We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Went here for a short city break. Having emailed them to ask if am early check in is possible (Eurostar got us to Lillie at 9.30am) we were delighted when not only was our room ready on arrival but the receptionist was expecting us and welcomed us like an old friend.


Hotel was spotless, room spacious and bright. Loved the quirky nature of the rooms. Mini bar is complementary as is the high quality coffee making device.


Only downside is that there is some building works going on outside so room got a little noisy first thing in the morning from about 7.30am (even though we we're on the 6th floor) but this is a city centre hotel after all!! Wifi also didn't work so don't rely on this (but was on a break so didn't really need it anyway)

Do ask for rooms on the highest possible floors when booking or checking in to minimise noise.

All staff were just brilliant and incredibly friendly. Location couldn't be better with the station only a 15 minute walk, centre 5 minutes and if you get a chance the zoo and Citidel are 10 minutes away. Both worth wondering through (both free).


Couldn't recommend highly enough and thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    286
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
106
550
31
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently in the double deluxe room. After scraping the side of our car in the very tight hotel car park (beware!) We arrived to our room 403. First impressions are that it is very modern. However, once past that you start to notice things like nowhere to hang the hand towel, no spoons to stir the coffee and no mirror on dressing table (not everyone wants to stand up in the bathroom). Overall, style over substance seems to be the theme here.

Staff are lovely and very professional and in my opinion are the hotels main strength, aswell as the good location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Osciewosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Why Hotel is well located in terms of easy access to La Grand Place and the old town. However, it is quite a small hotel and is located at the intersection of three little roads. I found it a little noisy in terms of external noise and also from room above. The room was also quite small, though well appointed. There is a gymn but no pool.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimBobBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed only one night in your superb Hotel.. First of all the staff is very friendly, helpfull in all things; I visited Lille and the location was very good if you walk to the centre, for taking the TGV a taxi seemes better if you come the first time.. The room was very confortable, modern and extremely quiet. A really excellent location and soon a further visit is planned, perhaps to visit the LaM or only for some days at the city.
Pergfect services like WiFi, room service, bar. A more than positive feeling. Thanks !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed three nights on our first visit to Lille. We thoroughly enjoyed at the Why Hotel. It was very comfortable, beautifully decorated, everything needed at hand. And it was wonderfully quiet. Location: excellent for all of our activities, easy walk from the train station and to the nearby Metro station. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asagao828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location near old town. Very modern rooms. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to many restaurants. When taking the TGV, Flanders train station is a little closer to the hotel than Europe station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HJA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Why Hotel in Lille for one night on our way from the UK to Germany. We are glad we stopped. We had an excellent meal in a neighbouring restaurant and the city would certainly stand a further visit.

We were allocated a room on the sixth - top - floor of the hotel overlooking the square. Sound insulation was excellent. We heard almost nothing from outside and the air conditioning was whisper quiet and highly effective. We prefer a more classical style of hotel property but it was clear from the hotel description that this was a new-build and, indeed, decor and fittings were ultra contemporary. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower though no bath and there was a curious feature of a sliding screen which revealed a floor to ceiling viewing window between the bed room and the shower!

Room lighting was rather stark LED but bedside reading lights were good. We particularly appreciated free wifi and a generous provision of power sockets to charge mobile devices. The double bed and choice of pillows were delightful.

Breakfast was excellent. The compact buffet offered as wide a choice as we could possibly want.

A word of warning about car parking. The hotel has use of a private park in the basement of an adjacent block across the road. You need to call at hotel reception first for a remote fob to open the garage door. Be warned, though, the only pedestrian exit from the park comes out on the far side of the building. You probably wouldn't want to trundle your cases around the block to get back to the hotel. A better solution is to walk back up the vehicle entry ramp - providing no other vehicles are coming down - reopen the door with your remote and get out that way. You can do the same to get back in as a pedestrian but the power door closes promptly behind you leaving you groping in pitch darkness until you reach the bottom and the PIR light control turns on the basement lights. More seriously for us, the basement floor was flooded in places. The water on the smooth painted floor was very slippery indeed and I fell over hurting my knee very painfully. I reported this to reception but evidently the hotel felt there was nothing they could do about it.

The Why couldn't be better placed for the city centre and Grand Place but comes at a price. By the time you've added in breakfast and parking it works out at about the same as a luxury classical hotel in Bruges. For us therefore, Bruges would probably be a better choice for a stopover.

Room Tip: This is a new-build hotel with excellent sound insulation. I guess any room is likely to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Why Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Why Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Address: 7 Bis Square Morisson, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Why Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Lille, this newly opened contemporary design hotel offers en suite comfortable accommodation, with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception in a unique distinctive building. All of the rooms at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel have an elegant, original decor and wooden floors. Each room features a desk, an iPod(R) docking station and a flat-screen television with cable channels. A mini-bar and a Nespresso(R) coffee machine are also provided for your convenience. A buffet breakfast is served every morning in the communal lounge or in the comfort of your room. Guests can also lunch at the hotel's restaurant, or enjoy a refreshment from the beautiful bar. Parking is available at cost. Rooms for guests with reduced mobility are also available. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel has a fully equipped boardroom, available for meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western FR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Why Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing