We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, Convenient”
Review of Calm Appart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calm Appart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stopped off at Lille on our way back from the Champagne region. This hotel was exactly what we needed. Underground garage parking was included which was a blessing given the run down nature of the centre of Lille.

We had a good night sleep - despite hearing someone snoring very loudly next door at first. The room have everything we needed apart from an English TV channel - even the world news would do.

My partner suffered due to lack of pillows - one small square one each ..... But i actually quite liked it.

Great location, would stay again if ever in the area. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PRY-SJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The CALM is just a New steps from Liile Flandres station and between a 5-10minute walk from Lille Europe station making it handy for travel connections.

Our room was clean, fresh and bright. Stopping for just one night did not make use of the kitchenette facilities although these looked good for cooking simple meals/breakfasts as you have a microwave, two ring hob and a fridge/sink.

Wi-Fi worked well and was free of charge. You are five to ten minutes walk from a plethora of restaurants and a slightly longer walk to 'old' Lille.

The only downside was being close to the stations did mean that there was the usual collection of drop outs / vagrants and the street on which the hotel is in did not seem particularly well lit when we returned late at night. There were some street people that had made the opposite side of the street their home for the night. There was no problems but worthy if note if you are travelling alone perhaps.

However I would use this hotel / apartment again given the price and location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As always what really makes a place stand out is the staff. Both girls on reception were very friendly and helpful. I was all prepared to try out my limited knowledge of French but they both spoke very good English.

The hotel is situated very near the centre of Lille with the Lille Flanders main station being practically just over the road. Even the Lille Europe main station is about 5 minutes walk away. We caught the TGV to Paris for a day trip and the location of this hotel made it very convenient since we departed from Lille Europe station to Paris Nord and then from Paris Nord to Lille Flanders on the return. The TGV gets you to Paris in around 1 hour 20 minutes and is definately worth the experience.

The rooms at the Calm Hotel are more than adequate with a small kitchen area and all the necessary crockery and utensils, a fridge, kettle and microwave and hob. A table and chairs is provided making it very easy to dine in your room. Everything works well and for those wanting to use Wi-Fi there is a very good fast speed connection available at no extra charge.

We did not stay for breakfast since we had planned a couple of full days around Lille and Paris so we made our own arrangements but we did use the parking facility at an extra charge of 15 Euro a day for secure covered space.

The room or studio apartment was exceptionally clean. The climate control system works well and the bed is very comfortable. There is a coded key entry system that works by typing in your code on a keypad. This same system operates the main door outside after 11 pm at night.

This really is a very good place to stay. Lille is compact and a delightful town to visit. You can get round is easily in a day and it has a nice layout and some outstanding buildings. There are quite a few beggars around and we were warned to be wary of pickpockets in Paris especially so just be on your guard.

Would definately recommend this place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was a relaxed work trip, accompanied by parents. We were travelling around WWI sites and into Belgium. Lille is delightful, masses of nice places to eat, great shopping, lovely buildings. The Calm apartments were very close to the station, and in the centre ville but on edge of vieux ville. Clean, immaculate, stylish rooms, comfy beds, neat little kitchen set up. Really nice bathroom. We had breakfast two mornings then used the remaining jams, butters and milk and just went out to buy croissants. The breakfasts are massive! We also hired a car and used the car park available to the hotel to leave it overnight- very straightforward. The staff on reception were absolutely delightful- friendly and helpful. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Calm apartthotel and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly as we arrived by train earlier that the check in-time. They allowed us to check-in earlier as our room was ready. We found the room to be very spacious, the bed comfortable. We were able to make a few meals in the kitchen and although the utensils are at a minimum they are more than enough to make a simple meal.

The cleaning staff were great and got us an iron and hairdryer within minutes of asking as we didn't have these items. the room size surprised my European boyfriend as it was bigger than your average hotel room in France. Overall, great value for money and the proximity to the train station is great when you have so much luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived early (10.45 am) and were able to leave our bags, the hotel then phoned us about an hour later advising that we could check in.

Initially we were a little disappointed. We had booked a superior room. It was described as having a living area, which we took to mean a 2 room apartment with separate bedroom. However, it is a studio. The bed, living area and kitchen is all in one room. There was a small wooden table with 2 chairs and a rather low armchair. Beds were 2 twins pushed together. Mattresses were on the firm side, but the bed was comfortable. The kitchenette was basically furnished, but enough to prepare simple meals. There was some outside noise at night and street cleaners early in the morning. Also on the Friday morning from about 9.15 am there was a bit of noise from the cleaners who congregated on the landing.

The apartments are easy to find, the receptionists were pleasant, email contact good and prompt. After the initial disappointment of not having a separate bedroom area, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

We tried the restaurant next to the hotel,and have an enjoyable "cheap" lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lots of nice things here - the brilliant location just minutes from the Eurostar and domestic rail stations, and just minutes from Lille old town, is the obvious one. But also worth mentioning the very helpful staff, the free wifi, and the clean well-appointed rooms. Just ignore the sex shop round the corner! (though we never felt unsafe in the area or anything - Lille felt very safe).

Room Tip: To make the keycode work, we had to first enter it when the door was open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.1 mi away
Citadines City Centre Lille
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Gounod
Villa Gounod
#12 of 107 in Lille
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
4.2 mi away
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
#4 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Appart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Appart Hotel

Address: 2 rue des Buisses, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Lille
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm Apparthotel is situated in Lille, in only 2 minutes by foot of the historic center, the station and the subway station of Lille-Flandres. A Wi-Fi connection is provided with free of charge. The contemporary apartments of the Calm Apartment hotel are decorated in neutral tones. Each has a kitchen area, flat-screen television, office and privative bathroom provided with a shower. You can prepare your meals in your deprived kitchen area equipped with a cook, with an oven microwave and a refrigerator. Restaurants and supermarkets wait for you unless 5 minutes on foot. The airport of Lille-Lesquin is in 15 minutes and the citadel of Lille is 2 km. The apartment hotel possesses a private, accessible parking with extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Calm Appart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing