We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not pleasant.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel balladins Lille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel balladins Lille
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Lille
2 reviews
“Not pleasant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Where to start, first impressions were not very good, arriving late at night the town seemed to be nice, however the next morning in daylight revealed the true colours, it was not pleasant there were many homeless people in the street pestering for money and at one point I was set upon by a very aggressive drunken gentleman who was very intimidating and forceful, the majority of this group of people were taking drugs and alcohol in the town and surrounding streets. This was a regular occurrence and without fail at 5pm they would all congregate in the same places. This stopped us leaving the hotel fearing for our safety. there was lots of graffiti and the town was generally dirty! The hotel was adequate considering the price we paid and the service was good. There was a lack of parking which wasn't very convenient, I would not go to this part of France again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam2013jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    125
    122
    39
    18
See reviews for
43
127
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were exhausted and expected to have to leave our luggage and come back but, they let us into our room at 11am!!
The location of this hotel is great, very close to both train stations, on the same street as Gare Lille Flandres.
Simple room, no tea and coffee facilities and there can be a slight smell of sewage at times....
But, all in all, not bad at all for the price. You can stay in a hostel for the same price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELHUSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

convenient location. room good. petit dejeuner excellent
I found the hotel good value for money as it is well located, the room was clean, there was little noise and the petit dejeuner was excellent. I would be happy to stay there again when next in Lille.



  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked this hotel due to its convenient location but I can't recommend it due to a sewer-type smell in some rooms, hallways and the elevator. Initially we were given room 107 but the smell was terrible so we requested another room. The clerk then gave us room 108 which smelled ok. This room doesn't have a good view but is quiet as it faces the back of the hotel. The rooms are clean, updated but very small.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the busy street would be very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lille hotels

New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I really liked how centrally located this hotel was; it's a 5-minute walk from the train station and a 5-minute walk to get to the Grand Place. Check-in was super quick. The rooms are small but comfortable and very modern and clean. The bathroom was pretty sizable compared to some of the others I've seen in Europe. The wifi was sluggish in the daytime, but it stopped working around early morning—it won't really affect you unless you're a night owl like me or jet lagged. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 108 has an unsightly view of the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent a weekend in Lille in February. Location is 5 mins walk from Eurostar station, directly opposite the main rail station so easy to find. Loads of bars and restaurants around the area and the town centre is 5 mins walk away. Very close to Euro Lille if you like shopping. Rooms are small but not excessively so, bathrooms adequate (shower only) and the staff very helpful. Best feature of rooms are the 4 power sockets, so charging phones and laptops is easy. Absolutely no problems with the hotel, would recommend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlook busy bars, so request a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SorenTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here for one night in January 2013, with a friend. I booked it mainly because of the price and also because it was central to everything.
It is a very short walk from the eurostar terminal and also from the main square and shops. The reception staff were very friendly and took our bags as we couldn't check in until 2pm.
The room was basic but clean and as it was extremely cold and snowing outside, it was very warm once the heater was at maximum.
However, my one criticism is there was absolutely no heating in the bathroom. It was all tiled and had an older style window. As i said it was snowing and very very cold outside. We were pleased to only stay one night as we both felt it was too cold to even take a shower. I really think the Balladins need to invest in some sort of bathroom heating.

Other than that, if i were visiting Lille again, i would stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#38 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#31 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#72 of 106 in Lille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Calm
Hotel Calm
#48 of 106 in Lille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
#30 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Lille

Property: Hotel balladins Lille
Address: 24 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Hotel Chagnot)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Lille 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Lille-Flandres railway station and just 10 minutes on foot from Lille-Europe station, the hotel, now entirely renovated and soundproofed, welcomes you right in the centre of the international business district, a stone's throw from the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel balladins Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Lille Hotel Lille
Chagnot Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing