We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not fit for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel balladins Lille
Ranked #45 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we found that the reception is not manned 24hours and so the guests tend to be noisy, we did not get a wink of sleep all night, televisions blareing and people running around shouting in the corridors late at night. we would never ever book this place again. i would like a refund for the booking as i would have had a better nights sleep in my car in the car park. but somehow i dont think this is a posability.as the place is so run down i dont think they would have the money to pay me back. regards dave hall

Room Tip: dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

You get what you pay for! It's close to stations and the town centre. The rooms are simple, adequate and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is simple and straight forward. No frills and certainly not luxurious. If you want to spend most of your time exploring it is cheap and cheerful. The rooms at the front are noisy and with no air con can be hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed for a business event. The price and value was OK and the location was very good, just near the train station.

At the entrance there was a strange smell, but the rooms were very clean and the bed was good.

Strange that you had to pay for the baggage lockers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gian Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Where to start, first impressions were not very good, arriving late at night the town seemed to be nice, however the next morning in daylight revealed the true colours, it was not pleasant there were many homeless people in the street pestering for money and at one point I was set upon by a very aggressive drunken gentleman who was very intimidating and forceful, the majority of this group of people were taking drugs and alcohol in the town and surrounding streets. This was a regular occurrence and without fail at 5pm they would all congregate in the same places. This stopped us leaving the hotel fearing for our safety. there was lots of graffiti and the town was generally dirty! The hotel was adequate considering the price we paid and the service was good. There was a lack of parking which wasn't very convenient, I would not go to this part of France again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam2013jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were exhausted and expected to have to leave our luggage and come back but, they let us into our room at 11am!!
The location of this hotel is great, very close to both train stations, on the same street as Gare Lille Flandres.
Simple room, no tea and coffee facilities and there can be a slight smell of sewage at times....
But, all in all, not bad at all for the price. You can stay in a hostel for the same price!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELHUSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

convenient location. room good. petit dejeuner excellent
I found the hotel good value for money as it is well located, the room was clean, there was little noise and the petit dejeuner was excellent. I would be happy to stay there again when next in Lille.



  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked this hotel due to its convenient location but I can't recommend it due to a sewer-type smell in some rooms, hallways and the elevator. Initially we were given room 107 but the smell was terrible so we requested another room. The clerk then gave us room 108 which smelled ok. This room doesn't have a good view but is quiet as it faces the back of the hotel. The rooms are clean, updated but very small.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the busy street would be very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calm
Hotel Calm
#38 of 107 in Lille
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#37 of 107 in Lille
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#30 of 107 in Lille
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
#16 of 107 in Lille
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Maurice Hotel
Saint Maurice Hotel
#58 of 107 in Lille
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Lille

Address: 24 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Hotel Chagnot)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Lille 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and soundproofed, the 71 rooms of the balladins Lille hotel have an LCD TV with Canal +, Canal + and Canal Sat, and a private bathroom equipped with a hairdryer. All our rooms are accessible by lift. Every morning, enjoy our buffet breakfast, served at will, weekdays from 6:30 am to 10:00 am and on weekends from 7:30 am to 11:00 am. In order to make this time even better, our restaurant room is located on the 7th floor, with terrace and panoramic view! You are in the right place... For the most connected, free and unlimited Wi-Fi access throughout the property is available, as well as digital tablets on request at reception! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel balladins Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Lille Hotel Lille
Chagnot Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing