We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling”
Review of Gastama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gastama
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bustling”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This is a very luxurious hostel. Seriously. Everything was very clean, had numerous, inexpensive rooms. The dorm rooms each had a sink in them and each bed had very convenient privacy curtains, outlet, and light (although my light didn't work). The toilets were clean. I didn't use the shower since there were five other females in front of me. Kitchen is clean and extensive, equipped with numerous utensils, pots, etc, and a fridge and stove. The common room is in the kitchen and has a book exchange. The hostel is connected to a bar that is VERY busy on Friday nights. Fantastic hostel, overall.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCuriosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    84
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
24
53
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Gastama was the best hostel I've ever been to. Excellent vibe in the common areas, in the bar and rooms. Unlike many hostels, the internet works through the whole bulding and that's one major advantage. Whenever you feel like being in a quiet, private place, you may lie in your bed and browse the internet with no problems. The kitchen is "the" place to hang out, drink or meet new people, sitting in the English flag round table. The staff gathers diverse people that will always be willing to help you.

Room Tip: Not many tips. All rooms I've been to are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am not an expert on assessing hostels but can tell you some stuff after comparing couple of hostels I stayed. First thing distinguishing Gastama from other hostels is that the staff is really helpful and friendly. My girlfriend made all the talks, while I was having an inflammation in my mouth, but she got very good information about the pharmacy, restaurants, bus lines, the concert are we wanted to visit and everything else. So special thanks to Kate, she was very nice and speaks perfect English. Apart from that I appreciated the power plugs and curtains beside the each bed. The location is also nice, in the old town and you make a nice 10 minute walk to the center through nice old streets, which is in my opinion better than a hostel in the bustling center itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compileandrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came here as part of the Eurostar deal and were not disappointed. It's positioned conveniently in the old town which is charming. The rooms are spotless, well sound proofed, stylish and big enough (we had a private double). The staff are immediately helpful and pleased to see you. They all spoke excellent English, but didn't make you feel bad for trying out your French. The owner has great visions for the place and takes the time to learn your name. The bar gets really busy on a Saturday night and has great atmosphere. We ended up coming back from a lovely dinner out, for more unnecessary nightcaps. None of the fun could be heard from our room though. The guests are mostly young backpacker types, though we saw other couples there and one family. We didn't use them but the kitchens looked really well appointed. So basically everything you could ever want from a hostel and a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great place!
Helpful, flexible, busy, but strangely quiet in the rooms. Modern, stylish...very clean for a hostel.

It feels safe and yet open.

I stayed with three friends and know many more who stayed that weekend. We all had a great experience. Lovely location too.

Well done Gastama. Don't let standards slip!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiffeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tver, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

You know, i really in love with Lille and this hostel! Cause i think nothing could be better! Great location in pretty Veux Lille, very friendly and helpfull staff, room was cleand every day. Especially i'm in love with the bar, wich located in hostel. There's so nice atmosphere. If You want to visit Lille, just stay here, and i think You'll not regret! Just enjoy it and fell like You reall french guy))

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurmetovaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We only stayed for one night on our way home from our trip abroad.
The hostel was great, v clean, fantastic kitchen and cosy sitting room area.
Bar downstairs is buzzing! Lots happening. Free computers, wifi, fantastic beds. Sinks in the room, so clean.

A lot of thought and consideration has been put into this hostel, no airs and graces from the staff. Everyone is just so practical and thoughtful. Excellent place to stay.

One downer: the guy on the desk overnight, he is not friendly and makes no effort to help anyone who speaks english. We both speak a little french and good german. He just was not happy. So we missed breakfast because we were in a rush to get to our train. Really disappointing as we nearly missed the bus - we were told the day before that the bus runs every few minutes more like every 20-30 minutes so beware of that fact if you have an early morning train. It is something that could easily ruin your impression and stay in this hostel.

Otherwise a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorersABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Campanile Lille - Euralille
Campanile Lille - Euralille
#1 of 3 in La Madeleine
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
#19 of 107 in Lille
679 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Morphee
Hotel Morphee
#2 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Centre
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastama

Property: Gastama
Address: 109 rue Saint Andre, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the most beautiful area of Lille, Gastama offers all types of accommodation that fit every budget. From dormitories to private room, this hostel offers, above all, occasions to share and meet new people from around the world. Gastama is also and especially a team made of backpackers who will welcome you and advice you for your excursions. With its bar, restaurant and all its services, this Hostel offers a place with a warm and friendly atmosphere inviting us to travel. Also open to local people, you will discover the French culture, its values and traditions. Near the most beautiful cultural sights, Gastama is perfectly located in the historical part of the city, around 10 minutes from the main square of Lille, 20 minutes from the train stations. Apart from its rich architectural and cultural history, Lille has an unequalled nightlife to be experienced in its countless bars and clubs. At the crossroads of Europe, this city of 100 000 students became the European Capital of Culture in 2004 and today remains a city of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gastama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing