We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite and nice staff, nice rooms and good location in the old town”
Review of Gastama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gastama
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am not an expert on assessing hostels but can tell you some stuff after comparing couple of hostels I stayed. First thing distinguishing Gastama from other hostels is that the staff is really helpful and friendly. My girlfriend made all the talks, while I was having an inflammation in my mouth, but she got very good information about the pharmacy, restaurants, bus lines, the concert are we wanted to visit and everything else. So special thanks to Kate, she was very nice and speaks perfect English. Apart from that I appreciated the power plugs and curtains beside the each bed. The location is also nice, in the old town and you make a nice 10 minute walk to the center through nice old streets, which is in my opinion better than a hostel in the bustling center itself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compileandrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came here as part of the Eurostar deal and were not disappointed. It's positioned conveniently in the old town which is charming. The rooms are spotless, well sound proofed, stylish and big enough (we had a private double). The staff are immediately helpful and pleased to see you. They all spoke excellent English, but didn't make you feel bad for trying out your French. The owner has great visions for the place and takes the time to learn your name. The bar gets really busy on a Saturday night and has great atmosphere. We ended up coming back from a lovely dinner out, for more unnecessary nightcaps. None of the fun could be heard from our room though. The guests are mostly young backpacker types, though we saw other couples there and one family. We didn't use them but the kitchens looked really well appointed. So basically everything you could ever want from a hostel and a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great place!
Helpful, flexible, busy, but strangely quiet in the rooms. Modern, stylish...very clean for a hostel.

It feels safe and yet open.

I stayed with three friends and know many more who stayed that weekend. We all had a great experience. Lovely location too.

Well done Gastama. Don't let standards slip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiffeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

You know, i really in love with Lille and this hostel! Cause i think nothing could be better! Great location in pretty Veux Lille, very friendly and helpfull staff, room was cleand every day. Especially i'm in love with the bar, wich located in hostel. There's so nice atmosphere. If You want to visit Lille, just stay here, and i think You'll not regret! Just enjoy it and fell like You reall french guy))

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurmetovaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We only stayed for one night on our way home from our trip abroad.
The hostel was great, v clean, fantastic kitchen and cosy sitting room area.
Bar downstairs is buzzing! Lots happening. Free computers, wifi, fantastic beds. Sinks in the room, so clean.

A lot of thought and consideration has been put into this hostel, no airs and graces from the staff. Everyone is just so practical and thoughtful. Excellent place to stay.

One downer: the guy on the desk overnight, he is not friendly and makes no effort to help anyone who speaks english. We both speak a little french and good german. He just was not happy. So we missed breakfast because we were in a rush to get to our train. Really disappointing as we nearly missed the bus - we were told the day before that the bus runs every few minutes more like every 20-30 minutes so beware of that fact if you have an early morning train. It is something that could easily ruin your impression and stay in this hostel.

Otherwise a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorersABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I decided to randomly visit Lille, and booked a couple of nights at the Gastama. I loved the place so much, I booked an extra three. It has to be the BEST hostel I have stayed in to date. In fact, it is more like a boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly, and make the place. Whilst I was there, I saw a language night which guests could attend and a meeting for a disabled group, a real community place - which, makes you feel part of it. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, the rooms were really clean and the bathrooms spotless. The only constructive feedback I would give from my entire stay is, a hook could be provided to place your towel on whilst showering. That's it. I am already planning my return trip, not so much for Lille, but just to experience the Gastama - again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I was only there for one night, in a 4 bed female dorm. My friend and I had the dorm to ourselves. It was very clean, spacious, had windows that opened out to the street, reading lamps, lockers, power sockets and privacy curtains on each bed.
The bar on the ground floor was popular with young locals and you could not hear anything on the floor above!
Negatives: 25 minute walk from main train stations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELHUSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Centre Grand Palais
4.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#35 of 107 in Lille
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.9 mi away
Citadines City Centre Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastama

Address: 109 rue Saint Andre, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the most beautiful area of Lille, Gastama offers all types of accommodation that fit every budget. From dormitories to private room, this hostel offers, above all, occasions to share and meet new people from around the world. Gastama is also and especially a team made of backpackers who will welcome you and advice you for your excursions. With its bar, restaurant and all its services, this Hostel offers a place with a warm and friendly atmosphere inviting us to travel. Also open to local people, you will discover the French culture, its values and traditions. Near the most beautiful cultural sights, Gastama is perfectly located in the historical part of the city, around 10 minutes from the main square of Lille, 20 minutes from the train stations. Apart from its rich architectural and cultural history, Lille has an unequalled nightlife to be experienced in its countless bars and clubs. At the crossroads of Europe, this city of 100 000 students became the European Capital of Culture in 2004 and today remains a city of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gastama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing