.
I hope to welcome you again at our hotel and will do the best to satisfy all your needs the next time.

Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend at the Crowne Plaza in Lille. The hotel is very close to the station which makes it very convenient. The hotel is nice. The room is clean and modern. The breakfast is continental and there's a big variety.
The staff at reception are very smiley and helpful. The only downside would be the staff at the bar. They were grumpy and not helpful at all. We don't know whether we caught them on a bad day or whether they're like that in general.
But other than that, we were very pleased with the hotel and the service and we'd definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Room 502 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JangoFett75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear JangoFett75,
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy you enjoyed our service and the location of the hotel. I hope your romantic break was pleasant and you had a good time in Lille. I will personally congratulate the staff at the reception for its daily good attitude, it is so important !
On the other hand I am a bit disappointed that our staff at the Bar was not enough smiley and helpful with you. I will do whatever is necessary to ensure this does not happen.
By the way I hope you enjoy your staying despite this inconvenience.
We hope to welcome you again at our hotel and will do the best to satisfy all your needs.
Best regards,
Jean-Vianney Plays,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 107 in Lille
1,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lille

Property: Crowne Plaza Lille
Address: 335 boulevard de Leeds, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district, close to two train stations stands the Crowne Plaza Lille-Euralille. The Crowne Plaza hotel offers 121 spacious rooms and suite with panoramic views of Lille. Recognizable by its copper facade, it combines modern architecture, design and comfort. Whether for business or pleasure the location of the hotel is ideal, for you to take a TGV to Paris, London or Brussels. The history and culture of the city of Lille also make it an ideal destination for shopping or strolling through the old town. Make us your choice for your next appointment at Lille ! Orange and copper-toned drapes hang in the cosy space of our trendy Le Plaza restaurant, where you can enjoy French fine dining catered by our courteous staff. Cow hide rugs and flat-screen TVs in Le Plaza bar create a more informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lille Hotel Lille
Lille Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing