We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, classy hotel but the bar is pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very good quality rooms, we had an upgrade using the summer deal - for the price the rooms were exceptionally good. Very helpful staff. The Brasserie was fine, no better nor worse than any other. But the hotel bar is very pricey.

The hotel is a converted religious hospital and they have kept many features - each bed room is unique, using the shapes and features of the historic building to great effect.

I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe R, Room Division Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear John,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our property on your last stay in Lille.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms, architecture and staff.
Moreover, we are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the time spent in our property.

Also, rest assured that we have taken good note of your review of our Brasserie and Bar.
We will, of course, do our utmost in order to fully meet your expectations on your next visit.

Meanwhile, I remain at your entire disposal should you wish to share any other information.

Warm regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 1,055 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2010
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Situated in the very middle of Lille with all intererting sites in footwalk-distance the old hospice has a unique charme both concerning the buildings and their atmosphere. Judge from the photos you find on their webside or here in tridadvisor - its really that nice and no photo-fake. Extremely nicely decorated rooms (ours with dark wood - very elegant but still comfy), modern-design public area in the atrium. The breakfast leaves no wishes and takes place in an old hall with stone ceiling - so nice!

The staff was friendly and caring as I have rarely seen before - a pleasure to meet them.

Finally dont forget to see the old chapel and the conference rooms - all this is so beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe R, Room Division Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Wenckebach,

Thank you for this very detailed review of your last stay among us.
You have perfectly described the architecture and the spirit of our hotel.

We do our utmost in order to preserve the singularity of the building without forgetting the needs and comfort of our guests.
Therefore, we have become an unavoidable spot of Lille's cultural and architectural scene!

We wish you a lovely summer.

Warm regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just a short walk from the old town (Vieux Lille), this hotel is an old 17th century hospital. Quite historic with a lovely chapel on premise. Bright and airy courtyard with modern bar. Very clean inside and out. Easy check in and reception was friendly and quite helpful. The room was large and well decorated, Bathrooms have been recently remodeled and are large with modern conveniences. Very comfortable bed. I enjoyed the breakfast as all items were very fresh. The staff was very pleasant and I really appreciated the their extra efforts. This is my third trip to Lille and I highly recommend this property .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe R, Room Division Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear TheMulv,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your last stay among us!

We feel honored to be congratulated by a confirmed traveler such as you.
It is always a great pleasure to read that our efforts have been successful and your comments will certainly encourage us to continue our daily efforts in order to satisfy our guests.

We wish you a nice summer and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from two days at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and our upgraded room in the old part of the building was beautiful.The bed was so comfortable that we slept in both mornings
We ate in the bistro both evenings where the food was very good and it was nice not having to venture out after a hard day sightseeing

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Qhoracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe R, Room Division Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Qhoracer,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review on your last stay at l'Hermitage Gantois.
We will forward your kind comments to the entire staff as I am sure that everyone will be thrilled to learn that we have been able to meet your expectations.

Rest assured that our property will become your second home whenever you decide to come back to Lille!

Also, remember to visit our website on a regular basis as all the best rates and offers are constantly uploaded.

We wish you a very pleasant summer.

Warm regards from the North of France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in room 306 for 1 night at the end of July. Our room was at the top of the building which meant we only had one reasonably small window but it didn't really bother us. The room was very nice with wood panelling and plenty of space. The bathroom was modern and very clean and the toiletries were as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The service was outstanding at all times.

One minor downside was that we thought the hotel had a pool and spa but they are still under construction! Looking at the website now I can see this was our mistake and was not the fault of the hotel. There is a small sauna which we did use. The hotel is a short walk away from the old town. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Grosperrin, General Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear SCochrane,

We thank you very much for this very detailed review concerning your last stay at l’Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the architecture of our property as well as the service provided by our staff.
Your kind comments will be forwarded to everyone as it is always a pleasure to learn that our work had the expected result.

For any future reservation, do not hesitate to check our website as our best prices and offers are posted on a regular basis.

We wish you a very pleasant spring and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

André Grosperrin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a nice hotel; but so it should be for its 5*. It is a lovely old building, conveniently sited in a quiet street close to both the train station and the old town. First appearances suggest quality, but the reality is that most guests on B&B simply want 2 things: a nice room and a good breakfast - and the hotel is a disappointment on both counts. The old rooms are modernised with some cheap and unpleasant furnishings (many with lethally sharp corners in awkward places), and the breakfasts are barely adequate on both quality and choice. Notwithstanding the croissants and mini baguettes, for a 5* hotel to offer no "proper" bread on 2 mornings in a country which practically worships bread, and offer pre-sliced bread, is quite unbelievable. The hotel should re-balance its priorities - less ostentation at front of house and bar, more quality in the bedrooms and at breakfast please.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 532Bickerstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Grosperrin, General Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear 532Bickerstaff ,

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen L’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection on your last stay in Lille.

We are pleased to read your comment. You have shared your experience on TriAdvisor and I am extremely grateful for this.

Your feedback is a great value for us and I am glad to learn that our level of service has reached your expectations.

But I am so confused that we have not shown on the buffet breakfast a large basket with 5 or 6 different types of bread (French baguette, toast, muesli bread pre-sliced ​​...) and the choice of pastries.

I hope you enjoyed our comfortable bed with lots of different pillows, soft mattresses and plush mattress cover, specially selected by us for the best sleep for our client.

For any future reservation, do not hesitate to check our website as the best rates and offers are uploaded on a daily basis.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope we will soon have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,
André Grosperrin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This really is a magnificent old hotel, really beautiful. However, for us it was not 5 star - other than the prices. We didn't even have a drink in the bar due to the crazy prices, we expected higher than average of course but not that level. We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant partly based on price and because we didn't have smart clothes with us. There were not many restaurants within short walking distance; the bistro attached to the hotel was fine but a reasonably awful bottle of wine was the best part of 30 euros. The height of the bath was a problem for my mum (in her 80s) so she was unable to have either a shower or a bath.

I had chosen this hotel confidently believing it would be such a splendid place to stay and expecting more. The walk into the town was not 10 minutes for us but more like 30 (perhaps we were slow) so was too far to go in the evening.

As I say, beautiful hotel but we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Grosperrin, Directeur général at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear shug77,

We thank you very much for this very detailed review concerning your last stay at l’Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection.
We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the architecture of our property and so sad you didn't have diner in our Gourmet Restaurant, because we offer some affordable prices in warm and quiet atmosphere, a menu for only 39.5€ for example.

The wine card at Estaminet Gantois propose a large choice of bottle of wine from 19€ or by glass from 4.5€. L’Hermitage is only at 400 meters from Grand Place, the hearth of the city, you can reach by bus or taxi if the way is too long for you. In the street close by the hotel there are so many restaurant: an Italian restaurant, a wine restaurant, a Moroccan style restaurant, etc... Our Concierge is at your disposal to help you during your stay to find a restaurant or book a table for you.

For a next stay, please ask us to book a room with a shower, it will be more comfortable for your mother.

For any future reservation, do not hesitate to check our website as our best prices and offers are posted on a regular basis.

We wish you a very pleasant summer and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

André Grosperrin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 106 in Lille
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.7 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#3 of 106 in Lille
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gounod
Villa Gounod
#11 of 106 in Lille
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection

Address: 224 rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#8 Business Hotel in Lille
Price Range: £121 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel for a unique experience…Behind a beautiful flemish and gothic front you will discover a “museum”hotel that will offer you serenity, warm welcome, quality service and goodgastronomic food.Pass the reception and you will find our bar located in a large hall with aglass roof and decorated in a modern style that contrast with the moreclassical structure of our 18th century chapel.The Hermitage Gantois welcomes you in the heart of Lille, between the town centre and thecity hall. Very well located, the hotel is only 5 minutes drive for Lille 2 trains stations and 15 minutes drivefrom the local airport in Lesquin.The hotel was established in a historical monument from the 15th century and is an exceptional mixbetween ancient architecture and modern design. The Hermitage Gantois offers you a special place torelax surrounded by history and modernity. It is the most prestigious address in the north of France and isaccessible in less than an hour and a half from Bruges, Bruxelles, Paris or London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Lille
Exclusive Hotel l Hermitage Gantois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing